Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 »
  Print  
Author Topic: LateralGM 1.8.6.844  (Read 42387 times)
Offline (Unknown gender) egofree
Reply #135 Posted on: November 07, 2014, 03:24:14 AM
Contributor
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 603

View Profile Email
I had similar problems several days ago, but i am was not sure if it was due to ENIGMA or not. This morning i installed the new version of LateralGM, and after several seconds i had again a black screen. As i saw nothing, i could not even use the tasks manager. I had to use the 'off' button of my computer. If you think it's due to the hardware acceleration, please disable it by default !
« Last Edit: November 07, 2014, 03:25:55 AM by egofree » Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #136 Posted on: November 07, 2014, 03:47:07 AM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
Heh, you don't understand, the default by the JVM is actually on if the hardware supports it. The real issue is further bugs down inside LGM like executing GUI/Swing code on the EDT. But I will be turning the default to forcing it off in the next release.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) egofree
Reply #137 Posted on: November 07, 2014, 04:56:56 AM
Contributor
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 603

View Profile Email
But i am not 100% sure. This week i had several updates for my Nvidia graphic drivers, and this could be the problem also.
« Last Edit: November 07, 2014, 02:56:57 PM by egofree » Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #138 Posted on: November 07, 2014, 04:29:24 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
Quick update with some small changes. You can update via python install.py or by manually downloading the new jars.
http://enigma-dev.org/docs/Wiki/Install:Extra_Packages

* The MDI area scrollbars are now only shown when needed, so when you maximize a frame they will not be visible, just like normal MDI managers and the one in GM8.1, giving just a little more space on screen.
https://github.com/IsmAvatar/LateralGM/commit/f995c9b91a94dc09877cf75ce15b2ed3789d6f73
* Hardware acceleration is now forced off by default again, though I still need you guys to run it with it on and report issues to me because regardless of whether or not we fix them they still exist and only get worse as time goes on, the whole point of what I'm trying to do is fix these bugs and eliminate them for good which I can't do if you guys don't report them.
* Fixed a regression I accidentally left in the source code that caused the MDI frames to have skinny title panes under some look and feels, when testing I was setting the UI property "isPalette" on the frames.
* Fixed class cast exception when changing the window decorations preference caused by having open MDI frames.
https://github.com/IsmAvatar/LateralGM/commit/08104f65f5f11b12b431a9808afa712da1dcd866

Quote from: egofree
But i am not 100% sure. This week i had several updates for my Nvidia graphic drivers, and this could be the problem also.
From my research it seems that users with Nvidia graphics cards have the most problems with Java2D's hardware acceleration. Regardless, I still need issues reported to me because either way I can try to fix what needs to be fixed, I do not want to sweep issues under the rug, that's how LGM got so buggy in the first place.
« Last Edit: November 08, 2014, 01:37:03 AM by Robert B Colton » Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) egofree
Reply #139 Posted on: November 08, 2014, 03:39:42 AM
Contributor
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 603

View Profile Email
What is the purpose of the event selector icon in main window (on the top-right) ? It doesn't seem to be implemented. If i click on an event, i've the following error : http://pastebin.com/4SeQtzBp.
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #140 Posted on: November 08, 2014, 04:46:21 AM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
If you click that button, it should raise the event tab, unless you set the preference to undock it in which case it shows the frame. Also, the latter error log does not help me, I have no way of reproducing that and failed in doing so, everything seems to be working here, I need exact steps.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) egofree
Reply #141 Posted on: November 08, 2014, 05:03:00 AM
Contributor
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 603

View Profile Email
I can't reproduce the error anymore. But why this event selector is in the main toolbar ? It's only for objects. It should be in the objects window. If you don't have an object open, it can't be used. This doesn't seem logical to me. This icon seems useless to me in this place. It is also displayed when you are in the objects events and you click on the modify button.
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #142 Posted on: November 09, 2014, 12:37:11 AM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
Here's another update that took me a while to complete. As always python install.py to update or manually download the jars from Extra Packages.
http://enigma-dev.org/docs/Wiki/Install:Extra_Packages

* Icon reading exception fixed by sorlok for some ico files that have empty/fake masks.
https://github.com/IsmAvatar/LateralGM/commit/304937f4ab31a3efae10f221feab29518f291879
https://github.com/IsmAvatar/LateralGM/issues/163
* Implemented undo and redo to the action list editors you can undo multiple actions such as move, cut, copy, paste, delete, and clear. The only thing that does not yet get undone is changes to the actions values, not even recognized yet as an undo operation.
https://github.com/IsmAvatar/LateralGM/commit/ed00e3885c1a6015ae0060a59cc20711865750b2
https://github.com/IsmAvatar/LateralGM/commit/f06e70a5157b9112ab47bb4f94d6d35ca6527156
https://github.com/IsmAvatar/LateralGM/commit/5f7ff9b3ce49ac37757981f95a354b490fe3fb4b
* Fixed exceptions for some file open dialogs when you enter a filename for a file that does not exist. This needs further cleaned up.
https://github.com/IsmAvatar/LateralGM/commit/e5785eff85ced88d09e6ce4389c1228e5b849dee
* Added APNG loading to the sprite and background editor, the file extension will need to be ".apng" for LGM to load all the subimages from it, or it will think it's a regular PNG. It can be used to mix GIF's and APNG's in the sprite editor. This required moving the APNG reader/writer from the plugin to LGM.
https://github.com/IsmAvatar/LateralGM/issues/114
https://github.com/enigma-dev/lgmplugin/commit/33e112c8667e38ff1cf63c679f379fd8e5d407bb
https://github.com/IsmAvatar/LateralGM/commit/e5785eff85ced88d09e6ce4389c1228e5b849dee

In the following image you can see I mixed a sonic GIF with another APNG image, and also loaded another APNG image separately.


I encourage everyone to experiment with the action list undo implementation and ensure that everything works as you would expect and that undoing/redoing does not throw any exceptions, try as hard as you can to break it. And remember, try to also make an example with steps that I can easily reproduce for me to fix it. This is a very tricky feature and requires careful analysis.

Quote from: egofree
can't reproduce the error anymore. But why this event selector is in the main toolbar ? It's only for objects. It should be in the objects window. If you don't have an object open, it can't be used. This doesn't seem logical to me. This icon seems useless to me in this place. It is also displayed when you are in the objects events and you click on the modify button.
It has been in there since LGM was first started egofree, it's kind of unique to the application, occasionally I click on the button as well to get the panel. If you think it should be removed you should discuss it with everyone else, I personally don't have an opinion on it either way because if you don't use it, it's not in your way so it shouldn't bother you.
« Last Edit: November 09, 2014, 06:23:16 AM by Robert B Colton » Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) egofree
Reply #143 Posted on: November 09, 2014, 04:06:28 AM
Contributor
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 603

View Profile Email
* Implemented undo and redo to the action list editors you can undo multiple actions such as move, cut, copy, paste, delete, and clear. The only thing that does not yet get undone is changes to the actions values, not even recognized yet as an undo operation.

What is the action list editors ?  :D
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #144 Posted on: November 09, 2014, 04:25:25 AM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
The drag and drop component that is on the timeline frame and object frame? Drag and drop actions, hence Action List editor.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) egofree
Reply #145 Posted on: November 09, 2014, 04:41:39 AM
Contributor
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 603

View Profile Email
The drag and drop component that is on the timeline frame and object frame? Drag and drop actions, hence Action List editor.

Ok, but how can the undo and redo can be accomplished ? I don't see any buttons for this.
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #146 Posted on: November 09, 2014, 06:14:59 AM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
The clipboard, CTRL+Z/CTRL+Y and also the context menu, Right Click->Undo/Redo just like GM: Studio
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) egofree
Reply #147 Posted on: November 09, 2014, 06:21:44 AM
Contributor
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 603

View Profile Email
Ok, i understand now. There is a problem with the focus. Within the objects window, if the actions list panel doesn't have the focus, the keyboards shortcuts don't work. I give an example : if you add several  new actions, and try CTRL-Z, it doesn't work if an action has not been selected before in the actions list panel.

Edit:
To be sure, just open a new objects window, and add directly new actions. It will not work. You have to select an action in the actions list panel. Would it be possible to link the shortcuts to the objects window and not the actions panel ?
« Last Edit: November 09, 2014, 06:26:39 AM by egofree » Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) egofree
Reply #148 Posted on: November 09, 2014, 06:42:44 AM
Contributor
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 603

View Profile Email
By the way, it doesn't seem good to have functions like the undo, which are not always present in every part of the program, if there is no indication for the user that it's available. So my advice would to add at buttons to show to the user that this function is available. I see two possibilities : first we add a specific tools bar to the objects window, or we add dynamically these buttons in the main toolbar (next to the events selector button).

Edit:
It's the same with the 'expand all', 'collapse all' functions within the search results. It seems to me dangerous to have functions only available in a context menu. I am sure a lot of people will never see that these functions are available.
« Last Edit: November 09, 2014, 06:51:20 AM by egofree » Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) egofree
Reply #149 Posted on: November 09, 2014, 06:47:28 AM
Contributor
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 603

View Profile Email
It has been in there since LGM was first started egofree, it's kind of unique to the application, occasionally I click on the button as well to get the panel. If you think it should be removed you should discuss it with everyone else, I personally don't have an opinion on it either way because if you don't use it, it's not in your way so it shouldn't bother you.

I sent an email to IsmAvatar about this.
Logged
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 »
  Print