Pages: 1 2 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Linux Requirements  (Read 3088 times)
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Posted on: August 13, 2014, 12:57:27 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1157

View Profile Email
What flavors of Linux does ENIGMA officially support? I know Ubuntu and Mint are, any others? Does it work on ALL major distros? Is is version spevific? IE works only on Ubuntu 12.10 or above? These things are important to know before anyone will consider ENIGMA for real Linux development.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) onpon
Reply #1 Posted on: August 13, 2014, 01:20:08 PM

Member
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 102

View Profile WWW Email
This is a nonsensical question. Why would you expect only certain distributions of the same basic system to work with ENIGMA? The only version-specific requirements would be for the dependencies, and neither GNU nor Linux is a dependency. Even if a distro doesn't include ENIGMA's dependencies, you can get them yourself.

On the other hand, if you're just talking about what distros ENIGMA binaries are distributed for by the ENIGMA devs, that's kind of self-documenting, is it not? Obviously, if an Ubuntu 12.10 package doesn't exist, Ubuntu 12.10 isn't supported that way.
« Last Edit: August 13, 2014, 01:22:55 PM by onpon » Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) egofree
Reply #2 Posted on: August 13, 2014, 02:12:00 PM
Contributor
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 603

View Profile Email
I can't answer to your question, but i can tell you that it's not possible for the moment to use ENIGMA with KDE based distros : https://github.com/IsmAvatar/LateralGM/issues/124
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) sorlok_reaves
Reply #3 Posted on: August 13, 2014, 02:21:03 PM
Contributor
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 261

View Profile
The question is complicated by the GUI-compiler interactions. For example, the bug listed by egofree is actually a weird bug with the Plugin interface between LGM and ENIGMA. (In other words, the "command line interface" might still work on KDE systems, but I've never tried it.)

Ostensibly, there's nothing standing in the way of ENIGMA working on, say, Fedora. The BSDs may be another story. I think the majority of our Linux users are working on Debian-based distros.

Oh, I've also compiled it on Arch Linux.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) fervi
Reply #4 Posted on: August 13, 2014, 04:26:39 PM
Member
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 78

View Profile Email
What flavors of Linux does ENIGMA officially support? I know Ubuntu and Mint are, any others? Does it work on ALL major distros? Is is version spevific? IE works only on Ubuntu 12.10 or above? These things are important to know before anyone will consider ENIGMA for real Linux development.

Linux needs only a libs in propertly versions - Windows too

If your game use functions from very old Debian - the game can be played in old Debian.
But techically it should works in new versions of Linux (with new packages) like Debian Testing or Fedora

Fervi
Logged
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #5 Posted on: August 13, 2014, 04:55:32 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1157

View Profile Email
This is a nonsensical question. Why would you expect only certain distributions of the same basic system to work with ENIGMA? The only version-specific requirements would be for the dependencies, and neither GNU nor Linux is a dependency. Even if a distro doesn't include ENIGMA's dependencies, you can get them yourself.

On the other hand, if you're just talking about what distros ENIGMA binaries are distributed for by the ENIGMA devs, that's kind of self-documenting, is it not? Obviously, if an Ubuntu 12.10 package doesn't exist, Ubuntu 12.10 isn't supported that way.
More like onpon's reply was nonsensical.

System requirements are important. You shouldn't have to pretend otherwise. GameMaker:Studio only targets Ubuntu 12.10 or above distrobutions. While with ENIGMA, there should be a genral platform itofficially supports. People who aren't total nerds don't know how to install dependencies through the Terminal. Most poeple who use a computer in their everyday lives don't understand what terminal or command line even is, let alone how to use it, and don't forget most earthlings who have a life outside of the computer will probably never care to learn more or find out what these complicated things are. The ignorance isn't a good thing, but it's far too common for us to not cater to.

@ everyone esle - well there you go no one here knows. Doesn't surprise me :P But it's not a big deal depending on how you look at it.
Logged
Offline (Male) edsquare
Reply #6 Posted on: August 13, 2014, 05:25:54 PM

Member
Location: The throne of ringworld
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 402

View Profile
This is a nonsensical question. Why would you expect only certain distributions of the same basic system to work with ENIGMA? The only version-specific requirements would be for the dependencies, and neither GNU nor Linux is a dependency. Even if a distro doesn't include ENIGMA's dependencies, you can get them yourself.

On the other hand, if you're just talking about what distros ENIGMA binaries are distributed for by the ENIGMA devs, that's kind of self-documenting, is it not? Obviously, if an Ubuntu 12.10 package doesn't exist, Ubuntu 12.10 isn't supported that way.
More like onpon's reply was nonsensical.

System requirements are important. You shouldn't have to pretend otherwise. GameMaker:Studio only targets Ubuntu 12.10 or above distrobutions. While with ENIGMA, there should be a genral platform itofficially supports. People who aren't total nerds don't know how to install dependencies through the Terminal. Most poeple who use a computer in their everyday lives don't understand what terminal or command line even is, let alone how to use it, and don't forget most earthlings who have a life outside of the computer will probably never care to learn more or find out what these complicated things are. The ignorance isn't a good thing, but it's far too common for us to not cater to.

@ everyone esle - well there you go no one here knows. Doesn't surprise me :P But it's not a big deal depending on how you look at it.

But most linux distros come with a package manager a la synaptic, and to go to your terminal and do "sudo apt-get install whatever", is not that hard, the problems may present when you need an older library and it's not in your repos. Since neither LGM or ENIGMA are packaged software, you only need to install the dependencies, download the zip and run install.py.

And if you run into any trouble then you use google or go to the forum and ask for help.

If you installed using a deb/rpm package, then you almost always need to know if it's for the version of the distro you're using, when you install from source this almost never is a problem.
Logged
A child of five would understand this. Send someone to fetch a child of five.
Groucho Marx
Offline (Unknown gender) onpon
Reply #7 Posted on: August 13, 2014, 05:47:13 PM

Member
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 102

View Profile WWW Email
System requirements are important. You shouldn't have to pretend otherwise.

I don't pretend otherwise, but ENIGMA's requirement isn't something like "Ubuntu 12.10 or later". That's overly specific. Particular versions of each dependency are required. Some distros have those dependencies, and some don't. But there's no need to pretend that ENIGMA only works with Debian-based systems, much less a particular version of Debian, just because it's what ENIGMA's developers use and test ENIGMA on.

Most libre programs claim GNU/Linux support with libraries X, Y, and Z, then tell you exactly how to easily compile/install the program on a common system like Debian so that those on that system don't have to search for libraries X, Y, and Z. I suspect Game Maker is only claimed to have Ubuntu support because it's easier to support just Ubuntu than GNU/Linux in general. It's not something a program that's offered "as-is" at no cost has to deal with.

Quote
Most poeple who use a computer in their everyday lives don't understand what terminal or command line even is, let alone how to use it, and don't forget most earthlings who have a life outside of the computer will probably never care to learn more or find out what these complicated things are.

That level of hand-holding is the job of a distributor (e.g. Canonical in the case of Ubuntu).

Some projects provide packages for e.g. Debian or Ubuntu, but what does that have to do with documenting "system requirements"? A package being available for Ubuntu 12.04 but not Ubuntu 12.10 and not Fedora doesn't mean that the program can't work on Ubuntu 12.10 or Fedora, it just means that Ubuntu 12.10 and Fedora users have to install it a more difficult way.
Logged
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #8 Posted on: August 13, 2014, 07:49:25 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1157

View Profile Email
This seems to be a lot more involved than I thought. I suppose your right. My head hurts. This is too deep.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) sorlok_reaves
Reply #9 Posted on: August 13, 2014, 11:11:52 PM
Contributor
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 261

View Profile
This seems to be a lot more involved than I thought. I suppose your right. My head hurts. This is too deep.

I guess a related question is: are you trying to get ENIGMA working on a particular distro?
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #10 Posted on: August 13, 2014, 11:14:57 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3107

View Profile
egofree, did you prepare a patch with a custom comparator? If that solves the error I'd like to go ahead and pull that for now, or since you have commit access go ahead and do that as it is better than no solution and the software being unusable, so go ahead and fix it. If you want of course, please, lol :)
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) egofree
Reply #11 Posted on: August 14, 2014, 02:18:33 AM
Contributor
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 603

View Profile Email
egofree, did you prepare a patch with a custom comparator? If that solves the error I'd like to go ahead and pull that for now, or since you have commit access go ahead and do that as it is better than no solution and the software being unusable, so go ahead and fix it. If you want of course, please, lol :)

Well, first, recently you said you were still thinking about a good solution for this. :D Then, the focus manager i've found on internet is not really ready, as the focus is no more functioning on the toolbar. So this means there is more work needed on this. I spent already many hours on this problem, and for the moment i don't feel very motivated to work on this. :(
« Last Edit: August 14, 2014, 09:06:46 AM by egofree » Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) egofree
Reply #12 Posted on: August 14, 2014, 02:47:32 AM
Contributor
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 603

View Profile Email
Robert, let's make a deal  :D :  when i will have finished the new instance's properties (scaling, rotation, alpha) in the rooms editor, i will work again on this problem. Now i would be very grateful if you could work on the multiple views problem in OpenGL. I know that you are very busy, but you said that this is a very simple problem to fix : it is just the buffer which needs to be swapped. What do you think ?  :D
« Last Edit: August 14, 2014, 02:49:17 AM by egofree » Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #13 Posted on: August 14, 2014, 10:32:53 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3107

View Profile
Oh I understand egofree, I assumed at least some of the basic behavior of the toolbar would function. It would be better to wait after the room stuff, I do agree, one thing at a time. Here is what I think we should do for now, find out how we can see if the OS is a KDE distro and if it is then we useLegacyMergeSort and on all other systems we just use the regular behavior.

Also, I did make an attempt at fixing that multiple views issue and there is something funky about it, I did test all the draw clear calls as well as screen refresh and had no success at all with it. I can take another crack at it sometime though.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) egofree
Reply #14 Posted on: August 15, 2014, 01:31:12 PM
Contributor
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 603

View Profile Email
Also, I did make an attempt at fixing that multiple views issue and there is something funky about it, I did test all the draw clear calls as well as screen refresh and had no success at all with it. I can take another crack at it sometime though.

Thanks for trying. I appreciate.  :)
« Last Edit: August 15, 2014, 01:38:52 PM by egofree » Logged
Pages: 1 2 »
  Print