Pages: 1
  Print  
Author Topic: First questions  (Read 1720 times)
Offline (Male) fredcobain
Posted on: April 07, 2011, 10:27:59 PM

MSN Messenger - fredcobain@gmail.com
View Profile
Hi all,

this is my very first post.

I found about the Enigma Project by accident, and I am very impressed of what I see.

I follow GM and the GMC forum since 2004 (it not means that I am a great game developer / programmer hehehe) and I am an enthusiastic in this area.

What excites me more than a fast/performer compiled game is the ambition to provide the portability to other plataforms (non windows).

Reading some threads here I found some information but I still not sure if I understood... I have some questions I want to clarify:

1) Is there a real intention to perform a compiled file (in other words, run the game) to others platforms ? When do you expect to have the option to "compile" for:
a) Linux
b) Mac
c) Android
d) IPhone
e) Nintendo DS
f) HTML (embbeded on a page)
g) JAR
f) Are there other plans ?

2) When some of these "compile-to" options were done, will be showed like a compile option in LateralGM (probably in Enigma menu)?

3) Can I easily use LIBS, Extensions and DLL's like I do in GameMaker ?

4) I see you are working on a "proprietary" file format for Enigma/LateralGM (source file). Will be the default filetype ? Can I easily open GMK and GM6 formats in LateralGM/Enigma (even in future) ? It will still supporting GM file formats ? (of course we are talking about plans and tendencies...)

Sorry if some questions are too much noob. 2 hours ago I never heard about.... =)

Anyway... congratulations, the initiative is fantastic!! I am very excite to contribute.

« Last Edit: April 07, 2011, 10:32:57 PM by fredcobain » Logged
Offline (Female) IsmAvatar
Reply #1 Posted on: April 07, 2011, 11:07:48 PM

LateralGM Developer
LGM Developer

View Profile Email
1) Yes.
a) Now
b) Now
c) Now
d) Now
e) Soon (if not now)
f) Not planned
g) Not planned (Game is in C++, not Java)