Pages: 1 2 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Josh! Relieve my penis!!  (Read 2596 times)
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Posted on: June 13, 2014, 05:38:12 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1166

View Profile Email
My game loaded successfully in enigma for the first time since never agos. My pants are so wet. Can you PLEASE complete my orgasm with figuring out why my project throws a "see scroll back for details" error but there's no error in the scroll back to see? I'm SO FUCKING excited to see engima is getting to closer and closer to running my projects. So damn close, I can taste the pussy. I sent you my project in a message to you and Robert but Robert can't fix it and you haven't replied yet. HELP MEE!!! :D
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) Darkstar2
Reply #1 Posted on: June 13, 2014, 06:11:31 PM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1244

View Profile Email

How about posting an example here in public so maybe someone else can attempt to help you as well? (leaving the shagging and relieving to Josh and Robert of course!) :P

What project can't you run ?  There has not been any major revisions to ENIGMA since you left and came back, other than some bug fixings and timeline and this fonts issues etc.  I reckon one of your games did not run due to the non functioning path and path AI finding shit. Can you post a screenshot of the error you are getting ? :D


« Last Edit: June 13, 2014, 06:13:07 PM by Darkstar2 » Logged
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #2 Posted on: June 14, 2014, 09:33:15 AM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2958

View Profile Email
If I had to guess, you just have that bug where compiler output isn't being redirected properly. I'm told it only affects me, though. I don't know what modifications were made that caused it, and I don't want to dig long enough to track it down.
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #3 Posted on: June 14, 2014, 11:58:19 AM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
You guys are so useless. He doesn't want to share the source code of his game. When you build it it errors after parsing room creation code and says "Error; see scrollback for details" and there is nothing in the scrollback indicating what wen't wrong.

Correct me if I am wrong but TKG also tried removing all the room creation code to no avail.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #4 Posted on: June 14, 2014, 07:18:40 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1166

View Profile Email
Correct me if I am wrong but TKG also tried removing all the room creation code to no avail.

That is correct.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) Darkstar2
Reply #5 Posted on: June 14, 2014, 09:01:15 PM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1244

View Profile Email
How about after you removed the code from room creation, re-save your file, and re-load it (resave in EGM). Have you tried that ?

Have you tried clean building ?

I've used room creation code before and it worked, unless it was broken recently which I doubt.
Logged
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #6 Posted on: June 14, 2014, 09:07:31 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1166

View Profile Email
Darkstar - I don't find any of your suggestions would actually help. I'm just going to wait and see what josh says when he has time to investigate it. That is, if he ever does which is unclear but not looking good.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) Darkstar2
Reply #7 Posted on: June 14, 2014, 09:20:14 PM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1244

View Profile Email
Darkstar - I don't find any of your suggestions would actually help. I'm just going to wait and see what josh says when he has time to investigate it. That is, if he ever does which is unclear but not looking good.

The reason I suggested that is because I had similar problems, weird compile errors that made no sense, and after resaving and rebuilding clean it resolved it.

@Robert: Nobody asked him for his source code :P  But more information would be helpful don't you think ?  He mentions he deleted the room create code and it still has errors which is odd.  Also I could not reproduce this on my end, room creation code works here, so it would be good to know the other circumstances triggering this.

I know from experience that when importing projects from GMS into ENIGMA I had weird issues that were resolved by simply resaving to EGM and reloading.

@TKG: Your instincts are right mate, he said he was not going to dig deep enough to find out where it's coming from.

So my guess is, you are importing this from GM into ENIGMA (LGM).  Try a new test project in ENIGMA and add room creation code, save to EGM.  I bet you won't have the error anymore. 
Logged
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #8 Posted on: June 14, 2014, 09:24:59 PM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2958

View Profile Email
I'm convinced your log is being discarded by some glitch. These logs should be written to a file somewhere, as well, so if you can track down where Robert hid it, you should be able to find the problem.
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #9 Posted on: June 14, 2014, 09:30:14 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1166

View Profile Email
thanks I'll give that an attepmt
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) Darkstar2
Reply #10 Posted on: June 14, 2014, 09:31:57 PM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1244

View Profile Email
Yeah I know where he hid it.......:P
Logged
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #11 Posted on: June 14, 2014, 09:39:51 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1166

View Profile Email
Where?

I got your message DarkStella. Why would I create an empty project just to see the room code work? wtf would that accomplish?:P iI know it's nothing to do with the room stuff. so like why :P
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #12 Posted on: June 15, 2014, 11:00:28 AM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
Quote
@Robert: Nobody asked him for his source code :P  But more information would be helpful don't you think ?  He mentions he deleted the room create code and it still has errors which is odd.  Also I could not reproduce this on my end, room creation code works here, so it would be good to know the other circumstances triggering this.
Exactly, I meant you both should have elaborated more by getting him to elaborate more.

@TKG enigma-dev/output_log.txt let's see what that yields.

Here's what mine says.
Quote from: ENIGMA
Creating room creation code scope and parsing
window_mouse_set ( display_get_width ( ) %= 2 , display_get_height ( ) %= 2 ) ; global . ; os_android_ouya = 0 ; global . ; lite = 0 ; lives = 3 ; global . ; gold = 0 ; global . ; explodecount = 0 ; display_set_gui_size ( 1280 , 960 ) ; global ; var k_menu , k_quit , k_up , k_right , k_down , k_left , k_D , k_A , k_U , k_Y , k_S , k_L1 , k_L2 , k_L3 , k_R1 , k_R2 , k_R3 , k_exit ; if os_type = os_windows || os_type == os_win32 || os_type == os_win8native || os_type == os_macosx || os_type == os_linux { k_S = ord ( "S" ) ; k_A = ord ( "A" ) ; k_D = ord ( "D" ) ; k_exit = vk_escape } else { k_menu = 82 ; k_quit = vk_enter ; k_up = vk_up ; k_right = vk_right ; k_down = vk_down ; k_left = vk_left ; k_A = 96 ; k_U = 99 ; k_Y = 100 ; k_S = 97 ; k_L1 = 102 ; k_L2 = 104 ; k_L3 = 106 ; k_R1 = 103 ; k_R2 = 105 ; k_R3 = 107 ; k_exit = ord ( "M" ) ; k_D = ord ( "T" ) } if ( os_browser != browser_not_a_browser ) { k_S = ord ( "S" ) ; k_A = ord ( "A" ) ; k_D = ord ( "D" ) ; k_exit = vk_escape } instance_create ( 0 , 0 , obj_exit ) ; global . ; bubb = 0 ; window_set_cursor ( cr_hourglass ) ; audio_stop_all ( ) ; audio_stop_music Syntax error in room creation code for room 0 (`rm_loading'):
2

So basically, you are trying to use audio_stop_music which is deprecated in both Studio and ENIGMA. All music functions were deprecated because they were pointless, we never actually implemented them.
http://enigma-dev.org/docs/Wiki/Obsolete_Functions#Audio
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) TheExDeus
Reply #13 Posted on: June 15, 2014, 12:40:15 PM

Developer
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1872

View Profile
Why doesn't it return function not found error and instead a syntax error?
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #14 Posted on: June 15, 2014, 01:03:06 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
It's the parser, it does this with all functions in the room creation code, I just reproduced it easily. Place it in an object and it tells you the correct error message without having to check the extended log. I don't know why.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Pages: 1 2 »
  Print