Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 »
  Print  
Author Topic: LateralGM 1.8.6.844  (Read 42442 times)
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #105 Posted on: November 05, 2014, 11:44:18 AM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
Another update, I have fixed a ton of JoshEdit issues. As always you can update using python install.py or manually downloading the new jars.
http://enigma-dev.org/docs/Wiki/Install:Extra_Packages

1) The FindDialog will now be properly centered again as it always was.
https://github.com/IsmAvatar/LateralGM/commit/55530ef52e2105cdbab41bf43219735c8788e9e2
https://github.com/JoshDreamland/JoshEdit/pull/25
2) Fixed a shift+tab issue with selected text where you could make the selection go out of bounds and throw an exception.
https://github.com/JoshDreamland/JoshEdit/pull/24
3) Fixed the final issue with centering the caret, JoshEdit was not settings its preferred size when initialized, the caret will now be properly in view if you double click a search result on the very last line of a source. I actually have two patches for this submitted, I am not sure which one Josh will go with.
https://github.com/JoshDreamland/JoshEdit/pull/23
https://github.com/JoshDreamland/JoshEdit/pull/22
4) Attempted to fix some glitchiness with selection when you drag left to right or top to bottom past the last line or character of a line outside the window. The view used to jump around because the mouse scroller update object was not being properly stopped and we needed a view bounds check on setting the viewport.
https://github.com/JoshDreamland/JoshEdit/pull/21
« Last Edit: November 05, 2014, 11:54:38 AM by Robert B Colton » Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) The 11th plague of Egypt
Reply #106 Posted on: November 05, 2014, 12:05:13 PM
Member
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 276

View Profile
Wow!
Just one question, will automatic code refactoring be a part of JoshEdit?
That's one thing I kinda feel the need of when coding.
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #107 Posted on: November 05, 2014, 12:06:02 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
The 11th Plague, we've actually had another request for it recently, we will see down the line, I would personally like to see it in LGM/ENIGMA and I think it is a very important and useful feature. Thanks for your feedback, I also don't expect us to get refactoring in before major version 1.8.7, we haven't made any actual plans on implementing it just tossed around the idea.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) The 11th plague of Egypt
Reply #108 Posted on: November 05, 2014, 02:57:30 PM
Member
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 276

View Profile
The 11th Plague, we've actually had another request for it recently, we will see down the line, I would personally like to see it in LGM/ENIGMA and I think it is a very important and useful feature. Thanks for your feedback, I also don't expect us to get refactoring in before major version 1.8.7, we haven't made any actual plans on implementing it just tossed around the idea.
Thank you. Prioritization is good :pseudo:
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) egofree
Reply #109 Posted on: November 05, 2014, 04:00:56 PM
Contributor
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 603

View Profile Email
This is a screenshot of Enigma with the language set to English. As you can see, you can find labels in english and french, but i think i'ts because not all labels are translated. I am using Windows 7. And i started again the application, this doesn't change anything.



Edit:
This morning i was trying also ENIGMA on linux, and i didn't have this problem. All labels were in english.
« Last Edit: November 05, 2014, 04:06:15 PM by egofree » Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) egofree
Reply #110 Posted on: November 05, 2014, 04:05:14 PM
Contributor
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 603

View Profile Email
For the 'Decorate windows borders', it works for the swing theme, but not for the windows native theme. I think this is a problem. I mean if this setting works only for some themes, the user interface doesn't give you any advices about this, and i am afraid the user will be lost.
« Last Edit: November 05, 2014, 04:07:42 PM by egofree » Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #111 Posted on: November 05, 2014, 04:08:59 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
Quote from: egofree
This is a screenshot of Enigma with the language set to English. As you can see, you can find labels in english and french, but i think i'ts because not all labels are translated. I am using Windows 7. And i started again the application, this doesn't change anything.
That's a really weird bug that should not be happening, I wonder if it has to do with RESOURCE_BUNDLE being static?
https://github.com/IsmAvatar/LateralGM/blob/master/org/lateralgm/messages/Messages.java#L66

Quote from: egofree
For the 'Decorate windows borders', it works for the swing theme, but not for the windows native theme. I think this is a problem. I mean if this setting works only for some themes, the user interface doesn't give you any advices about this, and i am afraid the user will be lost.
It does, you have to restart, Switching from Swing theme to Native theme removes the Window borders, I can't do anything about that. It's because you started with decorations enabled which causes the frames to not even create a border but expand their size and have the look and feel paint it. So just restart and you should get native window borders, just like in the screenshot you just posted.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) egofree
Reply #112 Posted on: November 05, 2014, 04:11:03 PM
Contributor
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 603

View Profile Email
By the way, in you to do list, it would be cool to add for a future version a global replace.  :D
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #113 Posted on: November 05, 2014, 04:13:05 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
That's exactly what the 11th plague just requested, you're now the 4th person to suggest it, don't worry it is on my todo list.  (Y)
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) egofree
Reply #114 Posted on: November 05, 2014, 04:16:18 PM
Contributor
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 603

View Profile Email
That's exactly what the 11th plague just requested, you're now the 4th person to suggest it, don't worry it is on my todo list.  (Y)

Thanks. Anyway thank you again Robert for all you work. It's amazing how fast you can code, i hope you are not taking any illicit substance (cocaine ? ) to do this ! ;)
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) TheExDeus
Reply #115 Posted on: November 05, 2014, 04:47:09 PM

Developer
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1872

View Profile
Another thing you could add is searching resources themselves with the same search box. There is already a resource->find option in LGM, but it would be better to have it in the same tree style. Then that option could be removed.
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #116 Posted on: November 05, 2014, 06:55:15 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
What are you saying Harri? That you want to type in "obj_player" and have it find it in the tree? It already does that... That other menu has already become deprecated basically, just not removed, I am leaving it there because some people from old GM's may be upset when they look for it and can't find it. It can stay around until it gets stale.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #117 Posted on: November 06, 2014, 12:02:48 AM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
Quick update with some small changes. As always you can update using python install.py or manually downloading the new jars.
http://enigma-dev.org/docs/Wiki/Install:Extra_Packages

Josh made the find dialog behave like it does in Eclipse, it will center to the window the first time it is shown and then stay where the user closed it the next time it opens. JoshEdit also now prints the line numbers. I still recommend sending to OneNote or some similar program to preview before printing until this feature is further tested.
« Last Edit: November 06, 2014, 12:17:10 AM by Robert B Colton » Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) Darkstar2
Reply #118 Posted on: November 06, 2014, 01:01:03 AM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1244

View Profile Email
Ok time for some brutal honesty and I don't want to hurt any feelings, I realise that this is work in progress, but bare with what's to come.

After having tried the new ENIGMA + new LGM, everything up to date properly I must say I am very disappointed SO FAR... (I stress the SO FAR part).... To me it looks like many things were broken with the many updates to enigma and LGM and many regressions.

I made several demos back then all were working fine 100% all were made with ENIGMA from scratch and saved to EGM.  I can't bloody open ANY of them !  I sent Robert screen dumps of errors.  Ignoring the box I can see the resources and all....but here is what I went through so far:

#1) LGM is far worse now, less stable, crashes frequently, far more than it did, random closing, with java errors all over the place - still the motherF* (pardon my french) JVM memory errors, IO errors, crap.  IDE HELL! 

#2) Cannot run ANY of my previous demos, all were native EGM and worked fine.

#3) A LOT of shit does not compile, spitting errors that it cannot find the libinclude.h ! or other weird errors

#4) hitting buttons or using IDE for a while spits more rubbish windows full of errors.

This is from a CLEAN install, cleaned temp files, cleaned programdata area, replaced with recent JARs, updated, I know the drill done it before.

What the bloody hell did I miss ?
and no I am still on Java 7 not 8 so can't blame it on 7......

A bit disappointed I feel this project is regressing :( - more and more I am beginning to hate Java ! :)
BTW enigma plugin is at fault but I tried running it without the plugin and STILL it's bad....so some recent changes in LGM have broken many things and it didn't taking me extensive testing to trigger those. 


I have not done ANY changes to my system since, and everything was working fine, well LGM was flakey but I could compile and run stuff.

What did I miss or do wrong, ,my EGM demo was a simple, basic functionality test and it does not work AT ALL now.

« Last Edit: November 06, 2014, 01:04:23 AM by Darkstar2 » Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #119 Posted on: November 06, 2014, 01:05:43 AM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
Quote from: Darkstar2
What the bloody hell did I miss ?
You downloaded both the new plugin and LGM jar correct? Open git-bash and enter "cd enigma-dev" "git fetch" and "git pull"

You also need the engine updates, the EGM format has had some changes, I can fix your projects and PM them back to you.

It would also help if you could http://www.pastie.org or http://www.pastebin.com some of these errors after attempting the above.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 »
  Print