ENIGMA Development Environment
Website is in read-only mode due to a recent attack.

Pages: « 1 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Build options appear grayed out on Windows XP [SOLVED]  (Read 5019 times)
Offline (Unknown gender) Craven
Reply #15 Posted on: December 25, 2014, 01:58:45 AM
Member
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 10

View Profile Email
Craven did you update settings.ey? It's still loading the old value.

...

Copy and paste the contents of settings.ey so I can see if you updated it properly. Also make sure that you create the C:/ProgramData/ENIGMA path space if the folders do not exist.


Yeah... I was looking at that, this is my settings.ey: http://pastebin.com/KrT3RVrf

I searched the string "%PROGRAMDATA%" recursively in all the files inside enigma-dev with findstr /spin /c:"%PROGRAMDATA%" * . This is the result:

Code: [Select]
CommandLine\programs\emake\main.cpp:1152:    "make-directory: \"%PROGRAMDATA%/ENIGMA/\"\n"
CompilerSource\settings-parse\parse_ide_settings.cpp:146:  make_directory = "%PROGRAMDATA%/ENIGMA/";
output_log.txt:69:ERROR! Failed to create make directory, path not found: "%PROGRAMDATA%/ENIGMA/"
output_log.txt:70:Make directory is: "%PROGRAMDATA%/ENIGMA/"

Maybe those hardcoded cpp have something to do with this?
« Last Edit: December 25, 2014, 02:00:31 AM by Craven » Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #16 Posted on: December 25, 2014, 02:05:09 AM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 2993

View Profile
Yes it does, because this setting is not honored cross-platform sorlok disabled it but it looks like he also disabled the settings file altogether.

Just change it manually in the file
CompilerSource\settings-parse\parse_ide_settings.cpp:146:  make_directory = "%PROGRAMDATA%/ENIGMA/";

You won't need the CLI, so just change that one line then launch ENIGMA again and then everything should finally work.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) Craven
Reply #17 Posted on: December 25, 2014, 02:18:28 AM
Member
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 10

View Profile Email
I think it did the trick, now is compiling and taking a lot of time, so I guess it isn't halting anymore. Thank you so much, I couldn't figure out this so fast as you did.  :D :D :D
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #18 Posted on: December 25, 2014, 02:27:12 AM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 2993

View Profile
Excellent, it's taking longer than expected because this is your first setup and it has to at least compile the whole engine once. You won't have to go through that again unless you change any of the source files or download an updated portable ZIP. At any rate I am glad we got this resolved, if you have any other issues let us know!  (Y)
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) egofree
Reply #19 Posted on: December 25, 2014, 04:51:13 AM
Contributor
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 601

View Profile Email
For the progress window, i wonder if we should not make it a modal window. I think new enigma users are sometimes confused by the first setup and don't see that some processes are running. With a modal window, it would be clearer.
« Last Edit: December 25, 2014, 04:54:03 AM by egofree » Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #20 Posted on: December 25, 2014, 06:00:47 AM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 2993

View Profile
egofree, you must have not seen my GitHub issues, I am actually planning something similar, I would like feedback, you should post on the tracker.
https://github.com/IsmAvatar/LateralGM/issues/150

Though do not get hasty and try finishing this feature, it requires a lot of work in the plugin and should be thoroughly discussed first, plus we have more important things to do. Also this is what that vertical splitter you asked about was really hiding.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #21 Posted on: December 25, 2014, 09:30:42 AM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2951

View Profile Email
Well, that's a little scary. I might ask you to explain the rationale behind that hard coding, later, Robert.
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Unknown gender) Craven
Reply #22 Posted on: December 25, 2014, 10:04:46 AM
Member
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 10

View Profile Email
I changed the title in the hope of it will be more useful this way for other users in the future. Thanks again for everything!
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) TheExDeus
Reply #23 Posted on: December 25, 2014, 11:59:54 AM

Developer
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1860

View Profile
Josh, it was not hard-coded before and I personally liked it that way, but sorlok changed it because of some crosscompiling stuff or because of mac/linux which made him change it every time he opened LGM or something. He didn't like it so he removed it. I vote for bringing it back, but making it an LGM option that is saved, so you must do it only once. I think now it is saved in EGM (or if GMK is loaded then it goes back to default) which caused the problems he was having.
Logged
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #24 Posted on: December 25, 2014, 03:41:36 PM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2951

View Profile Email
I don't understand the difference between hard-coding it and changing it in the config files, except for the former requires recompilation and so is less desirable. What is the difference in behavior? If it's a problem with differentiate between host platform and target platform when choosing settings. If that's the case, we need to update the configuration file's schema to support both behaviors. We should also find a way to override settings in a way that gitignore can help prevent being committed, if his changes are not good for everyone.
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #25 Posted on: December 25, 2014, 03:43:33 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 2993

View Profile
Quote from: TheExDeus
Josh, it was not hard-coded before and I personally liked it that way, but sorlok changed it because of some crosscompiling stuff or because of mac/linux which made him change it every time he opened LGM or something.
Yes, but it was more so because my first implementation was a little obnoxious and made it hard to share EGM's because if you put one up on the EDC it will have the Windows default make-dir stored in it and when someone opens any EGM on Mac or Linux or vice versa they automatically have to go and change it before they can build and they may not know what it is, this is clearly not user friendly and sorlok was correct.
https://github.com/enigma-dev/enigma-dev/issues/805

Quote from: TheExDeus
I vote for bringing it back, but making it an LGM option that is saved, so you must do it only once.
I had actually considered doing that as well and making it a global compiler preference, currently ENIGMA has no implementation/system for global compiler preferences.

Quote from: JoshDreamland
What is the difference in behavior? If it's a problem with differentiate between host platform and target platform when choosing settings. If that's the case, we need to update the configuration file's schema to support both behaviors.
Actually, I have already updated our eyaml specification to allow defaults for specific platforms.
https://github.com/enigma-dev/enigma-dev/blob/master/settings.ey#L49

Quote from: JoshDreamland
We should also find a way to override settings in a way that gitignore can help prevent being committed, if his changes are not good for everyone.
I actually agreed to merging this because after I had added make-dir as a setting to the compiler TheExDeus specifically had problems with sharing EGM's and it made the EGM sort of unusable on the site for sharing.

The whole reason I implemented make-dir as a setting originally was to be like the Qt Framework IDE where when you open a project and if no compiler settings are detected it will ask you to configure the defaults and save them, which can change based on platform, such as where to output the project to. Perhaps we could just undo sorloks pull request and store Default-Windows as Default-Windows in the EGM instead of simply storing Default-Windows, Default-Mac, and Default-Linux all as the same variable so that the ENIGMA settings remembers what the user had selected on each platform instead of using the same on all platforms. So in other words, if you entered the setting on Linux and open the EGM on Windows it will show the default make-dir instead of the one you saved on/for Linux.

If you want to do it that way, someone just needs to undo sorlok's pull request and then make a few slight modifications to the plugin.
« Last Edit: December 25, 2014, 03:55:32 PM by Robert B Colton » Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) TheExDeus
Reply #26 Posted on: December 25, 2014, 06:17:37 PM

Developer
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1860

View Profile
It seems the problem was just that make-dir was saved in EGM. That is not a project specific thing, but the environments. It's like saving the LGM theme in EGM. I think we just need to make it how it was before, but not save it inside EGM, but instead save it in LGM/ENIGMA specific config.
Logged
Pages: « 1 2
  Print