Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 »
  Print  
Author Topic: First R4 game, VERSION 2, despite everything being unimplemented  (Read 15017 times)
Offline (Female) IsmAvatar
Reply #45 Posted on: April 22, 2010, 12:26:49 PM

LateralGM Developer
LGM Developer
Location: Pennsylvania/USA
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 886

View Profile Email
whenever i use window_set_caption() it  doesn't throw errors.... or do anything....
I used the room_caption variable. My guess is window_set_caption isn't fully implemented or gets overwritten with room_caption.

To test this theory, if you're using Xlib (unix), before you compile your game, go to C::B > Game > Sources > Platforms > xlib > XLIBwindow.cpp, line 87. Move the line down so that line 87 is blank, and then put the following in line 87:
printf("~%s~\n",caption.c_str());

Then compile, and run your game from a terminal. If you see lines with ~tildes~, that's when it's setting the caption, and anything between the tildes is what it's setting the caption to. If, for instance, you see
~The Caption I provide~
~~
then either you're calling window_set_caption("") or ENIGMA is overwriting (e.g. room_caption). To further test this, try setting room_caption.
« Last Edit: April 22, 2010, 12:36:02 PM by IsmAvatar » Logged
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #46 Posted on: April 22, 2010, 01:06:10 PM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2949

View Profile Email
whenever i use window_set_caption() it  doesn't throw errors.... or do anything....
I used the room_caption variable. My guess is window_set_caption isn't fully implemented or gets overwritten with room_caption.

I try my best to warn people about this; unfortunately it can hardly apply to either of you because you're on Linux.
If it doesn't work in ENIGMA, and you think it should, be sure it works in GM. You are correct that it gets overwritten with room_caption, Ism. This is the behavior of GM, also. The function room_set_caption() is useful only when a script is looping for a long time and needs some way of outputting a percentage.

There's no bug here, and no need for printf(); just use room_caption as people do in GM.
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Unknown gender) The 11th plague of Egypt
Reply #47 Posted on: April 22, 2010, 01:43:38 PM
Member
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 276

View Profile
Josh, is it still worth trying for me to get that darn compiler working?

Or may I try installing MinGW? I hope it's easier than Cygwin to set.
Logged
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #48 Posted on: April 22, 2010, 05:22:13 PM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2949

View Profile Email
The 11th plague of Egypt--
If you install MinGW right to C:\, both ENIGMA and Code::Blocks should detect it. If Code::Blocks doesn't detect it, just reinstall it (Code::Blocks). If it still doesn't detect it, feel free to give up. ENIGMA will be done soon enough.

I don't really "need" new testers, as it seems most of what will break has broken on the three platforms I now have access to, but a "yeah, it works!" is always nice to hear.
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Male) kkg
Reply #49 Posted on: April 23, 2010, 01:03:57 AM

Member
Location: Australia
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 84
MSN Messenger - kamikazigames@gmail.com
View Profile Email
Well after we got mine all set up on Windows there haven't been any problems, updating and compiling has all been successful. So hopefully that's a good motivator (Y) :D
Logged
PC: Core i7-2600 @ 3.8ghz | 4x 4gb G.Skill RipjawZ DDR3-2000 | GTX580 | Win7 x64
Time is the greatest teacher, however it kills every single one of its pupils.
Offline (Unknown gender) The 11th plague of Egypt
Reply #50 Posted on: April 23, 2010, 08:15:24 AM
Member
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 276

View Profile
The 11th plague of Egypt--
If you install MinGW right to C:\, both ENIGMA and Code::Blocks should detect it. If Code::Blocks doesn't detect it, just reinstall it (Code::Blocks). If it still doesn't detect it, feel free to give up. ENIGMA will be done soon enough.

I don't really "need" new testers, as it seems most of what will break has broken on the three platforms I now have access to, but a "yeah, it works!" is always nice to hear.
Cool, it worked straight after I installed MinGW. Still I don't know what's wrong about Cygwin.

Enigma compiled without giving any errors or warnings on my Windows 7 32 bits.

LGM started and let me open the game, but the Run button is not responding, not even after I click Compile.

BTW how do I start LGM again without rebuilding Enigma? Josh said to start it using the terminal, but I don't think he's referring to the Windows terminal. I see there is a terminal entitled C:\Windows\System32\java.exe running right now. Is that it?
« Last Edit: April 23, 2010, 08:20:38 AM by The 11th plague of Egypt » Logged
Offline (Male) retep998
Reply #51 Posted on: April 23, 2010, 08:24:36 AM

Member
Location: Where else?
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 248
MSN Messenger - retep998@charter.net AOL Instant Messenger - retep998 Yahoo Instant Messenger - retep998
View Profile Email
BTW how do I start LGM again without rebuilding Enigma? Josh said to start it using the terminal, but I don't think he's referring to the Windows terminal. I see there is a terminal entitled C:\Windows\System32\java.exe running right now. Is that it?
Just run lgm o_0
Even though it's a .jar it runs just like a program, so run it.
How you managed to start lgm by building enigma without running lgm, i have no idea...
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) The 11th plague of Egypt
Reply #52 Posted on: April 23, 2010, 08:32:07 AM
Member
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 276

View Profile
I just clicked the Buid and Run button, Enigma compiled and LGM run.
Logged
Offline (Male) retep998
Reply #53 Posted on: April 23, 2010, 09:38:35 AM

Member
Location: Where else?
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 248
MSN Messenger - retep998@charter.net AOL Instant Messenger - retep998 Yahoo Instant Messenger - retep998
View Profile Email
So go to the enigma folder, and find lgm16b4.jar or whatever it's called.
Double click on it.
Bam.
If that doesn't work stick a butter knife into your floppy drive.
If you lack a floppy drive, then stick a slice of bologna (or any other deli meat (or cheese (just make sure it's round (cut off the corners if it isn't)))) into your cd drive.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) The 11th plague of Egypt
Reply #54 Posted on: April 23, 2010, 09:49:34 AM
Member
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 276

View Profile
Ok, ok, I found that by myself, but it still doesn't run the game.

Probably it's because Enigma can't find the compiler, but why? It's MinGW, and it's inside C:\

I compiled Enigma inside the Download directory, may it be it?
Logged
Offline (Male) retep998
Reply #55 Posted on: April 23, 2010, 01:06:47 PM

Member
Location: Where else?
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 248
MSN Messenger - retep998@charter.net AOL Instant Messenger - retep998 Yahoo Instant Messenger - retep998
View Profile Email
Enigma doesn't run your game.
When you hit run, all it does is parse your code and generate some files, without saying a word.
You then have to open the enigmasystem c::b project and build/run/execute it.
You now have a compiled version of your game.
Enjoy.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) The 11th plague of Egypt
Reply #56 Posted on: April 23, 2010, 01:49:21 PM
Member
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 276

View Profile
Found it, the bastard was named ENIGMAengine for some reasons. It works, but it's not fun.

The dot doesn't move until I mouse over it, unlike the gm clown which kept movin.
Logged
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #57 Posted on: April 23, 2010, 02:44:12 PM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2949

View Profile Email
"I just clicked the Buid and Run button, Enigma compiled and LGM run."
I "..."'d for a moment before I remembered I set it up to do that. XD

"Found it, the bastard was named ENIGMAengine for some reasons. It works, but it's not fun.

The dot doesn't move until I mouse over it, unlike the gm clown which kept movin."
Didn't realize that constituted fun... :P
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Female) IsmAvatar
Reply #58 Posted on: April 23, 2010, 03:03:47 PM

LateralGM Developer
LGM Developer
Location: Pennsylvania/USA
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 886

View Profile Email
Quote
The dot doesn't move until I mouse over it, unlike the gm clown which kept movin.
This is correct behavior. I intend for the next version to implement movement.

Quote
Didn't realize that constituted fun... :P
Have you ever played Click the clown?
Logged
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #59 Posted on: April 23, 2010, 03:39:09 PM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2949

View Profile Email
I believe I did. Though it was a little after my time...
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 »
  Print