Pages: 1
  Print  
Author Topic: iOS/android  (Read 2582 times)
Offline (Unknown gender) legendarysnake
Posted on: April 22, 2014, 11:26:16 AM
Member
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 7

View Profile Email
Does enigma compile for iOS and android?
Logged
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #1 Posted on: April 22, 2014, 12:20:19 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1157

View Profile Email
Nope. While it is planned I don't think anyone can promise it being released whether broken or stable within the next decade or so. In other words it probably won't happen. However you can make for Linux free-of-charge, while in YYG terms is worth $200 normally (GMStudio Pro + the Linux module). Mac is completely broken, so all there is or ever will be is Windows (NOT counting native Windows 8) and Linux.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) Darkstar2
Reply #2 Posted on: April 22, 2014, 12:32:57 PM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1244

View Profile Email
Agreed with TKG.

I would like to add also there would need some changes to ENIGMA to be done first before it can compile to IOS/Android and make app store compliant files.  They will have to do like YYG and deprecate some functions and make some minor some major changes to restrict enigma to comply with security requirements of said app store, but where YYG fucked up is they also removed those features for windows users fucking them in the ass in the process!

I really hope if ENIGMA does one day have multi exports, that it will not go crazy shit and do like YYG did and break windows export.   Hopefully they can keep all those goodies intact and only restrict for other exports.

That would probably require some time.

It's one thing to make android export, it's another to make app store ready exports, which GMS does ATM.

When they decided to allegedly rip off their  customers with a $300 something that should have been done since version 1 of GMS, FREE, the LEAST they could have done is bring back the removed functions that were useful to some of us motherfuckers who can't make our own extensions :P

Now they are going towards console support, and still have no video playback functions, what a fucking shame !   a BASIC function you'd think is included in the shittiest of gm tool / RAD !   

So I would hope ENIGMA would learn from this and keep this in mind when/if it starts offering multi exports.  :D

Wonder if they will get YYG's "wee-Lawyers" on their backs at that point, if they offer IOS/Android, on something that is very compatible and highly similar (interface, etc.)  you can argue all you want, but Lawyers always find something ..... :D
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #3 Posted on: April 22, 2014, 12:54:36 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3107

View Profile
Mac was not broken until I came along, I wanted to clean up the platform code and remove duplicate code, and I have, and we now have Linux working fine, I just fixed working_directory and "Freeze on lose focus" for the platform too. The only problem is I don't have a Mac, and rarely do people show up and try to build for it, if one person could just hang in long enough for us to make it all the way through the process, that would be awesome.

Quote from: Darkstar2
They will have to do like YYG and deprecate some functions and make some minor some major changes to restrict enigma to comply with security requirements of said app store
No we don't need to do that, ENIGMA's entire system is extremely extensible you can just turn off the code which doesn't fit the requirement of a particular app store. That doesn't mean we remove it all together.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) Darkstar2
Reply #4 Posted on: April 22, 2014, 01:31:08 PM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1244

View Profile Email

No we don't need to do that, ENIGMA's entire system is extremely extensible you can just turn off the code which doesn't fit the requirement of a particular app store. That doesn't mean we remove it all together.

Well there you go, now that's great news.  FREE software doing it right where an expensive over priced product doesn't, and should have been that way from the beginning.  Also if not mistaken you would need GLES for those exports right? <
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) legendarysnake
Reply #5 Posted on: April 22, 2014, 02:02:04 PM
Member
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 7

View Profile Email
But enigma support a 3rd party android compiler right?
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #6 Posted on: April 22, 2014, 02:10:47 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3107

View Profile
GLES is OpenGL for Embedded Systems, it is the biggest requirement for getting Android/iOS/JavaScript ports. GLES and WebGL basically fit the spec for OGL 3 1 to 1, that is why Harri started removing the FFP from OGL3. Now when we make a JavaScript port of ENIGMA, it will most likely be an entirely different repository, and an entirely different set up. This is the current repository for the JavaScript port.
https://github.com/enigma-dev/ENIGMAjs
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) TheExDeus
Reply #7 Posted on: April 22, 2014, 02:52:33 PM

Developer
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1872

View Profile
The big changes with GL3 made it a lot easier to support it in the future (as GLES is a lot closer to GL3 than it is to GL1), but we just don't have the manpower to do it now.

Quote
Mac is completely broken
Those fixes should be quite trivial. Mac in essence is Linux. If you support one you support the other. So the thing broke because we don't have Mac developers or even a lot of Mac users, so testing on that platform is rarely done. But Windows, Linux and Mac should be the three platforms ENIGMA runs on always. And we can technically guarantee that.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) legendarysnake
Reply #8 Posted on: April 22, 2014, 03:03:23 PM
Member
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 7

View Profile Email
i have installed android sdk/ndk on my windows
how i setup enigma now?
i don't know
« Last Edit: April 22, 2014, 03:06:06 PM by legendarysnake » Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) TheExDeus
Reply #9 Posted on: April 22, 2014, 03:18:21 PM

Developer
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1872

View Profile
You can't. It's not only about Android SDK/NDK but our code as well. The graphics system Android uses is GLES (GL for Embeded Systems) and that is a graphics system that is not done for ENIGMA right now. We would also need to code platform code like windowing and IO (even though with "windows" I mean something different in Android). On top of that we would need custom functions just to return multi-touch, work with Android interrupts and so on. So there are additions needed to ENIGMA's code and Android NDK cannot compile any C++ to Android.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) legendarysnake
Reply #10 Posted on: April 22, 2014, 04:05:29 PM
Member
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 7

View Profile Email
Anyway the application is great, congratulations to all who helped with the project.
Logged
Offline (Male) Facet
Reply #11 Posted on: June 15, 2014, 03:32:45 PM

Member
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 17

View Profile Email
I found Android/Enigma tutorial here http://enigma-dev.org/docs/Wiki/Android Can you update wiki site if it not working with Enigma? I am confused a little :P It can be great tool to create Android games!
« Last Edit: June 15, 2014, 03:38:04 PM by Facet » Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) daz
Reply #12 Posted on: June 15, 2014, 08:47:29 PM
Contributor
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 167

View Profile
I found Android/Enigma tutorial here http://enigma-dev.org/docs/Wiki/Android Can you update wiki site if it not working with Enigma? I am confused a little :P It can be great tool to create Android games!
It is mentioned in the first line of "Getting it to Work".

Quote
This process has only been tested for the Ubuntu Operating System and revision r870, and I have not been able to get it to fully compile yet. Some reports indicate that this process may have broken in more recent revisions (r973).

Although quite honestly I think that at this point everyone agrees it is completely broken, so that should probably be changed to indicate as much.
Logged
Pages: 1
  Print