Pages: 1 2 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Can't open egm project on Linux [SOLVED]  (Read 4479 times)
Offline (Male) HitCoder
Posted on: January 29, 2015, 01:13:41 PM

Member
Location: King's Lynn, England
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 151

View Profile WWW Email
OS: Linux Mint 17.1 Rebecca - XFCE
Machine: Lenovo G505
Java version: Java JDK 7 Runtime
Error:

Code: [Select]
Operating System: Linux
Version: 3.13.0-37-generic
Architecture: amd64

Java Vendor: Oracle Corporation
Version: 1.7.0_65

Available processors (cores): 4
Free memory (bytes): 102934648
Maximum memory (bytes): 777519104
Total memory available to JVM (bytes): 151519232

File system root: /
Total space (bytes): 38107922432
Free space (bytes): 26067496960
Usable space (bytes): 24108077056

Stack trace:
java.lang.NullPointerException
at org.enigma.file.EFileReader.readResource(EFileReader.java:666)
at org.enigma.file.EFileReader.processEntries(EFileReader.java:644)
at org.enigma.file.EFileReader.readNodeChildren(EFileReader.java:622)
at org.enigma.file.EFileReader.readEgmFile(EFileReader.java:560)
at org.enigma.file.EFileReader.readEgmFile(EFileReader.java:538)
at org.enigma.file.EgmIO.read(EgmIO.java:56)
at org.lateralgm.main.FileChooser$1.run(FileChooser.java:564)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:745)

When I try to run the game it crashes LateralGM. Everything appears fine in editor at first glance however, and it appears that I can edit most assets perfectly fine.
« Last Edit: April 26, 2015, 10:41:42 AM by HitCoder » Logged
DISCORD: HitCoder#4530
hi my name is John Cooper and i'm not good at anything
Offline (Unknown gender) TheExDeus
Reply #1 Posted on: January 29, 2015, 02:53:19 PM

Developer
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1872

View Profile
Right now the new LGM cannot load egm files. It was broken recently, so if you updated LGM then it might not work. I think Robert should take down that version.
It is possible that this is a different problem though. Like previously EGM files changed the room format. So it might mean you will have to delete rooms and recreate them. Or just save it to gmk/gmx in the last version where it worked fine and then load that gmk/gmx in this new version. EGM sadly still doesn't save rooms in xml format, which just seems sad, but I don't code LGM so I cannot easily change that. Making a format that doesn't break is actually VERY trivial, but sadly we have not been able to do it because of lack of developers.
Logged
Offline (Male) HitCoder
Reply #2 Posted on: January 29, 2015, 04:08:07 PM

Member
Location: King's Lynn, England
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 151

View Profile WWW Email
Oh, ok. If I had enough experience in Java, I may have been able to help, but I have only had experience messing with Minecraft's source code...
Logged
DISCORD: HitCoder#4530
hi my name is John Cooper and i'm not good at anything
Offline (Male) edsquare
Reply #3 Posted on: January 30, 2015, 01:46:03 AM

Member
Location: The throne of ringworld
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 402

View Profile
Right now the new LGM cannot load egm files. It was broken recently, so if you updated LGM then it might not work. I think Robert should take down that version.
It is possible that this is a different problem though. Like previously EGM files changed the room format. So it might mean you will have to delete rooms and recreate them. Or just save it to gmk/gmx in the last version where it worked fine and then load that gmk/gmx in this new version. EGM sadly still doesn't save rooms in xml format, which just seems sad, but I don't code LGM so I cannot easily change that. Making a format that doesn't break is actually VERY trivial, but sadly we have not been able to do it because of lack of developers.

I asked where do you actually set/make the file formats, still no response.
Logged
A child of five would understand this. Send someone to fetch a child of five.
Groucho Marx
Offline (Unknown gender) TheExDeus
Reply #4 Posted on: January 30, 2015, 05:59:42 AM

Developer
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1872

View Profile
You asked who? Robert? He has been online more sparingly recently, so you might end up waiting a little.
Logged
Offline (Male) edsquare
Reply #5 Posted on: January 31, 2015, 02:12:17 PM

Member
Location: The throne of ringworld
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 402

View Profile
You asked who? Robert? He has been online more sparingly recently, so you might end up waiting a little.

It was an open question on a post where I complained exactly about the same thing : EGM not working

I imagine the declaration, etc. of the file formats is done in LGM, but where?
Logged
A child of five would understand this. Send someone to fetch a child of five.
Groucho Marx
Offline (Male) HitCoder
Reply #6 Posted on: January 31, 2015, 05:10:13 PM

Member
Location: King's Lynn, England
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 151

View Profile WWW Email
have the repositories been updated for Enigma yet? If not, how long? Will I have to copy my files from my windows install?
Logged
DISCORD: HitCoder#4530
hi my name is John Cooper and i'm not good at anything
Offline (Male) edsquare
Reply #7 Posted on: January 31, 2015, 09:20:23 PM

Member
Location: The throne of ringworld
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 402

View Profile
have the repositories been updated for Enigma yet? If not, how long? Will I have to copy my files from my windows install?

I have an old lgm/enigma combo that works correctly on linux and that opens and saves to egm, tomorrow I'll upload it somewhere and give you the link
Logged
A child of five would understand this. Send someone to fetch a child of five.
Groucho Marx
Offline (Male) HitCoder
Reply #8 Posted on: February 08, 2015, 09:53:16 AM

Member
Location: King's Lynn, England
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 151

View Profile WWW Email
Ah, however you did not send me that link. :P
anyway, I tried the version that works on windows, but got a few errors, so I tried to run the install.py, it appeared to work ok, then I opened it, and got this:

I updated my jars, however, it is still the same error.
« Last Edit: February 08, 2015, 09:55:14 AM by HitCoder » Logged
DISCORD: HitCoder#4530
hi my name is John Cooper and i'm not good at anything
Offline (Male) edsquare
Reply #9 Posted on: February 08, 2015, 10:52:53 AM

Member
Location: The throne of ringworld
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 402

View Profile
Ah, however you did not send me that link. :P
anyway, I tried the version that works on windows, but got a few errors, so I tried to run the install.py, it appeared to work ok, then I opened it, and got this:

I updated my jars, however, it is still the same error.

Sorry to much work with my classes, completely forgot about it. Here it is:
Code: [Select]
http://www53.zippyshare.com/v/ADgdipQp/file.html
On second thought maybe it's this one:
Code: [Select]
http://www74.zippyshare.com/v/fJqyHUUL/file.html

That is the same error I got before Robert fixed the compiler to use C++11
« Last Edit: February 08, 2015, 10:57:40 AM by edsquare » Logged
A child of five would understand this. Send someone to fetch a child of five.
Groucho Marx
Offline (Male) HitCoder
Reply #10 Posted on: February 08, 2015, 11:10:29 AM

Member
Location: King's Lynn, England
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 151

View Profile WWW Email
I still have that error in the version you sent me in "Enigma.zip"
The version in the other zip appears to be too old. It doesn't even have the run functions from current Enigma.

EDIT: This time I got a full error report, here it is:

Code: [Select]
Operating System: Linux
Version: 3.13.0-37-generic
Architecture: amd64

Java Vendor: Oracle Corporation
Version: 1.7.0_75

Available processors (cores): 4
Free memory (bytes): 41804848
Maximum memory (bytes): 777519104
Total memory available to JVM (bytes): 94896128

File system root: /
Total space (bytes): 38107922432
Free space (bytes): 12669988864
Usable space (bytes): 10710568960

Stack trace:
java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: Unable to load library 'compileEGMf': Native library (linux-x86-64/libcompileEGMf.so) not found in resource path ([file:/home/hitcoder/enigma/plugins/enigma.jar])
at com.sun.jna.NativeLibrary.loadLibrary(NativeLibrary.java:271)
at com.sun.jna.NativeLibrary.getInstance(NativeLibrary.java:398)
at com.sun.jna.Library$Handler.<init>(Library.java:147)
at com.sun.jna.Native.loadLibrary(Native.java:412)
at com.sun.jna.Native.loadLibrary(Native.java:391)
at org.enigma.EnigmaRunner.attemptLib(EnigmaRunner.java:252)
at org.enigma.EnigmaRunner.access$1(EnigmaRunner.java:245)
at org.enigma.EnigmaRunner$3.run(EnigmaRunner.java:183)
Logged
DISCORD: HitCoder#4530
hi my name is John Cooper and i'm not good at anything
Offline (Male) HitCoder
Reply #11 Posted on: February 10, 2015, 04:22:55 PM

Member
Location: King's Lynn, England
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 151

View Profile WWW Email
Just a reminder, this still isn't fixed, however, I'll try redownloading it.
Logged
DISCORD: HitCoder#4530
hi my name is John Cooper and i'm not good at anything
Offline (Unknown gender) TheExDeus
Reply #12 Posted on: February 10, 2015, 05:14:12 PM

Developer
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1872

View Profile
The "unable to load library" is usually just the issue that the library cannot be found. Either it's not compiled or there is path issue. Downloading new ENIGMA with new LGM will not help, because it has the egm bug. It has not been fixed and the LGM is not reverted. I'm totally not sure why. I think more than one person should have access to all that, so this can be dealt with in timely matter, not wait for Robert to show up. At least he could of reverted the .jar to a working one, before leaving for IRL stuff.

This is the ENIGMA I use and it works fine - https://portal.emakonis.lv/Shares/Home.aspx?ShareID=7d579156-05be-4825-97d5-08ee2ec32834
It has the .jar's, .exe and additional's. As you are running linux then of course you can ignore those two (and ENIGMA should ignore them for you). So run .jar and see if it works now. This also loads egm's and doesn't corrupt them.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) Darkstar2
Reply #13 Posted on: February 11, 2015, 06:24:02 PM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1244

View Profile Email
Right now the new LGM cannot load egm files. It was broken recently, so if you updated LGM then it might not work. I think Robert should take down that version.

See that's the big problem that plagues this project, things that were working fine, get broken, and the things getting broken pile up.
What was that expression ? Don't break what's not fixed ? :P What a damn shame - some of us prefer the EGM format over the other formats.
If I knew enough about crap JAVA I would have done some big changes to LGM myself even my own format, yeah lot of new things added indeed, but breaking / crashing some things along the way.  EGM should have been left alone and instead do the tests into an alternate format that is a duplicate of EGM to test on as to not break EGM.
I was thinking of an xEGM format along the way.

One thing, this LGM has become an unstable rubbish.

I was thinking eventually of making my own IDE but since I am not skilled enough to know how to interface with the compiler, I could probably manage to do my own mini IDE/ IDE that creates an EGM file - that I can then load in LGM and compile :P  That might be in some distant project of mine.

« Last Edit: February 11, 2015, 06:27:32 PM by Darkstar2 » Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) egofree
Reply #14 Posted on: February 12, 2015, 03:27:21 AM
Contributor
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 603

View Profile Email
If I knew enough about crap JAVA

The problem is NOT about JAVA, but about testing and quality. This doesn't depend about the language used. I just hope that LGM will not be left because of these problems, because i spent many hours adding new features, and i tried always to do quality.  >:(
Logged
Pages: 1 2 »
  Print