Pages: 1
  Print  
Author Topic: Desktop Launcher error on linux  (Read 1598 times)
Offline (Male) edsquare
Posted on: July 24, 2014, 04:45:49 PM

Member
Location: The throne of ringworld
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 402

View Profile
Created the launcher by right clicking on the desktop and pointing to lateralgm.jar, it launches but it gives me this error:

Can't update ENIGMA.

Enigma can't execute because your platform isn't recognized or there are not 'make' definitions for your platform.


Code: [Select]
Operating System: Linux
Version: 3.13.0-32-generic
Architecture: i386

Java Vendor: Oracle Corporation
Version: 1.7.0_55

Available processors (cores): 2
Free memory (bytes): 7356624
Maximum memory (bytes): 518979584
Total memory available to JVM (bytes): 28389376

File system root: /
Total space (bytes): 105670909952
Free space (bytes): 25932128256
Usable space (bytes): 20557529088

Stack trace:

I'm using LinuxMint 17 Quiana which is the latest LTS LinuxMint version, LGM says it's the 1.8.5 version.
Logged
A child of five would understand this. Send someone to fetch a child of five.
Groucho Marx
Offline (Male) edsquare
Reply #1 Posted on: July 25, 2014, 01:55:03 PM

Member
Location: The throne of ringworld
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 402

View Profile
Also when I launch ENIGMA from the desktop shortcut I can't run, compile, debug a game; since those functions are not available unless I launch it with the run enigma bash script.  :(
Logged
A child of five would understand this. Send someone to fetch a child of five.
Groucho Marx
Offline (Unknown gender) TheExDeus
Reply #2 Posted on: July 25, 2014, 02:09:54 PM

Developer
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1872

View Profile
I guess it's something to do with working directory. Maybe the shortcut makes LGM to run in the desktop as working dir? Does your shortcuts have any options? On Windows every shortcut has a "Start in" parameter, which specifies where the exe is actually launched in. In your case it should be where LGM is located.
Logged
Offline (Male) edsquare
Reply #3 Posted on: July 25, 2014, 03:15:50 PM

Member
Location: The throne of ringworld
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 402

View Profile
I guess it's something to do with working directory. Maybe the shortcut makes LGM to run in the desktop as working dir? Does your shortcuts have any options? On Windows every shortcut has a "Start in" parameter, which specifies where the exe is actually launched in. In your case it should be where LGM is located.

Not sure if it's the same as your start in parameter, but it has a path to the executable, it does find it and launches it but it doesn't allow scripting, debugging, runing and much less compiling.  :-\
Logged
A child of five would understand this. Send someone to fetch a child of five.
Groucho Marx
Offline (Unknown gender) TheExDeus
Reply #4 Posted on: July 25, 2014, 04:06:45 PM

Developer
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1872

View Profile
Well the path is to the executable, but WHERE does the executable gets run from? Even in Linux, when you call a program it's called from current directory. So the question is it looking for the .so (the ENIGMA has a ".dll" on Linux right?) in the folder with the executable, or is it looking for it on the desktop? And it is looking for the plugin on the desktop? So the thing called "working directory" as it is called on Windows, is very important. But I am not sure how it works in Linux and how to change that.
Logged
Offline (Male) edsquare
Reply #5 Posted on: July 25, 2014, 04:11:42 PM

Member
Location: The throne of ringworld
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 402

View Profile
Well the path is to the executable, but WHERE does the executable gets run from? Even in Linux, when you call a program it's called from current directory. So the question is it looking for the .so (the ENIGMA has a ".dll" on Linux right?) in the folder with the executable, or is it looking for it on the desktop? And it is looking for the plugin on the desktop? So the thing called "working directory" as it is called on Windows, is very important. But I am not sure how it works in Linux and how to change that.

Now I get it  :D The executable is not on the same directory as the shortcut, so I need to put the enigma folder on the desktop too, will do that and see if it works.

Thank you!
Logged
A child of five would understand this. Send someone to fetch a child of five.
Groucho Marx
Offline (Unknown gender) TheExDeus
Reply #6 Posted on: July 25, 2014, 04:33:58 PM

Developer
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1872

View Profile
Imagine this - I have ENIGMA installed here: "C:\enigma-dev\"
On Windows if you open console (cmd) you are by default in "C:\user\username>", so when I type this: "C:\user\username> java -jar C:\enigma-dev\lateralgm.jar", then it will try to find the plugin folder and the .dll in the "C:\user\username\", so it errors. This is fixed by the ENIGMA.exe though. That automatically sets the working directory, so if I call it instead "C:\user\username> C:\enigma-dev\ENIGMA.exe" then it works fine. So if I make a shortcut to ENIGMA.exe it works fine too. But there is no such thing as ENIGMA.exe on Linux. Maybe we should make one...
Logged
Offline (Male) edsquare
Reply #7 Posted on: July 25, 2014, 05:06:13 PM

Member
Location: The throne of ringworld
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 402

View Profile
Imagine this - I have ENIGMA installed here: "C:\enigma-dev\"
On Windows if you open console (cmd) you are by default in "C:\user\username>", so when I type this: "C:\user\username> java -jar C:\enigma-dev\lateralgm.jar", then it will try to find the plugin folder and the .dll in the "C:\user\username\", so it errors. This is fixed by the ENIGMA.exe though. That automatically sets the working directory, so if I call it instead "C:\user\username> C:\enigma-dev\ENIGMA.exe" then it works fine. So if I make a shortcut to ENIGMA.exe it works fine too. But there is no such thing as ENIGMA.exe on Linux. Maybe we should make one...

What we need is an installer but, since not all linux distros use the same installer it's rather tricky, I wish I knew how to make a deb file, so I could do it; other possible solution would be to mirror Enigma and it's IDE on launchpad, if the project had a stable and development branch you just upload the files to launchpad and it builds the debs for the ubuntu versions you as the uploader mark.
Logged
A child of five would understand this. Send someone to fetch a child of five.
Groucho Marx
Pages: 1
  Print