Pages: 1
  Print  
Author Topic: Particles not displaying properly  (Read 1102 times)
Offline (Unknown gender) intygamer
Posted on: January 29, 2014, 09:09:33 PM

Member
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 77

View Profile Email
I just upgraded Enigma and LGM 1/26/14 for Ubuntu, prior to that 10/26/13.  I just noticed that the particles systems from Gamecavegm6 the shapes seem to be larger and blocky.

Here's example from Game maker 7 manual.

Create Event
Code: [Select]
{
  // make the particle system
  ps = part_system_create();

  // the firework particles
  pt1 = part_type_create();
  part_type_shape(pt1,pt_shape_flare);
  part_type_size(pt1,0.1,0.2,0,0);
  part_type_speed(pt1,0.5,4,0,0);
  part_type_direction(pt1,0,360,0,0);
  part_type_color1(pt1,c_red);
  part_type_alpha2(pt1,1,0.4);
  part_type_life(pt1,20,30);
  part_type_gravity(pt1,0.2,270);

  // the rocket
  pt2 = part_type_create();
  part_type_shape(pt2,pt_shape_sphere);
  part_type_size(pt2,0.2,0.2,0,0);
  part_type_speed(pt2,10,14,0,0);
  part_type_direction(pt2,80,100,0,0);
  part_type_color2(pt2,c_white,c_gray);
  part_type_life(pt2,30,60);
  part_type_gravity(pt2,0.2,270);
  part_type_death(pt2,150,pt1);    // create the firework on death

  // create the emitter
  em = part_emitter_create(ps);
  part_emitter_region(ps,em,100,540,480,490,ps_shape_rectangle,ps_distr_linear);
  part_emitter_stream(ps,em,pt2,-4);   // create one every four steps
}

I have not changed any settings after upgrading.

Thanks
Joe
 
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #1 Posted on: January 29, 2014, 09:50:38 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
Try Build->Settings and the "API" tab, see how it is in another graphics system, I noticed particles in OpenGL1 are like really thick or bigger for some reason.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) intygamer
Reply #2 Posted on: January 30, 2014, 06:43:47 PM

Member
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 77

View Profile Email
There were 3 choices for graphics. 

OpenGL 1.1      Works but particle effects are blocky.
OpenGLes         Has make errors.
OpenGL 3.0      Compiles then says:  Game Returned 255.

Thanks
Joe
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #3 Posted on: January 31, 2014, 01:21:35 AM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
Ok I will need to investigate, do you happen to have a minimal GMK or something for me to test with?
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) intygamer
Reply #4 Posted on: January 31, 2014, 10:37:13 AM

Member
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 77

View Profile Email
Ok I will need to investigate, do you happen to have a minimal GMK or something for me to test with?

I posted a small gmk.  Use the mouse to rotate the wand and left mouse button to cast spells like Harry Potter.  lol

Here is a link to see what the particle effect use to look like.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xjx5BuBVPA8

Thanks
Joe


Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #5 Posted on: February 02, 2014, 12:35:20 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
Thank you inty that will help me resolve it, I am swamped ATM with other bugs, this is on my todo list though.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) TheExDeus
Reply #6 Posted on: February 02, 2014, 01:45:33 PM

Developer
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1872

View Profile
The GL3 crashes in glDrawElements() for some reason. I think the indices pointer is wrong.
I think now the whole thing should actually be rewritten. It isn't doing any optimization anyway, so it might as well use the regular batched draw with draw_sprite() functions. The whole code would be a hundred times cleaner then. For example, in the OpenGL1 bridge there is basically code duplication 3 times and the error could be in any of them. So I think the bridges need to be rewritten. Maybe Forthevin can do that.
Logged
Pages: 1
  Print