Pages: 1
  Print  
Author Topic: can someone tell me why this no longer works?  (Read 575 times)
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Posted on: February 20, 2018, 04:00:52 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1168

View Profile Email
i created a panorama virtual visit demo project, which used to work in enigma ages ago. but now, it crashes every time it first opens, (after the title screen)....

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/e1zxyu9341xeq9t/AADpKoRn9sdi98KkSlDAAsNHa?dl=0

thank
« Last Edit: March 01, 2018, 02:08:07 PM by time-killer-games » Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #1 Posted on: February 24, 2018, 11:08:36 AM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3151

View Profile
Please read the sticky topic about debugging your game which shows you how to run it through gdb. That will allow you to obtain a full stack trace along with the file names and line numbers of where ENIGMA crashed:
https://enigma-dev.org/forums/index.php?topic=1815.0
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #2 Posted on: February 28, 2018, 04:08:15 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1168

View Profile Email
Alright, the problem seems to be with sprite_add()

https://pastebin.com/i2vP4aBr

But I'm not sure how to fix this?
Logged
Offline (Male) hpg678
Reply #3 Posted on: March 01, 2018, 11:32:40 AM

Member
Location: Barbados
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 259

View Profile Email
try using the 'draw_sprite' or 'draw_sprite_ext' functions.
Logged
Hugar
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #4 Posted on: March 01, 2018, 02:06:22 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1168

View Profile Email
@Patrick - thanks for the idea, but unfortunately I know that's not the problem. The crash occurs not when I use draw_sprite_stretched(). That function works fine for me in the title screen. It happens when I am in 3D mode after I clicked "start new game". Both the 2D title screen and 3D gameplay use sprite_add(), so I'm guessing the real problem must be related to either sprite_get_texture() or d3d_draw_cylinder() which uses the texture as the panorama.
Logged
Offline (Male) hpg678
Reply #5 Posted on: March 02, 2018, 09:39:13 AM

Member
Location: Barbados
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 259

View Profile Email
ok so after extensive testing, it seems to be the 'draw_sprite_stretched...... '

segment that is causing the error. At least it is on my Linux machine. When I comment out that line, I see the cursor but everything else is black. So something else is going wrong.


I'm going to test it in GameMaker Studio and will report the results back to you.
« Last Edit: March 02, 2018, 09:41:09 AM by hpg678 » Logged
Hugar
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #6 Posted on: March 02, 2018, 11:05:32 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1168

View Profile Email
Thanks for your hard work! It works in both GM 8.1 and GameMaker Studio. I know because that is what I originally made it in, a version for each version of GameMaker. You just need to comment out and uncomment the specified code relative to which version of GameMaker you intend to use. I can send you the GMA if you want, but I don't see much point in it. The problem isn't to do with GameMaker, it is ENIGMA.
Logged
Offline (Male) hpg678
Reply #7 Posted on: March 03, 2018, 05:10:32 AM

Member
Location: Barbados
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 259

View Profile Email
UHHHMMMM.......... When I tested it in GameMaker Studio 1.4, it gave 2 errors in the script GenerateCurrentFrame

line 84 pos 185 Unknown function or script: sound_add
line 113 pos 190 Unknown function or script : sound_add

which YOYO depreciated. I commented out those lines and got another error

"############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Create Event
for object ExecuteCode:

Push :: Execution Error - Variable Get -1.ImageWidth(100046, -2147483648)
 at gml_Script_CalculateDirection (line 13) - mousex=ImageWidth-round((PanoHorizontalAngle/360)*ImageWidth)
############################################################################################
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
stack frame is
gml_Script_CalculateDirection (line 13)
called from - gml_Object_ExecuteCode_CreateEvent_1 (line 80) - CalculateDirection()
"

which I don't comprehend, at least at the present moment.

So that's where I am for now. This weekend I'll peruse on the code and try to solve it. You'll probable hear from me either Tuesday or later depending on how I get through on some other work I'm doing this weekend. Doing freelance work dosen't let one have a strict schedule. One must be flexible.

So have fun  ;D ;D and enjoy your weekend :D :D :D

Logged
Hugar
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #8 Posted on: March 04, 2018, 12:23:27 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1168

View Profile Email
Thanks man! I really appreciate it.

I gave you the download for the GM 8.1 / ENIGMA version. That is why you are getting those errors. :P

Anyway, I just uploaded the GMStudio version, which is now available within the same zip / download link.
« Last Edit: March 05, 2018, 11:52:54 AM by time-killer-games » Logged
Pages: 1
  Print