Pages: « 1 2 3
  Print  
Author Topic: Greetings from LInux  (Read 6317 times)
Offline (Male) antidote
Reply #30 Posted on: September 21, 2009, 05:29:17 PM
Member
Location: Job Corps. <.<
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 27

View Profile Email
@humphey: You are an idiot. OS X is the OPERATING SYSTEM not the hardware and YES macs use a BIOS.
Logged
Offline (Male) notachair
Reply #31 Posted on: September 22, 2009, 12:56:35 AM

Definitely not a chair
Contributor
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 299

View Profile
OS X doesn't use a BIOS it uses a faggotbooter or something like that.
EFI
Logged
Offline (Male) RetroX
Reply #32 Posted on: September 22, 2009, 05:00:07 PM

Master of all things Linux
Contributor
Location: US
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1055
MSN Messenger - classixretrox@gmail.com
View Profile Email
OS X doesn't use a BIOS it uses a faggotbooter or something like that.
Actually, OS X installs its fagottbooter over the BIOS so that you can only use OS X on the computer and never anything else ever again.

Damnit, I hate pages so much.  You guys ruined my troll.
Logged
My Box: Phenom II 3.4GHz X4 | ASUS ATI RadeonHD 5770, 1GB GDDR5 RAM | 1x4GB DDR3 SRAM | Arch Linux, x86_64 (Cube) / Windows 7 x64 (Blob)
Quote from: Fede-lasse
Why do all the pro-Microsoft people have troll avatars? :(
Offline (Male) Rusky
Reply #33 Posted on: September 22, 2009, 06:11:20 PM

Resident Troll
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 960
MSN Messenger - rpjohnst@gmail.com
View Profile WWW Email
You can't write over the BIOS, it's burned into ROM. But yes, Mac hardware does use EFI instead of BIOS. Not sure how it works on other hardware though, you probably have to do some kind of fancy bootstrap thing.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2009, 06:14:28 PM by Rusky » Logged
Offline (Male) RetroX
Reply #34 Posted on: September 22, 2009, 08:50:13 PM

Master of all things Linux
Contributor
Location: US
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1055
MSN Messenger - classixretrox@gmail.com
View Profile Email
Hence why it was a troll.
Logged
My Box: Phenom II 3.4GHz X4 | ASUS ATI RadeonHD 5770, 1GB GDDR5 RAM | 1x4GB DDR3 SRAM | Arch Linux, x86_64 (Cube) / Windows 7 x64 (Blob)
Quote from: Fede-lasse
Why do all the pro-Microsoft people have troll avatars? :(
Pages: « 1 2 3
  Print