Pages: 1
  Print  
Author Topic: Make Directory  (Read 1871 times)
Offline (Male) Goombert
Posted on: January 27, 2014, 06:24:12 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile


I recently started making some changes to update YAML settings, you can read about that in the following topic.
http://enigma-dev.org/forums/index.php?topic=1736.0

Along the way I made several bugfixes to the plugin, and also made the ability to set the make directory per-project. This way each game can have a /build/ folder next to its project file, kind of like you see in Visual Studio or Qt Creator where you are asked where you want binaries outputted to. This however holds two problems, 1 the compiler should output its binaries to one single directory, and then link them from wherever your game/preprocessor is written to, the theoretical "build" folder. This does however mean we could do away with use of temporary files, and write the executable directly inside the build folder, and this would stop the creation of many many temporary files that need cleaned up.

This was the ENIGMA commit.
https://github.com/enigma-dev/enigma-dev/pull/628
This was the plugin commit with other fixes, including escaping the ENIGMA Settings YAML since it holds the spec header and is subject to it.
https://github.com/enigma-dev/lgmplugin/commit/d21f29c3867ccbb072cb9b24214edf9291d7ea29

This means you will all need to update the plugin next time you update from the repository.
http://enigma-dev.org/docs/Wiki/Install:Extra_Packages
The portable ZIP has not been updated yet.
« Last Edit: January 27, 2014, 08:32:56 PM by Robert B Colton » Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) sorlok_reaves
Reply #1 Posted on: January 27, 2014, 10:43:58 PM
Contributor
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 261

View Profile
Am I correct to assume that install.py will update the dependencies (Plugin, LGM) correctly on Linux?
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #2 Posted on: January 27, 2014, 11:37:29 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
Yes you are it checks the md5 hashes, which I updated earlier.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) sorlok_reaves
Reply #3 Posted on: January 28, 2014, 12:16:55 AM
Contributor
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 261

View Profile
Hmm, then I'll update my bug report. I'm getting segfaults every time I open LateralGM.
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #4 Posted on: January 28, 2014, 12:58:13 AM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
See my comments on GitHub.
https://github.com/enigma-dev/enigma-dev/issues/631

Also please try manually patching the enigma.jar from the extra packages page.
http://enigma-dev.org/docs/Wiki/Install:Extra_Packages
« Last Edit: January 28, 2014, 01:01:02 AM by Robert B Colton » Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) sorlok_reaves
Reply #5 Posted on: January 28, 2014, 01:50:34 AM
Contributor
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 261

View Profile
See my comments on GitHub.
https://github.com/enigma-dev/enigma-dev/issues/631

Also please try manually patching the enigma.jar from the extra packages page.
http://enigma-dev.org/docs/Wiki/Install:Extra_Packages

Thanks, I've posted feedback on Github. (Basically, it's a case-sensitivity issue.)

Should I still try patching the enigma jar? Also, are we switching to "~/enigma" instead of "~/.enigma" on Linux?
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #6 Posted on: January 28, 2014, 02:27:13 AM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
sorlok, give me a minute to make the pull request, and no I just changed the Linux default because I felt the . and lowercase was extraneous and didn't match Windows, but it doesn't matter I'll just commit the version that works, minor aesthetic really compared to the real importance of what we want to implement which is choosing where each project gets outputted too and eliminating the need for temp files, and handling like any other program eg. Visual Studio handles outputting exe's.

Edit: Here is the pull request.
https://github.com/enigma-dev/enigma-dev/pull/632

And for future reference, this is the repository where I maintain the MD5 hashes.
https://github.com/enigma-dev/ExtraPackages

Let me know if there are any other issues that stem from this change, there should not be any I have tested this very extensively.
« Last Edit: January 28, 2014, 02:57:48 AM by Robert B Colton » Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) sorlok_reaves
Reply #7 Posted on: January 28, 2014, 11:11:36 AM
Contributor
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 261

View Profile
Thanks for the fix; it helps (but there's still one problem left --I updated the Git issue tracker).

Basically, a few "./ENIGMA" paths are still left.
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #8 Posted on: January 28, 2014, 06:34:57 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
Where at? The only way that is possible is if they were already there, so I couldn't have introduced them. But where at? They should be changed.

Edit: The following pull request may resolve the issue for you.
https://github.com/enigma-dev/enigma-dev/pull/633
« Last Edit: January 28, 2014, 07:25:10 PM by Robert B Colton » Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) sorlok_reaves
Reply #9 Posted on: January 28, 2014, 09:25:21 PM
Contributor
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 261

View Profile
Yep, that fixes it. Just note that the "Make directory" option in my test project had to be manually reset to "%HOME%/.enigma/" (in case anyone else runs into this issue).

Thanks again!
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #10 Posted on: January 28, 2014, 09:37:30 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
Huh, that actually shouldn't have been the case, I don't think that directory is automatically deleted unless you deleted it, but ok I killed two birds with one stone :)
« Last Edit: January 28, 2014, 09:39:32 PM by Robert B Colton » Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Pages: 1
  Print