Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Iji is now in Beta! Please test~  (Read 5948 times)
Offline (Unknown gender) sorlok_reaves
Posted on: September 01, 2014, 01:35:57 AM
Contributor
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 261

View Profile
I'm pleased to announce that Iji is now officially in beta. The game is playable through to the end, and the remaining bugs, while numerous, are all relatively minor. Check out the promo video here; these videos were all captured from the ENIGMA version of the game:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6KBIEgOduZk&feature=youtu.be

This also means that I'm providing binaries, so you don't have to go through the arduous task of compiling Iji yourself. Check the wiki for more info. And please help to test the game and file bug reports if you are interested.
https://bitbucket.org/sethhetu/iji_enigma/wiki/Home

The video is currently not public, as I am unsure if I used the correct logos for Lateral GM and ENIGMA (or if I forgot to credit anything). Please let me know if there's any press guidelines on using the ENIGMA/Lateral GM logos. (I'd like to give credit where credit is due, but I'm not sure if there are any restrictions regarding this.) I'll upload a finalized video once everyone's happy.

I was hoping to have OS-X binaries available, but I can't stall development any longer (the other two OS's have been ready for a week). My goal is to get OS-X (and eventually Android) included into the beta, so that everyone can enjoy this wonderful game.

Thanks again to everyone who helped make this possible!
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) TheExDeus
Reply #1 Posted on: September 01, 2014, 07:33:54 AM

Developer
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1886

View Profile
I don't have any problems with the logo used. And I very happy you got it working. I think many Linux Iji fans will be very happy (which you can find at the forums of the official dev). I think you should post there as well and see their interest. I personally have played Iji only once, and that was years ago. I guess this is a good time as any to play again. :)

Iji also has a wikipedia page which mentions other people tries to get it working on Linux. I guess this is a way for ENIGMA to be mentioned on the wikipedia as well. :D
Logged
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #2 Posted on: September 01, 2014, 09:23:32 AM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2947

View Profile Email
Excellent news!

A curiosity is that I don't technically own the ENIGMA logo, myself. I suspect you won't encounter any problems using it, though; its author gave it to me and, in fact, doesn't like it anymore from what I can tell. So go for it. No credit is necessary, of course, though we (or at least I) appreciate it.

In the end, was any modification to the original Iji source required? I'm also interested in trying to make sure your changes to the engine continue working, moving forward. We can deal with that after the launch, though. Congrats! Well done.
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Unknown gender) sorlok_reaves
Reply #3 Posted on: September 01, 2014, 12:07:35 PM
Contributor
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 261

View Profile
I don't have any problems with the logo used. And I very happy you got it working. I think many Linux Iji fans will be very happy (which you can find at the forums of the official dev). I think you should post there as well and see their interest.

Thanks, I will definitely post on the official forums too.


In the end, was any modification to the original Iji source required? I'm also interested in trying to make sure your changes to the engine continue working, moving forward. We can deal with that after the launch, though. Congrats! Well done.

Iji's source required a few modifications, such as replacing "\" with "/" for file paths. I also had to fix things like "var try = 1;", which would cause the compiler to choke. In the end the number of modifications to Iji's source were trivial.

I'm also interested in making sure that my changes keep working. There are still plenty of bugs in the beta, so I'm not going to disappear or anything.



Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) egofree
Reply #4 Posted on: September 01, 2014, 01:46:27 PM
Contributor
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 607

View Profile Email
I tried the game on Windows 7, and when i start the game, i've the following error : 'OpenAL32.dll is missing'.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) sorlok_reaves
Reply #5 Posted on: September 01, 2014, 02:02:03 PM
Contributor
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 261

View Profile
Thanks for the error report; I'll find the cross-compiled DLL and get back to you.
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #6 Posted on: September 01, 2014, 02:50:04 PM

Contributor
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3065

View Profile
This is excellent news and I am going to finally take a chance to play the game, I have started the download now and will post back with more details including my first review of the game ever.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) sorlok_reaves
Reply #7 Posted on: September 01, 2014, 03:09:36 PM
Contributor
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 261

View Profile
@egofree: Can you drop this DLL into the same folder as iji_beta1.exe and see if that fixes your problem:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B1P7NepPcOslMHNvOFBSLVQ2NzQ

I've checked with ProcessExplorer, and that should be the only non-Microsoft DLL besides pthreads.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) TheExDeus
Reply #8 Posted on: September 01, 2014, 04:40:30 PM

Developer
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1886

View Profile
On Windows the dll is included in the .exe. I don't know if that is possible when cross-compiling.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) sorlok_reaves
Reply #9 Posted on: September 01, 2014, 04:50:20 PM
Contributor
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 261

View Profile
I can always try statically linking it. Actually, this might be the cause of my mp3 error, if I'm lucky (good ol' DLL hell).

Suppose I should fire up an XP virtual machine, instead of the Windows 7 VM I was using for testing.
Logged
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #10 Posted on: September 01, 2014, 10:09:31 PM
Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1124

View Profile WWW Email
It's odd that this game was ported so quickly with very few and minor problems yet not a single one of my projects work in ENIGMA, even with the fact Iji is a lot more complex and huge of a project than all my projects combined.

Anyways, you've done great! I'm so happy you made it this far so quickly! :D

Cheers.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) daz
Reply #11 Posted on: September 01, 2014, 11:43:51 PM
Contributor
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 170

View Profile
It's odd that this game was ported so quickly with very few and minor problems yet not a single one of my projects work in ENIGMA, even with the fact Iji is a lot more complex and huge of a project than all my projects combined.
Sorlok has put a lot of work into making it work, mainly fixing bugs and adding additional features on the back end of ENIGMA. If you had the willpower and time you might be able to do the same for some of your projects that don't work ;)
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) sorlok_reaves
Reply #12 Posted on: September 02, 2014, 12:24:12 AM
Contributor
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 261

View Profile
It's odd that this game was ported so quickly with very few and minor problems yet not a single one of my projects work in ENIGMA, even with the fact Iji is a lot more complex and huge of a project than all my projects combined.

Anyways, you've done great! I'm so happy you made it this far so quickly! :D

Cheers.

Thanks, and good luck with your work! There were definitely weeks (months?) where I got nothing done on this, so don't worry too much. Keep at it, and I'm sure you'll get your projects working in ENIGMA!
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) sorlok_reaves
Reply #13 Posted on: September 02, 2014, 01:07:10 AM
Contributor
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 261

View Profile
EDIT: I've updated the Windows EXE to include OpenAL32.dll, which seems (from my testing) to be the only DLL missing.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) egofree
Reply #14 Posted on: September 02, 2014, 01:26:46 PM
Contributor
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 607

View Profile Email
I don't have anymore the error.
Congratulations for your work, it's very impressive. I don't have much time right now, but i will try later. Just a remark, at the beginning it says : press enter to run in fullscreen mode, but it doesn't seem to work.
« Last Edit: September 02, 2014, 01:36:02 PM by egofree » Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print