Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 »
  Print  
Author Topic: LateralGM 1.8.6.844  (Read 42444 times)
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #150 Posted on: November 09, 2014, 07:53:48 AM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
Another quick update, you can download the same as always. I've added the line number panel found in Studio to the action list.
http://enigma-dev.org/docs/Wiki/Install:Extra_Packages
https://github.com/IsmAvatar/LateralGM/commit/303dcc656e03ebe115c77461ac935bee04a73c6d



Quote from: egofree
Ok, i understand now. There is a problem with the focus. Within the objects window, if the actions list panel doesn't have the focus, the keyboards shortcuts don't work. I give an example : if you add several  new actions, and try CTRL-Z, it doesn't work if an action has not been selected before in the actions list panel.
That is actually a Swing issue, mouse released does not register focus on a component, only left mouse clicked. I had to work around that to make right click focus the selected node on the resource tree as well.
« Last Edit: November 09, 2014, 07:59:14 AM by Robert B Colton » Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) egofree
Reply #151 Posted on: November 09, 2014, 08:04:21 AM
Contributor
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 603

View Profile Email
When you are doing a copy and several pastes one after the other, you've all actions selected :

Logged
Offline (Female) IsmAvatar
Reply #152 Posted on: November 09, 2014, 01:31:39 PM

LateralGM Developer
LGM Developer
Location: Pennsylvania/USA
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 886

View Profile Email
Quote from: egofree
can't reproduce the error anymore. But why this event selector is in the main toolbar ? It's only for objects. It should be in the objects window. If you don't have an object open, it can't be used. This doesn't seem logical to me. This icon seems useless to me in this place. It is also displayed when you are in the objects events and you click on the modify button.
It has been in there since LGM was first started egofree, it's kind of unique to the application, occasionally I click on the button as well to get the panel. If you think it should be removed you should discuss it with everyone else, I personally don't have an opinion on it either way because if you don't use it, it's not in your way so it shouldn't bother you.

Actually the Event Selector has a bit of a history behind it, and has changed a lot through each of the LGM releases. Originally it behaved very much like GM's, but we figured we could do better, and a few ideas were thrown around and some experimentation was done. What you're seeing now is really just the latest incarnation, and can certainly be changed.

The button is one of the newest additions, and even it has changed a bit, moving around and getting new icons.

I certainly agree that it doesn't make sense for it to be present when there are no Objects to select Events for, but that said, removal of the button on such a main interface as the Toolbar might be a little too overt. I could be wrong. Feel free to try it out and keep it if you think it works. Fortunately the location of the button is very unobtrusive, so we don't have to worry about other items shifting.
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #153 Posted on: November 09, 2014, 10:57:00 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
Another quick update I've added save functionality to the sprite and background frames including APNG support. You can in fact save all your subimages to an APNG with this feature, it will save the selected subimages on the frame or if none are selected it will save them all. GIF animation writing is not yet supported.

https://github.com/IsmAvatar/LateralGM/commit/337081b85d4b212c51d12f2bcf5261bef0e14224

I used the new save button to export this animated monster from the Mark Overmar's FPS example to the APNG format.


As always you can get these changes through python install.py or manually downloading the new jars.
http://enigma-dev.org/docs/Wiki/Install:Extra_Packages

Quote from: egofree
When you are doing a copy and several pastes one after the other, you've all actions selected :
I've discovered that as well, I'll see what I can do about it to restore it to expected behavior, but for now make sure the undo/redo behavior works.

Quote from: IsmAvatar
I certainly agree that it doesn't make sense for it to be present when there are no Objects to select Events for, but that said, removal of the button on such a main interface as the Toolbar might be a little too overt.
Perhaps as a compromise we could hide it when the user has it docked as a tab because we don't need 2 places on the main interface to get to it in 1 click.
« Last Edit: November 09, 2014, 11:56:17 PM by Robert B Colton » Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) egofree
Reply #154 Posted on: November 10, 2014, 11:00:51 AM
Contributor
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 603

View Profile Email
I reported before problems with the language setting set to english on my PC with a french version of Windows 7. I did more tests with the language setting and i installed in a virtual machine a french version of Windows XP 32 bits. I have the same problem. The language is set to 'English', but you still see a lot of labels in french. It does not change anything if you change the local of your OS, as it is seems only based on the language of your OS. Of course if you have a english OS, you will not see this problem.
« Last Edit: November 10, 2014, 03:01:31 PM by egofree » Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #155 Posted on: November 12, 2014, 02:59:17 AM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
Quick update, I've partially fixed the selection issues with the undo manager on the ActionList restoring the old behavior. Moving actions still causes the selection to be completely lost, will fix it soon.
https://github.com/IsmAvatar/LateralGM/commit/8209ec74aa59ff0112faaaf0824ed5fb9e5f08a8

I made two additional changes:
* Changed the action list line number area to use the list colors instead of the default JComponent colors, also stops it from highlighting the selected line.
https://github.com/IsmAvatar/LateralGM/commit/5ae55bba9f35003350cabf6dcfc90384e0bd550f
* Fixed another exception when switching from a look and feel that supports window decorations to one that does not, the default frame shape must be restored before setting the decorated panel by passing null to setShape
https://github.com/IsmAvatar/LateralGM/commit/36a9107667d69e2448920f05a71e35fb3a303dce

As always update manually by downloading the jars or python install.py
http://enigma-dev.org/docs/Wiki/Install:Extra_Packages

« Last Edit: November 12, 2014, 03:36:44 AM by Robert B Colton » Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) egofree
Reply #156 Posted on: November 12, 2014, 04:26:49 AM
Contributor
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 603

View Profile Email
Concerning the actions list line numbers, personally i preferred how it was before, with a different background color, as the line numbers were more easily distinguished. Well, it was my two cents. :P
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) egofree
Reply #157 Posted on: November 12, 2014, 04:31:36 AM
Contributor
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 603

View Profile Email
Quick update, I've partially fixed the selection issues with the undo manager on the ActionList restoring the old behavior. Moving actions still causes the selection to be completely lost, will fix it soon.

Are you sure ? Try to open a objects window, add some actions, and try an undo with ctrl-z. Despite the fact that new actions are automatically selected in the list, you have to manually select an action in the list if you want the undo to work.
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #158 Posted on: November 12, 2014, 07:01:42 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
Quote from: egofree
Concerning the actions list line numbers, personally i preferred how it was before, with a different background color, as the line numbers were more easily distinguished. Well, it was my two cents. :P
I don't know where you are coming from with that because in the old one it was impossible to view the line number on the selected line (look at the old screenshot). It in fact still uses the same colors, just doesn't change the selected line just like a normal code editor doesn't. It's still either way technically more correct because it's not a generic JComponent, it's a list component. Maybe we can add a preference in the future.

Quote from: egofree
Are you sure ? Try to open a objects window, add some actions, and try an undo with ctrl-z. Despite the fact that new actions are automatically selected in the list, you have to manually select an action in the list if you want the undo to work.
Even GM: Studio's undo does not restore the selection, in fact no code or text editor does except regular Notepad. If you look at Scintilla, Notepad++, Eclipse, Code::Blocks, Visual Studio, Microsoft Word, etc. Undoing or redoing always destroys your current selection.

Now you are correct that the focus still doesn't work, but undo/redo itself and maintain selection is perfectly fine now except when moving actions, moving list items is supposed to maintain your selection, that I still need to fix.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) egofree
Reply #159 Posted on: November 13, 2014, 12:37:00 PM
Contributor
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 603

View Profile Email
I don't know where you are coming from with that because in the old one it was impossible to view the line number on the selected line (look at the old screenshot).

Look at the first screen you posted when you implemented the line numbers :



The background color of the line numbers is a light grey. I was just saying i prefer that. But anyway that's not important.
 
Quote from: egofree
Are you sure ? Try to open a objects window, add some actions, and try an undo with ctrl-z. Despite the fact that new actions are automatically selected in the list, you have to manually select an action in the list if you want the undo to work.
Even GM: Studio's undo does not restore the selection, in fact no code or text editor does except regular Notepad. If you look at Scintilla, Notepad++, Eclipse, Code::Blocks, Visual Studio, Microsoft Word, etc. Undoing or redoing always destroys your current selection.

Now you are correct that the focus still doesn't work, but undo/redo itself and maintain selection is perfectly fine now except when moving actions, moving list items is supposed to maintain your selection, that I still need to fix.

Perhaps i understand nothing or my english is too bad  :ohdear:, but i feel we are not talking about the same thing. I am not talking about problems with selection, but about the fact that when you add a new action, it should be possible to use the ctrl-z shortcut to remove the new action. Right now if you open an objects window, and you add directly new actions, it's not working, if you don't click manually on an action list. Perhaps this is the correct way, and there is nothing wrong with this.

To conclude, let's forget about these problems if i understood nothing.  ;)
« Last Edit: November 13, 2014, 12:41:22 PM by egofree » Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) TheExDeus
Reply #160 Posted on: November 13, 2014, 05:02:55 PM

Developer
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1872

View Profile
For some reason with the newest LGM I get constant crashes (I think the plugin crashes, as I cannot select anything in the ENIGMA menu only).
http://pastebin.com/tmqjBXWG
http://pastebin.com/Y8bBhFep
It shows that on startup. I don't have to do anything.
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #161 Posted on: November 13, 2014, 05:29:28 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
Another quick updated, I've fixed a typo in the GMX reader that was causing room persistence not to save. Update using python install.py or manually download the new jars.
http://enigma-dev.org/docs/Wiki/Install:Extra_Packages

This was the commit that fixed the GMX reader.
https://github.com/IsmAvatar/LateralGM/commit/978f1fda054a49d265e51ab0d64f1771547b4255

Quote from: egofree
Look at the first screen you posted when you implemented the line numbers :
I see, but with the dark look and feel it made them invisible, it's still more consistent to use list colors and not generic component colors for the numbers. Like I said maybe we should add a preference.

Quote from: egofree
Perhaps i understand nothing or my english is too bad  :ohdear:, but i feel we are not talking about the same thing. I am not talking about problems with selection, but about the fact that when you add a new action, it should be possible to use the ctrl-z shortcut to remove the new action. Right now if you open an objects window, and you add directly new actions, it's not working, if you don't click manually on an action list. Perhaps this is the correct way, and there is nothing wrong with this.
It was like that in the old LGM as well, go back and test 1.8.6 and earlier versions. What you are describing is that the action list should have focus by default, which I don't really know if that is a good idea or not.
http://enigma-dev.org/docs/Wiki/LateralGM:_Revisions

Quote from: TheExDeus
For some reason with the newest LGM I get constant crashes (I think the plugin crashes, as I cannot select anything in the ENIGMA menu only).
It looks like you managed to reproduce the focus traversal bug, I'll try to push a patch for enigma.jar for you to see if it fixes it. This is regarding turning off window decorations, do not try messing with the preference I want to actually fix this. Just please answer two quick questions:

1) Have you updated both enigma.jar and lateralgm.jar? Because it looks like your engima.jar is out of date, the reported line numbers are incorrect.
2) What is the window decorations preference set to under "Appearance"?
3) What is hardware acceleration set to?
« Last Edit: November 13, 2014, 10:34:32 PM by Robert B Colton » Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) TheExDeus
Reply #162 Posted on: November 13, 2014, 07:20:15 PM

Developer
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1872

View Profile
Quote
1) Have you updated both enigma.jar and lateralgm.jar? Because it looks like your engima.jar is out of date, the reported line numbers are incorrect.
Yes. I downloaded the enigma.jar from wiki. I just did it again, but the same problem (as it's still 5 days old).

Quote
2) What is the window decorations preference set to under "Appearance"?
I have it turned off. I just enabled it and same problem. Then I turned it off again.

Quote
3) What is hardware acceleration set to?
Off.

The problem actually started before I upgraded. I just though upgrading might fixed it. It started for no apparent reason while I was editing an .egm and making the gui extension. The "Memory access violation" made me think the problem could be a lot deeper, like parsing one of the files I changed. But the stack trace doesn't show anything like that, so I don't know.
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #163 Posted on: November 13, 2014, 08:08:32 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
Does the error only happen when loading this specific EGM? Try loading a GMK or GMX or open ENIGMA without opening that EGM.

This stacktrace suggests it is something to do with definitions.
http://pastebin.com/tmqjBXWG

This stacktrace suggests the transitivity bug.
http://pastebin.com/Y8bBhFep

But we need to separate the two problems first, I need to know if one exists without the other which you can tell me by eliminating the EGM from the test.

Also I've made another quick update and improved load and save buttons. Update as usual.
http://enigma-dev.org/docs/Wiki/Install:Extra_Packages

* Load dialogs will now verify that the file exists and if it does not it will warn you to verify the file name. You will see this on all file dialogs, including the one for loading projects, images, sprites, game information, etc.
https://github.com/IsmAvatar/LateralGM/commit/4239d4caa97becf095a78ecf28b01249f9b90673
* Applied the same load dialog fix to JoshEdit to verify file names.
https://github.com/JoshDreamland/JoshEdit/pull/38
* Added an exception handler interface to JoshEdit to stop silent failings.
https://github.com/JoshDreamland/JoshEdit/pull/37
https://github.com/IsmAvatar/LateralGM/commit/2de5bb7cfad9ecb68e8fccf5ec07ce965b911166
* Save dialog on the background and sprite frame will now show a warning message if there is no image to save and tell you to create it first.
* Pulled a fix by sorlok for loading constants.
https://github.com/IsmAvatar/LateralGM/pull/172
* Added confirm overwrite dialog to JoshEdit and LGM file choosers when saving files to disk.
https://github.com/IsmAvatar/LateralGM/commit/f152da04b3430ac5a19b614ddcb2acd16fd570ee

This is what the new warning dialogs look like.
« Last Edit: November 14, 2014, 12:41:29 AM by Robert B Colton » Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) TheExDeus
Reply #164 Posted on: November 14, 2014, 03:03:16 AM

Developer
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1872

View Profile
Quote
Does the error only happen when loading this specific EGM? Try loading a GMK or GMX or open ENIGMA without opening that EGM.
No, I don't even load anything. It happens right when opening LGM.

edit: Jup, just as I thought. The problem is that I had an error in an include.h file. Instead of "gui_button_get_style(int id);" I got "gui_button_get_style(int id){", which broke the parser and then the error message (I think it was the error message) then broke LGM, because the error message needed some fancy borders or something. I think the parser shouldn't segfault on syntax errors like that. Josh (or anyone else doing parser stuff) should look into that.
« Last Edit: November 14, 2014, 03:06:35 AM by TheExDeus » Logged
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 »
  Print