Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Linux & LGM  (Read 6045 times)
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Posted on: June 17, 2014, 08:05:45 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1157

View Profile Email
My games used to not load into lgm on windows a while back due to lgm having a preset maximum for some kind of data or memory usage, so if loading my project exceeds that data limit lgm uselessly throws an error preventing the project to load. (Who's dumb idea was this?)

Robert helped me fix that by increasing the memory limit via editing some sort of unknown text file that I don't remember the name of. I finally got back to using enigma on linux again but now I'm getting that same error and I would really appreciate it if anyone would be so kind as to tell me what that text file was called again? And what line to replace with what text?

Thanks.
« Last Edit: June 17, 2014, 08:15:18 PM by time-killer-games » Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #1 Posted on: June 17, 2014, 08:32:33 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3107

View Profile
Actually, TKG, that was Oracle's idea, apparantly your default memory capacity for Java applications is too low. I changed the default on Windows in settings.ini but we don't have a settings file on Linux.

So just launch LGM this way instead.
Code: (Bash) [Select]
java -jar -Xms256m -Xmx1000m lateralgm.jar
More documentation of these parameters is here.
http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E13150_01/jrockit_jvm/jrockit/jrdocs/refman/optionX.html

If you don't like typing that in on the command line find your Java preferences.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #2 Posted on: June 17, 2014, 09:18:36 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1157

View Profile Email
Okay now that that shite is out of the fucking ass way I try to check current enigma settings and or compile after loading the project and it crashes out of nowhere like 10 fucking times in a row.

here's the error log txt:
http://pastebin.com/qNrVWyqf

ughh this is such a pain in the god damned shithole ass pussy-dick hybrid. I'm just hoping this all isn't in vain. :smileycat:
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #3 Posted on: June 17, 2014, 09:34:46 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3107

View Profile
Looks like that heaping pile of shit VM wants some more memory, and since it's all free just like the cloud, go ahead and feed the fat beast some more by upping the 256/1000 mb's to w/e
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) Darkstar2
Reply #4 Posted on: June 17, 2014, 10:15:38 PM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1244

View Profile Email
Looks like that heaping pile of shit VM wants some more memory, and since it's all free just like the cloud, go ahead and feed the fat beast some more by upping the 256/1000 mb's to w/e

Isn't 1000 the max you can use anyway ?

I noticed the enigma plugin for  LGM being very unstable in windows as well spitting java and memory errors crashing and sometimes randomly closing without any warning.
even at 1000/1000. Setting anything above crashes LGM and it won't start.

Logged
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #5 Posted on: June 17, 2014, 10:48:14 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1157

View Profile Email
Looks like that heaping pile of shit VM wants some more memory, and since it's all free just like the cloud, go ahead and feed the fat beast some more by upping the 256/1000 mb's to w/e

Thank you so much for the suggestion my pussy-dick hybrid thanks you also. I'll try it first thing tomorrow and get back to you guys. @dark star I'm praying to the flying spagetthi monster that you are remembering wrong or something otherwise my pussy-dick is screwed.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) Darkstar2
Reply #6 Posted on: June 17, 2014, 11:18:18 PM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1244

View Profile Email
No I didn't remember wrong, 1000 is the limit.
Try setting higher than 1000 and LGM won't even start.
At least that's how it does in Windows I am not familiar with the other OSes.
Logged
Offline (Male) edsquare
Reply #7 Posted on: June 18, 2014, 12:09:18 AM

Member
Location: The throne of ringworld
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 402

View Profile
How much memory (ram) do you have?

Windows Vista, Seven need at least 1Gb, recomended 2 or more, given mocosoft's record I imagine windows 8 needs even more ram, on top of that you run Linux (flavor?) on a VM (which one?), that's another 512Mb of ram (unless it's Puppy, DSL or something like that), and then you want to run a java game making app -Java=lots of ram. OGL=more ram- you do the math.

Somebody told you once you were doing it backwards, and is true, Linux as Host, Windows on the VM is the best if you don't want a double boot (Both oses directly on the HDD), also you could make a Linux LiveUSB with persistence.

If you insist on using linux on a VM then try this:

http://puppylinux.org/wikka/PuppyPrecise?redirect=no

Small, less memory hungry, binary compatible with Ubuntu Precise Pangolin
Logged
A child of five would understand this. Send someone to fetch a child of five.
Groucho Marx
Offline (Unknown gender) Darkstar2
Reply #8 Posted on: June 18, 2014, 01:28:11 AM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1244

View Profile Email
I get the same random crashes on windows as well, even with the setting to full 1000/1000, it is a pain in my white arsehole I have to restart LGM frequently because of random crashes or out of memory shite.

Don't know if it is the same error as TKG, but I am running Windows 7, 64bit, I have 16GB of RAM.
and I have the latest Java7.
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #9 Posted on: June 18, 2014, 11:33:47 AM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3107

View Profile
I get the following when setting it higher than 1gb.

Quote from: JVM
Error: Could not create the Java Virtual Machine.
Error: A fatal exception has occurred. Program will exit.
Invalid maximum heap size: -Xmx:2g

It's entirely Java, it's nothing to do with LGM. Java on Windows does not allow more than 75% or 1gb, read the docs.
http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E13150_01/jrockit_jvm/jrockit/jrdocs/refman/optionX.html

So basically it looks like ENIGMA needs a 64bit Java compatible version.
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/16761103/could-not-create-the-java-virtual-machine-when-increasing-the-xmx
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/639540/how-much-memory-can-a-32-bit-process-access-on-a-64-bit-operating-system
« Last Edit: June 18, 2014, 11:36:18 AM by Robert B Colton » Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) Darkstar2
Reply #10 Posted on: June 18, 2014, 12:52:41 PM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1244

View Profile Email
SO was it a mistake to have LGM done in JAVA then ???  I have not had as much crashing issues like the ones I am having inside LGM, with other java applets or IDEs.

Also 1 GB is lots.  I have had random crashes, closing without warning, project corruption, out of memory errors on simple projects, I mean I can't work on a LGM session without having to close and re-open.  The more I edit and test / run cycle the more it gets unstable and eventually says it cannot  create a new thread and out of memory error / java, etc. Sometimes it just closes randomly without any warning.  So where the fuck did the 1 GB get used up ?!?!?!?  I have had these crashes even with working with projects that have no loaded assets FFS !!!! no sprites, etc, with just 1 room and 1 object. and EGM only few Ks in size. It's as if there is memory leaking or something not right somewhere.

You mentioned enigma jar being the culprit, well the crashing happens most of the time before I even hit play / compile, right inside LGM itself ....
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #11 Posted on: June 18, 2014, 01:01:38 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3107

View Profile
I said enigma.jar creates 99% of the memory errors for me. I've never seen LGM go over 1gb memory usage.  You haven't reported a single one of those crashes with the exception log, so how am I supposed to fix them?

Loading TKG's 100mb man boobs game, once the game loads and memory usage stabilizes, I am sitting at 496.2 MB ram usage. When I load it into Studio I am sitting at about 103.2MB ram usage. Ironically it takes the same amount of time to load the project in both programs however.

We clearly need to add the optimization I mentioned before which would bring it down to the same RAM usage. And we also need a Command Line Interface for compiling games.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Male) edsquare
Reply #12 Posted on: June 18, 2014, 02:12:21 PM

Member
Location: The throne of ringworld
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 402

View Profile
I said enigma.jar creates 99% of the memory errors for me. I've never seen LGM go over 1gb memory usage.  You haven't reported a single one of those crashes with the exception log, so how am I supposed to fix them?

Loading TKG's 100mb man boobs game, once the game loads and memory usage stabilizes, I am sitting at 496.2 MB ram usage. When I load it into Studio I am sitting at about 103.2MB ram usage. Ironically it takes the same amount of time to load the project in both programs however.

We clearly need to add the optimization I mentioned before which would bring it down to the same RAM usage. And we also need a Command Line Interface for compiling games.

The diference in ram usage is because GM is (Still) developed in a compiled language, among many other things.

Command line interface?

What are we? Linux developers? :eng101: Next someone will say we need a vim like environment!  :o :o :o

I vote for both compiling options, comand line and single button.

I also vote for a compiled LGM (RadialGM?) or moving towards the python environment, although it needs to change it's name; there already exists a GameEditor and it has nothing to do with Enigma (ENYGMA = Enygma is Not You know who GameMaker's Augmentation) or Enyggma (ENYGGMA = Enygma is Not Your Granie's GameMaker Augmentation)  ;D
Logged
A child of five would understand this. Send someone to fetch a child of five.
Groucho Marx
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #13 Posted on: June 18, 2014, 02:30:22 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3107

View Profile
Oh no ed, you misunderstand. We create a command line interface in C++ that can load an EGM project and compile it. This way we don't require LGM to pass the resources by memory to the plugin, so it can delay loading resources if the user does not edit them. Then when you compile it saves only the files you've changed and simply passes the file over to the CLI. This would drastically reduce the memory consumption of LGM, and it is also what GM currently does.

But there are a few problems with this.
1) LGM does not have a single guaranteed format.
2) There is no way to do it with GMK

Also Studio's IDE is not native, it is Delphi.NET as in the .NET framework and command language runtime.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) Darkstar2
Reply #14 Posted on: June 18, 2014, 02:33:25 PM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1244

View Profile Email
I said enigma.jar creates 99% of the memory errors for me. I've never seen LGM go over 1gb memory usage.  You haven't reported a single one of those crashes with the exception log, so how am I supposed to fix them?

I did a couple times actually do so.  You then found it odd / weird, and mentioned you bet if I used LGM alone without the enigma plugin I would never have those errors. :D

I often get those errors without ever invoking the plugin.  Sometimes by simply hitting save and getting "out of memory cannot  create new thread" type.  So since it was already established that it's weird or unknown I never bothered posting new logs.

If you want I will post any logs of future errors ! :P

Quote
Loading TKG's 100mb man boobs game, once the game loads and memory usage

I get crashes and frustrations on projects a few Ks in size lol.  I don't even have to load a single sprite ! Just by working with scripts and code and often run/testing, going back to edit, run/test, etc after a certain number of cycles BAM I get the retarded errors.  And in worse cases the shit just closes completely without warning and without any intervention.  taking the EGM file along with it, completely gone.  Luckily the backup file is still there.  There is not one bloody time I could complete a LGM session without having to restart it.

Quote
stabilizes, I am sitting at 496.2 MB ram usage. When I load it into Studio I am sitting at about 103.2MB ram usage. Ironically it takes the same amount of time to load the project in both programs however.

Are you using the latest 1.3?  They did some changes to the IDE, audio assets are not pre-loaded at IDE launch as it was before.
Perhaps what you are noticing is some of the optimisations they have done lately to the IDE.  The fact it takes the same amount of time could mean they are just slow by nature or they are doing something else.  In theory they have done this for faster loading of projects and lower memory usage.  :P

Quote
We clearly need to add the optimization I mentioned before which would bring it down to the same RAM usage. And we also need a Command Line Interface for compiling games.

Yeah but how do you explain the crashes I get on a program without anything loaded. Be it a 100MB or 1KB project I would get he same unstable behaviour and it happens rather quickly.  I don't think I am consuming even close to 1GB reserved space that quickly, not even a fraction of a fraction of that. Since the issue is persistent and can be reproduced so easily, I will post yet again a log.......nothing has changed though :D

Oh and just in case you are wondering I only use the EGM format when saving in LGM.  and I use it from scratch I don't port anything in.

I was thinking of a crazy idea workaround for this.  Having 2 instances of ENIGMA installed, run 2 instances of LGM, one with the enigma plugin one without, to allow me to at least edit and build my crap without the constant  crashing, then when I need it tested I would save, and load it inside the other instance of LGM running with the plugin and test. But that would be so ridiculous and annoying :P  But if it works, I guess then it might be considered.

« Last Edit: June 18, 2014, 02:37:50 PM by Darkstar2 » Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 »
  Print