Pages: 1
  Print  
Author Topic: Errors when using git-bash update  (Read 1270 times)
Offline (Unknown gender) Darkstar2
Posted on: April 22, 2014, 02:00:40 PM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1244

View Profile Email
When using git update I now get those errors,

Quote
error: your local changes to the following files would be overwritten by merge:

then it gives a long list of files,
Quote
writeglobals.cpp
cocomain.cpp
PFmain.h
UNIXfilenamin.cpp
WINDOWSmain.cpp
platforms_mandatory.h
XLIBmain.cpp
Please commit your changes or stash them before you can merge.
aborting

Yes I tried removing ENIGMA and manually deleting the program files/data folder and temp folders
and re-installing from latest builds, same problem.
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #1 Posted on: April 22, 2014, 02:08:13 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
You mean you deleted the old ENIGMA folder and extracted the new one from the site? I just updated it yesterday with working_directory fixed.
http://enigma-dev.org/docs/Wiki/Install:Windows

The git-config of the latest Portable ZIP appears to be fine.

Code: (Bash) [Select]
[core]
        repositoryformatversion = 0
        filemode = false
        bare = false
        logallrefupdates = true
        symlinks = false
        ignorecase = true
        hideDotFiles = dotGitOnly
[remote "origin"]
        url = https://github.com/enigma-dev/enigma-dev.git
        fetch = +refs/heads/*:refs/remotes/origin/*
[branch "master"]
        remote = origin
        merge = refs/heads/master
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) TheExDeus
Reply #2 Posted on: April 22, 2014, 03:35:14 PM

Developer
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1872

View Profile
The errors are because you overwritten the files with my changes while those changes aren't in the master (they are a separate branch). So you created conflicts this way. Deleting ENIGMA and reinstalling with the installer should have fixed the issue though.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) Darkstar2
Reply #3 Posted on: April 22, 2014, 04:29:41 PM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1244

View Profile Email
The errors are because you overwritten the files with my changes while those changes aren't in the master (they are a separate branch). So you created conflicts this way. Deleting ENIGMA and reinstalling with the installer should have fixed the issue though.

lol. isn't it what I was supposed to do ? You mentioned using download zip, and I did, :D
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #4 Posted on: April 22, 2014, 04:40:12 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
Yes but they were merged into the main repository, so you can go ahead and trash them, delete the old extracted ENIGMA Portable, and then extract the new one.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) TheExDeus
Reply #5 Posted on: April 22, 2014, 05:19:04 PM

Developer
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1872

View Profile
Quote
lol. isn't it what I was supposed to do ? You mentioned using download zip, and I did, :D
Well you were supposed to because I did fixes for you that weren't in the ENIGMA master at that time, but in a separate branch. This causes a "divergence" of sorts as shown in the branch graph (https://github.com/enigma-dev/enigma-dev/network) (the blue line was the particle fixing we did). This means that we basically created 2 separate ENIGMA's and you cannot update one ENIGMA with changes from the other. So what you did was allow me to test changes and I am thankful for that. And after the changes are merged back in into master (they are now), then you will be able to download ENIGMA from zip again from here https://github.com/enigma-dev/enigma-dev and everything should work. Or even better use an updated installer.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) Darkstar2
Reply #6 Posted on: April 22, 2014, 05:29:10 PM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1244

View Profile Email
Ohhh ok understood. thanks Robert & Harri :D

Will test latest changes later tonight.

BTW, I kinda figured out what you meant when you told me I could code my own particles using hundreds lines of codes :D  If i'm not mistaken you probably were referring to using my own sprites, using create instances, direction, speed and gravity to simulate the particles.... If that is what you meant, that would be so bloody time consuming :P  I am really thankful particles are now working.  Although if there were no fix for particles I would have used pre-rendered ones (APNG), and my games would have been resource hogs :D  Not really doing anything official with ENIGMA, just playing with it and experimenting different things, getting more familiar with advanced GML stuff and definitely will be making use of particles in games I make.

BTW, if you need anything to be tested on the windows side I'm always willing to help with trial/testing.  Wish I could help with development but that's not my area unfortunately :P

Logged
Pages: 1
  Print