Pages: « 1 2
  Print  
Author Topic: I got to thinking.  (Read 4340 times)
Offline (Male) qc.zackf
Reply #15 Posted on: August 12, 2009, 12:05:06 PM

Member
Location: Winter Haven, FL - USA
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 41

View Profile Email
In EDL it would be nice to override auto assignment of variable types and be able to manually assign a type to your variables.
Logged
Only ask questions you know the answer to...
Offline (Male) RetroX
Reply #16 Posted on: August 12, 2009, 02:52:39 PM

Master of all things Linux
Contributor
Location: US
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1055
MSN Messenger - classixretrox@gmail.com
View Profile Email
In EDL it would be nice to override auto assignment of variable types and be able to manually assign a type to your variables.
You can do this...
Logged
My Box: Phenom II 3.4GHz X4 | ASUS ATI RadeonHD 5770, 1GB GDDR5 RAM | 1x4GB DDR3 SRAM | Arch Linux, x86_64 (Cube) / Windows 7 x64 (Blob)
Quote from: Fede-lasse
Why do all the pro-Microsoft people have troll avatars? :(
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #17 Posted on: August 12, 2009, 03:35:40 PM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2956

View Profile Email
Objects have been classes since R1, Russell...
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Male) Rusky
Reply #18 Posted on: August 12, 2009, 05:37:07 PM

Resident Troll
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 955
MSN Messenger - rpjohnst@gmail.com
View Profile WWW Email
I didn't say they weren't. I said they shouldn't be, and that I didn't know how they worked.
If they are classes, how do you handle the index thing? A big switch statement or something?
Logged
Offline (Male) qc.zackf
Reply #19 Posted on: August 12, 2009, 07:02:30 PM

Member
Location: Winter Haven, FL - USA
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 41

View Profile Email
Now I'm confused. You can assign types in EDL? What about template classes? Is this valid:

Code: [Select]
// EDL Script for 'object0 initialization'

// Lets just say the 'vec3' class is implemented and setup to compile in ENIGMA
var forward = vec3<double>(5.5, 0, 44.7)
var position = vec3<double>(5.5, 0, 44.7)

Code: [Select]
// EDL Script for 'object0 update'

if keyboard_key_pressed(ord('W'))
{
     position += forward
}

I would test all this without using any graphics but I can't get ENIGMA to compile or it just takes too long I don't know. It seems like ENIGMA is getting stuck on my PC when sending the object data.
Logged
Only ask questions you know the answer to...
Offline (Male) Rusky
Reply #20 Posted on: August 12, 2009, 08:12:56 PM

Resident Troll
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 955
MSN Messenger - rpjohnst@gmail.com
View Profile WWW Email
Not sure if you can assign anything to a var, but you can say
Code: [Select]
vec3<double> forward(5.5, 0, 44.7)
Logged
Offline (Male) qc.zackf
Reply #21 Posted on: August 12, 2009, 11:32:17 PM

Member
Location: Winter Haven, FL - USA
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 41

View Profile Email
Cool. 

I didn't say they weren't. I said they shouldn't be, and that I didn't know how they worked.
If they are classes, how do you handle the index thing? A big switch statement or something?

Why shouldn't they be? I like having objects as classes. Keeping it that way makes EDL an object-oriented scripting language.  I really don't know what I'm saying.
Logged
Only ask questions you know the answer to...
Pages: « 1 2
  Print