Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can't find ENIGMA? LGM works, of course.  (Read 1693 times)
Offline (Unknown gender) justyellowboy
Posted on: August 12, 2010, 09:34:39 AM

Member
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 14

View Profile
GEE I SURE HOPE THIS IS AN EASY QUESTION.

Mah Linux Ubuntu has got gcc and I've got LateralGM. I make a room with blank objects, nothing big at all, but when I click Run or Build, it returns an error that it can't find ENIGMA. CompileEGMf.exe is in the same folder as LateralGM-8-8.jar and it works just fine with the Java run-time, just can't find this.
Logged
Offline (Male) RetroX
Reply #1 Posted on: August 12, 2010, 11:34:51 AM

Master of all things Linux
Contributor
Location: US
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1055
MSN Messenger - classixretrox@gmail.com
View Profile Email
Open a terminal, cd to the CompilerSource directory, and run make linux.

Also, for the record, I'm working on an Ubuntu package, so, you should probably just wait until I finish that.
Logged
My Box: Phenom II 3.4GHz X4 | ASUS ATI RadeonHD 5770, 1GB GDDR5 RAM | 1x4GB DDR3 SRAM | Arch Linux, x86_64 (Cube) / Windows 7 x64 (Blob)
Quote from: Fede-lasse
Why do all the pro-Microsoft people have troll avatars? :(
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #2 Posted on: August 12, 2010, 04:19:12 PM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Ohio, United States
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2933

View Profile Email
justyellowboy:
It sounds like you've downloaded R3. I thought you said you managed to get the whole project working? R3 had major problems with... well, Linux, yes, but pretty much everything.
I'd recommend you apt-get subversion and svn co https://enigma-dev.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/enigma-dev/trunk enigma.

It should create a new folder called ENIGMA for you that has what you need to compile in, but it does have some dependencies. Indeed, Retro is working on a package; perhaps you should wait for it to be finished.
« Last Edit: August 12, 2010, 04:21:59 PM by Josh @ Dreamland » Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Unknown gender) justyellowboy
Reply #3 Posted on: August 12, 2010, 05:10:16 PM

Member
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 14

View Profile
Um, yes, this is embarrassing, but the compiler, unfortunately, was not tested. Stupid stupid me.

Perhaps I should wait for the package. Thanks, RetroX, for working on that, by the way. I think I'll use that.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) justyellowboy
Reply #4 Posted on: August 13, 2010, 10:30:36 AM

Member
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 14

View Profile
To update, I decided to go the svn-make way of doing this, and now I can find ENIGMA. Woohoo!

I return error 512, failure at the C++ level, but I'm sure that you guys have addressed this, already. I did install MingW through the packages, and I have gcc and g++ installed, as well. I have OpenGL installed, etcetera. You say that there's an xlib platform that you guys work with. Using Ubuntu, which package is involved with these, exactly? Maybe that's what I'm missing, seeing as that I'm using GNOME.
Logged
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #5 Posted on: August 13, 2010, 01:41:54 PM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Ohio, United States
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2933

View Profile Email
justyellowboy:
These are the Ubuntu package names:
libgl1-mesa-dev libx11-dev libz-dev gcc g++ make sun-java6-jre libopenal-dev
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Unknown gender) justyellowboy
Reply #6 Posted on: August 13, 2010, 02:52:39 PM

Member
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 14

View Profile
YAY IT WORKS WOO, JUST NEEDED SOME PACKAGES

I have window borders turned off because I felt that they didn't need to exist, so the program is behaving normal, it's just my cooky-ass configuration, but it won't show up in that Windows 7-like DockbarX thing that I've got to the left.

Still, this is awesome asdfjoijgoia thank you guys so much, I'll play around with it a little bit and maybe in the future when I get C++ down (some guy told me once that I could nail C in seven days, so I took up the challenge and finished Kernighan's book in about nine or so) I'll join in on you cool dudes!

NINJA EDIT: Also, libz-dev is actually zlib1g-dev or something like that, maybe we should add this to the installation instructions or something. I'm pretty good at web development crap, I dunno, maybe I could put up an installation instructions page on some other site and you guys could link to it, because installation has the prerequisites and whatnot and maybe I can handle telling people about it (but of course I'd probably need to actually get to know the project amirite)

MARGINALLY LESS NINJA EDIT: So, basically, the installation prerequisites are that
1) The svn must be downloaded.
2) Change directories to the enigma folder located in my Home folder.
3) Run make, and
FOAR) install the dependencies and

Presto, the whole thing runs like this version intended. That's not hard, building software in Linux is easy! First time ever, and it's cake! Woo!
« Last Edit: August 13, 2010, 03:06:14 PM by justyellowboy » Logged
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #7 Posted on: August 13, 2010, 03:10:47 PM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Ohio, United States
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2933

View Profile Email
justyellowboy:
Great to hear it works. Retro's package is supposed to handle installing those packages for you, which is why I believe it's so important. I'll be making a news post about how people can pitch in, as soon as Ism holds up her end in saving ENIGMA's newest resource. That should hopefully be next Thursday, as she gets back from vacation Wednesday. There is a setting called "Definitions" under ENIGMA's settings, you see, that allows users to create C++ functions to use in their games. It is with that I hope that others can create and test GM functions for use in ENIGMA.
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Female) IsmAvatar
Reply #8 Posted on: August 16, 2010, 01:56:46 PM

LateralGM Developer
LGM Developer
Location: Pennsylvania/USA
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 886

View Profile Email
Quote
sun-java6-jre
Or OpenJDK. I used to discourage it because it was quite buggy, but I've noticed that more recent versions run LGM fantastically, and I might even start encouraging it because it dodges the infamous DragNDrop-Xorg-Freeze problem.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) justyellowboy
Reply #9 Posted on: August 16, 2010, 08:33:52 PM

Member
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 14

View Profile
Or OpenJDK. I used to discourage it because it was quite buggy, but I've noticed that more recent versions run LGM fantastically, and I might even start encouraging it because it dodges the infamous DragNDrop-Xorg-Freeze problem.
Is it as simple as replacing a package (or more) for another?

Ninja edit again: Turns out that OpenJDK was what I was using. Woohoo! Works great! Yay GPL!
Logged
Offline (Female) IsmAvatar
Reply #10 Posted on: August 16, 2010, 10:13:26 PM

LateralGM Developer
LGM Developer
Location: Pennsylvania/USA
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 886

View Profile Email
Most linux distros already have OpenJDK installed, so you can usually just omit the java package from the additional dependencies list.

As for how it decides between javas, I think it just goes with whichever one was installed latest. If you're not sure, you can just use java --version (or is it java -version)
Logged
Offline (Male) RetroX
Reply #11 Posted on: August 19, 2010, 09:40:59 AM

Master of all things Linux
Contributor
Location: US
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1055
MSN Messenger - classixretrox@gmail.com
View Profile Email
java-runtime is the universal Java dependency.  If Sun Java or OpenJDK are not installed, it will ask you to pick (or it will install whichever one that it finds first, which can be either depending on the name of the package).  That's what I'm using right now.
Logged
My Box: Phenom II 3.4GHz X4 | ASUS ATI RadeonHD 5770, 1GB GDDR5 RAM | 1x4GB DDR3 SRAM | Arch Linux, x86_64 (Cube) / Windows 7 x64 (Blob)
Quote from: Fede-lasse
Why do all the pro-Microsoft people have troll avatars? :(
Pages: [1]
  Print