Pages: 1 2 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Cabin Fever Escape 3D  (Read 5047 times)
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Posted on: August 07, 2014, 07:25:18 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1157

View Profile Email
Videos

[OFFICIAL GAMEPLAY SPOILER]


Screenshots







Downloads

[DOWNLOAD FOR WINDOWS]
[DOWNLOAD FOR MACINTOSH]
[DOWNLOAD FOR LINUX]
[MORE FREE GAMES]


Product Features

•Official website - www.timekillergames.weebly.com
•General parody of the typical low-budget escape game
•Poorly modeled, poorly textured, poorly materialed visuals
•Find all strangely hidden keys before the cabin rental expires
•Original repetitive banjo soundtrack by Jared Johnson
•Beautiful title screen animation text that is not legible
•A really stinky surprise for the whole family to enjoy


Product Description

Oh no! You're locked in your vacation cabin! Escape the cabin fever in this point-and-click escape game based on a real vacation cabin in Louis Mountain, Virginia (US). This would have been an online game, so you wouldn't have to download anything, but, it runs way too slow online so much that it's not playable. Since you download the files locally on your computer, the game should run properly.
Logged
Offline (Male) edsquare
Reply #1 Posted on: August 07, 2014, 07:50:27 PM

Member
Location: The throne of ringworld
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 402

View Profile
My two cents:

Very nice website you've got!

Regarding this game the screen is too big and can't be resized, some pointers as to how to turn, zoom in and out, open drawers, etc would be nice at the start of the game (I got cabin fever trying to get stuff done!  :D ), this of course on linuxmint, don't know if it's the same on windows, my monitor is 1280x720 so....
Logged
A child of five would understand this. Send someone to fetch a child of five.
Groucho Marx
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #2 Posted on: August 07, 2014, 08:01:06 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1157

View Profile Email
Thank you for the feedback and compliment! :D The clicking and navigation is more obvious on windows and mac, because their WebView control supports changing the cursor from javascript. The Linux version was made in Qt which doesn't support changing the cursor with javascript. It helps a lot having the cursor change to a hand when your cursor goes over a clickable hotspot. The size can't be changed I'm afraid. I wouldn't just need to resize the game window, I would need to scale the images and every clickable hotspot coordinate which would be a nightmare (math isn't my thing).

Thanks for playing! :D
« Last Edit: August 07, 2014, 08:03:06 PM by time-killer-games » Logged
Offline (Male) edsquare
Reply #3 Posted on: August 07, 2014, 08:31:29 PM

Member
Location: The throne of ringworld
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 402

View Profile
Thank you for the feedback and compliment! :D The clicking and navigation is more obvious on windows and mac, because their WebView control supports changing the cursor from javascript. The Linux version was made in Qt which doesn't support changing the cursor with javascript. It helps a lot having the cursor change to a hand when your cursor goes over a clickable hotspot. The size can't be changed I'm afraid. I wouldn't just need to resize the game window, I would need to scale the images and every clickable hotspot coordinate which would be a nightmare (math isn't my thing).

Thanks for playing! :D

Okey, will try it again when I get a bigger screen or when I finally put together my multimedia center  :D

Regardding the cursor changes... Could you put something that is invisible and becomes visible when the cursor passes over it? Some knid of glow or a star or a dick that guides the player on linux? if you do this you can have the exact same look and feel on all systems, and I suspect you wouldn't need anything else but enigma (Or was it GMS?) :D

About resizing the window... If you detect the screen height and take that as a variable, then you take your game window height and do a (Regla de tres in spanish) you take the two known quantities and multiply one by 100 and divide the result by the other known, this gives you the percentage of your game window's height that is the screen window then you resize everything by that percentage, this should leave everything in site but resized (I think)  ;D
Logged
A child of five would understand this. Send someone to fetch a child of five.
Groucho Marx
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #4 Posted on: August 07, 2014, 08:55:31 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1157

View Profile Email
I'm not going to resize it, that process is just way too involved and a lot of mesmerizing code to look through, that of which I didn't write, (98% of the HTML/JS/CSS code was auto-genterated by a very simple IDE that targets non-programmers).

But what i will do is make the hotspots glow on linux if it's going to be as easy as I'm expecting. Hopefully that should fix everything up but I have a lot on my plate right now, I'm seeking to finish ALL projects showcased on my website before the end of the second quater of 2015.

Wish me luck. :D
« Last Edit: August 07, 2014, 08:57:03 PM by time-killer-games » Logged
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #5 Posted on: August 16, 2014, 06:18:48 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1157

View Profile Email
edsquare, the resolution is still huge, however, I did manage a semi-decent method to change the cursor. It's looking like my only option with using QtWebKit. The cursor starts as the default. When you click on a loading screen, the cursor changes to a wait cursor. When you click on a clickable hotspot the cursor will change to indicate you clicked an area that actually did something.When you click on something that doesn't do anything, i.e. not on a hotspot the cursor changes to the default. Of course it would be much better if it would change when the mouse if hovering over something important, instead of only reponding after clicks, but Qt doesn't work like that. :'( Boo hoo
Logged
Offline (Male) edsquare
Reply #6 Posted on: August 16, 2014, 11:06:03 PM

Member
Location: The throne of ringworld
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 402

View Profile
edsquare, the resolution is still huge, however, I did manage a semi-decent method to change the cursor. It's looking like my only option with using QtWebKit. The cursor starts as the default. When you click on a loading screen, the cursor changes to a wait cursor. When you click on a clickable hotspot the cursor will change to indicate you clicked an area that actually did something.When you click on something that doesn't do anything, i.e. not on a hotspot the cursor changes to the default. Of course it would be much better if it would change when the mouse if hovering over something important, instead of only reponding after clicks, but Qt doesn't work like that. :'( Boo hoo

Are you sure? the hover event doesn't help you?

Also the hasmouselistener could help or maybe this can give you a clue:

Code: [Select]
// At the original click location we draw a 4 arrowed icon. Over this icon there won't be any scroll
// So we don't want to change the cursor over this area
bool east = m_panScrollStartPos.x() < (m_currentMousePosition.x() - ScrollView::noPanScrollRadius);
bool west = m_panScrollStartPos.x() > (m_currentMousePosition.x() + ScrollView::noPanScrollRadius);
bool north = m_panScrollStartPos.y() > (m_currentMousePosition.y() + ScrollView::noPanScrollRadius);
bool south = m_panScrollStartPos.y() < (m_currentMousePosition.y() - ScrollView::noPanScrollRadius);
if ((east || west || north || south) && m_panScrollButtonPressed)
m_springLoadedPanScrollInProgress = true;
if (north) {
if (east)
view->setCursor(northEastPanningCursor());
else if (west)
view->setCursor(northWestPanningCursor());
else
view->setCursor(northPanningCursor());
} else if (south) {
if (east)
view->setCursor(southEastPanningCursor());
else if (west)
view->setCursor(southWestPanningCursor());
else
view->setCursor(southPanningCursor());
} else if (east)
view->setCursor(eastPanningCursor());
else if (west)
view->setCursor(westPanningCursor());
else
view->setCursor(middlePanningCursor());
}
« Last Edit: August 16, 2014, 11:12:39 PM by edsquare » Logged
A child of five would understand this. Send someone to fetch a child of five.
Groucho Marx
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #7 Posted on: August 17, 2014, 01:21:20 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1157

View Profile Email
Thank you so much edsquare! But while normally that would work, I'm not changing the cursor with Qt C++, it's a Qt HTML5 container application, so all cursor changing is being done in JavaScript based on the mouseover event on a clickable hotspot. I recreated the project as a duplicate to check what options I have for creating a new project, there was a check box labeled "Enable touch optimized navigation" which seemed to disable the right click menu, which gives a more native feel, good, and it enabled the JavaScript cursor changing to work partially how it should, great. But it's not changed by the mouseover event, it's only triggered after a click. To be honest I don't know what the purpose of that "Enable touch optimized navigation" check box is even used for if it can't set the cursor correctly. :'( oh poo
« Last Edit: August 17, 2014, 01:35:36 PM by time-killer-games » Logged
Offline (Male) edsquare
Reply #8 Posted on: August 17, 2014, 01:43:43 PM

Member
Location: The throne of ringworld
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 402

View Profile
Thank you so much edsquare! But while normally that would work, I'm not changing the cursor with Qt C++, it's a Qt HTML5 container application, so all cursor changing is being done in JavaScript based on the mouseover event on a clickable hotspot. I recreated the project as a duplicate to check what options I have for creating a new project, there was a check box labeled "Enable touch optimized navigation" which seemed to disable the right click menu, which gives a more native feel, good, and it enabled the JavaScript cursor changing to work partially how it should, great. But it's not changed by the mouseover event, it's only triggered after a click. To be honest I don't know what the purpose of that "Enable touch optimized navigation" check box is even used for if it can't set the cursor correctly. :'( oh poo

HTML5 + JavaScript?

Are you using CSS? If so there are ways to achieve that in CSS, also why not check if HTML5 lets you do what you want?
Logged
A child of five would understand this. Send someone to fetch a child of five.
Groucho Marx
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #9 Posted on: August 17, 2014, 03:04:56 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1157

View Profile Email
Well I just checked an HTML file and realized it's been quite a while since I initially added cursor changing, and turns it it was done in a CSS style and not in JavaScript. HTML5 does support this according to w3schools. It's something jacked up with the QtWebKit. Oh well. What I have is close enough, thank you edsquare for the help! Though this issue isn't fixed I don't want to eat up more of your time. :D

Cheers.
« Last Edit: August 17, 2014, 03:08:22 PM by time-killer-games » Logged
Offline (Male) edsquare
Reply #10 Posted on: August 18, 2014, 11:00:29 AM

Member
Location: The throne of ringworld
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 402

View Profile
Well I just checked an HTML file and realized it's been quite a while since I initially added cursor changing, and turns it it was done in a CSS style and not in JavaScript. HTML5 does support this according to w3schools. It's something jacked up with the QtWebKit. Oh well. What I have is close enough, thank you edsquare for the help! Though this issue isn't fixed I don't want to eat up more of your time. :D

Cheers.

In other words : "I'm not gonna fix it ok? stop bugging me!"  :D
Logged
A child of five would understand this. Send someone to fetch a child of five.
Groucho Marx
Offline (Unknown gender) Darkstar2
Reply #11 Posted on: August 18, 2014, 12:08:58 PM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1244

View Profile Email
Well I just checked an HTML file and realized it's been quite a while since I initially added cursor changing, and turns it it was done in a CSS style and not in JavaScript. HTML5 does support this according to w3schools. It's something jacked up with the QtWebKit. Oh well. What I have is close enough, thank you edsquare for the help! Though this issue isn't fixed I don't want to eat up more of your time. :D

Cheers.

In other words : "I'm not gonna fix it ok? stop bugging me!"  :D

Looks like you took a quote directly from the YYG's handbook :P  :D
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) daz
Reply #12 Posted on: August 18, 2014, 01:07:47 PM
Contributor
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 167

View Profile
I wasn't able to get very far, but it seemed that most times when I clicked somewhere to go it would bring me somewhere else or zoom in too far for me to even tell what I was looking at. I don't know if it's a bug in the Windows version of the game or if I'm just bad at it :p.
Logged
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #13 Posted on: August 18, 2014, 06:14:45 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1157

View Profile Email
Well I just checked an HTML file and realized it's been quite a while since I initially added cursor changing, and turns it it was done in a CSS style and not in JavaScript. HTML5 does support this according to w3schools. It's something jacked up with the QtWebKit. Oh well. What I have is close enough, thank you edsquare for the help! Though this issue isn't fixed I don't want to eat up more of your time. :D

Cheers.

In other words : "I'm not gonna fix it ok? stop bugging me!"  :D

Looks like you took a quote directly from the YYG's handbook :P  :D
I am the great and mighty poo and I am going to throw my shit on you



@daz this game is an all-out parody. The genre is known for having frustratingly difficult and confusing navigation. If you're a major fan of classics like 'Myst' and 'Riven' by Cyan Inc or 'The Filmmaker' by Christopher Brendel you'd feel right at home.
« Last Edit: August 18, 2014, 06:23:34 PM by time-killer-games » Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) Darkstar2
Reply #14 Posted on: August 18, 2014, 07:41:30 PM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1244

View Profile Email
I'm a fan of MYST and have the boxes gathering dust and spider webs on my shelf :P  I did not notice any difficult navigation in fact I was amazed, and this is one type of game I'd love to do in ENIGMA, I have the coding knowledge to get this done, but there is still missing surface video rendering, currently there is one sold on the YYG marketplace, where you can blend video and game elements together, and its source code sold for $999 LOL!

Logged
Pages: 1 2 »
  Print