Pages: « 1 2
  Print  
Author Topic: GMX Reader  (Read 5407 times)
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #15 Posted on: January 19, 2014, 04:21:39 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
Doesn't make sense you have 2GB ram. All it looks like it's saying is Java ran out of memory from loading a really large background. I loaded the project fine though with a 4GB ram, but doesn't make sense. Try updating both LGM and the plugin, and your actual Java install, it might actually be a JDK bug.
« Last Edit: January 26, 2014, 03:10:50 AM by Robert B Colton » Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #16 Posted on: January 19, 2014, 05:57:22 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1166

View Profile Email
Alright, I updated Java and the JDK and still face the same issues. I give up.
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #17 Posted on: January 19, 2014, 09:24:23 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
Alright, give me some time to look into it further, because I honestly have no ideas right now.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #18 Posted on: January 19, 2014, 09:25:15 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1166

View Profile Email
Thanks! =)
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #19 Posted on: January 19, 2014, 09:26:21 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
Wait, damn you responded too fast before I could edit that. Josh said it is a Java setting, let me Google.

Basically you have Java Preferences set to not allow Java Apps to utilize a certain amount of memory, LGM uses anywhere between 60,000K on startup to 356,000K is the maximum I've seen it use, bout the same as Eclipse Java IDE that I use when coding LGM.

Edit: Follow the instructions here...
http://www.rcsb.org/pdb/staticHelp.do?p=help/viewers/appletMemory.html

Those might be incorrect, I am trying to find it, there's instructions somewhere.
https://www.google.com/#q=java+preferences+ram+

Edit 2:
Looks like you could open up settings.ini and change target parameter to the following.

Quote
idecommand="java -jar -Xms256m -Xmx512m"
« Last Edit: January 19, 2014, 09:53:11 PM by Robert B Colton » Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #20 Posted on: January 20, 2014, 12:37:28 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1166

View Profile Email
Is this what you had in mind? I tried this among other slight variations. Still no luck.

Where is this "settings.ini" usually located? I've searched all my java folders for that file and no results. I even search for *.ini so I could open them to see if any of them had that parameter so I could update it's value like you suggested but none of them had it.
« Last Edit: January 20, 2014, 12:40:25 PM by time-killer-games » Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #21 Posted on: January 20, 2014, 01:09:38 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
Settings.ini is an ENIGMA file, it's in the top directory of your ENIGMA folder. Try it with it in that file.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #22 Posted on: January 20, 2014, 02:07:26 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1166

View Profile Email
It loaded! I'm so happy!!!
...now if I could just get it running
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #23 Posted on: January 20, 2014, 02:10:14 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
Wow, that's crazy, I was starting to think that wasn't the issue. Glad I could help! Though I doubt you'll get it running, but nevertheless I can still help. Java is pretty bad with memory though, same as C#/VB/.NET.
« Last Edit: January 20, 2014, 02:11:53 PM by Robert B Colton » Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #24 Posted on: January 26, 2014, 02:55:09 AM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
To come back to this, I just found a 512x512 ICO file on the internet, which I loaded into a project of mine, and copied and pasted to a GMX project, and both of the projects loaded fine with LGM.



This was the ICO file that worked.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/qc58z4kizehqy9h/512icon.ico

So I went to investigate further the program you used to convert the image, and sure enough it outputs corrupted Icon files when a size layer bigger than 192x192 was exported.
http://converticon.com/
I went there and attempted to convert the following 512x512 PNG of the Death Star to a 512x512 ICO

Then LGM had an exception trying to use it on a project just like the one you are getting, so my advice to you is to find another image converter.

That image converter did not work on ICO files larger than 192x192.
Quote
Exception in thread "AWT-EventQueue-0" java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Width (0) and height (0) cannot be <= 0
   at java.awt.image.DirectColorModel.createCompatibleWritableRaster(Unknown Source)
The reason is because every layer above 192x192 had a size of 0, which most likely means this image converter can't export ICO's at sizes larger than that, I went through and looked at the size of every layer, up to 192^2 was fine.
Something is clearly wrong with that converter, so please, use a different one.
« Last Edit: January 26, 2014, 03:36:13 AM by Robert B Colton » Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Pages: « 1 2
  Print