Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Enigma R3 Released  (Read 26073 times)
Offline (Unknown gender) Zekian
Reply #30 Posted on: August 08, 2008, 10:03:02 PM

"Past Contributor"
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 9

View Profile Email
OpenGL can limit the room speed, So i understand, so if you really want to test speed, try to do everything in one frame. E.g. a for loop, or a while loop.
Logged
Offline (Male) notachair
Reply #31 Posted on: August 08, 2008, 10:04:36 PM

Definitely not a chair
Contributor
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 299

View Profile
https://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=230668

Download page will be updated soon.

EDIT: http://enigma-dev.org/dl.htm
« Last Edit: August 08, 2008, 10:12:32 PM by a2h » Logged
Offline (Male) RetroX
Reply #32 Posted on: August 08, 2008, 10:24:40 PM

Master of all things Linux
Contributor
Location: US
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1055
MSN Messenger - classixretrox@gmail.com
View Profile Email
if you really want to test speed, try to do everything in one frame. E.g. a for loop, or a while loop.
Make a 1x1 room with only one object that is optimized with all of the variables turned off (except room_speed and fps) and then set the caption. 
Logged
My Box: Phenom II 3.4GHz X4 | ASUS ATI RadeonHD 5770, 1GB GDDR5 RAM | 1x4GB DDR3 SRAM | Arch Linux, x86_64 (Cube) / Windows 7 x64 (Blob)
Quote from: Fede-lasse
Why do all the pro-Microsoft people have troll avatars? :(
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #33 Posted on: August 08, 2008, 10:31:28 PM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2949

View Profile Email
GM will be able to run faster than ENIGMA in a blank room as long as ENIGMA is OpenGL.

However, try testing ENIGMA and GM under some stress, like lots and lots of lines. You'll find ENIMGA can easily outdo Game Maker there, as long as your GL drivers meet the stone age specification.
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Male) Nighthawk
Reply #34 Posted on: August 08, 2008, 11:13:23 PM

Member
Location: United States
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
AOL Instant Messenger - nightaudi0 Yahoo Instant Messenger - nightaudi0
View Profile
I downloaded the version that has everything in the right place, and I still keep getting this error when I click "Run":

Quote
Sending Enigma resource names
Sending Enigma resource data
Executing Enigma...
Failed, Enigma not found

I did rename the Lateral GM file to "LGM.jar" if that has anything to do with it. Since I can't seem to run JARs normally, and it's a pain to type everything in command prompt, I renamed it to make it so I could open it faster. Though since it's having trouble finding ENIGMA, which I didn't rename, I wouldn't think this would be the problem. Anyone know what it is?
Logged
Offline (Male) RetroX
Reply #35 Posted on: August 09, 2008, 08:42:27 AM

Master of all things Linux
Contributor
Location: US
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1055
MSN Messenger - classixretrox@gmail.com
View Profile Email
Rename it back.  The file name is used during the execution, I believe.

Seriously, when you make the patch, include a proper installation readme.
Logged
My Box: Phenom II 3.4GHz X4 | ASUS ATI RadeonHD 5770, 1GB GDDR5 RAM | 1x4GB DDR3 SRAM | Arch Linux, x86_64 (Cube) / Windows 7 x64 (Blob)
Quote from: Fede-lasse
Why do all the pro-Microsoft people have troll avatars? :(
Offline (Unknown gender) TGMG
Reply #36 Posted on: August 09, 2008, 08:57:56 AM

Developer
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 107

View Profile WWW Email
Run the .bat file in the same directory as the jar and rename it back.
Logged
me
GMbed 2.0 :: Embed you gm games in websites.
Offline (Unknown gender) ANGRY OBELISK
Reply #37 Posted on: August 09, 2008, 03:40:21 PM

Member
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 1

View Profile
SO CONFUSING
Logged
Offline (Male) RetroX
Reply #38 Posted on: August 09, 2008, 04:01:02 PM

Master of all things Linux
Contributor
Location: US
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1055
MSN Messenger - classixretrox@gmail.com
View Profile Email
If you can't say anything nice, then GTFO.

Code: [Select]
Sending Enigma resource names
Sending Enigma resource data
Executing Enigma...
Loaded fnames successfully.
Read 122 constants
Read 33 globals
Reading 1066 bytes of locals...
Read 1066 bytes of locals
Read locals successfully.
Opened file.
File is valid.
Read icon data.
Exported icon.
Read script names.
Read object names.
Read room names.
Read sprite names.
Wrote resource names.
Exported object switch.

LOTSA CODE

Loaded and parsed all events.
Read room data.
Wrote event declarations.
Wrote event code.
Wrote inherited locals.
Wrote with and script code.
Wrote mode data.
Wrote room data.
Starting compile. This may take a minute.
The system cannot find the path specified.
Compile failed. [1]
G++ error. Compile failed (-6)
« Last Edit: August 09, 2008, 04:02:38 PM by RetroX » Logged
My Box: Phenom II 3.4GHz X4 | ASUS ATI RadeonHD 5770, 1GB GDDR5 RAM | 1x4GB DDR3 SRAM | Arch Linux, x86_64 (Cube) / Windows 7 x64 (Blob)
Quote from: Fede-lasse
Why do all the pro-Microsoft people have troll avatars? :(
Offline (Unknown gender) TGMG
Reply #39 Posted on: August 09, 2008, 04:05:16 PM

Developer
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 107

View Profile WWW Email
@ANGRY OBELISK - You went to all the bother of signing up to say that  :o
Logged
me
GMbed 2.0 :: Embed you gm games in websites.
Offline (Male) RetroX
Reply #40 Posted on: August 09, 2008, 04:09:00 PM

Master of all things Linux
Contributor
Location: US
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1055
MSN Messenger - classixretrox@gmail.com
View Profile Email
Registering isn't that hard.
Logged
My Box: Phenom II 3.4GHz X4 | ASUS ATI RadeonHD 5770, 1GB GDDR5 RAM | 1x4GB DDR3 SRAM | Arch Linux, x86_64 (Cube) / Windows 7 x64 (Blob)
Quote from: Fede-lasse
Why do all the pro-Microsoft people have troll avatars? :(
Offline (Unknown gender) basil
Reply #41 Posted on: August 09, 2008, 04:20:22 PM

Member
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 30
MSN Messenger - irbasil@hotmail.com AOL Instant Messenger - irbasil
View Profile Email
If you can't say anything nice, then GTFO.

Code: [Select]
Sending Enigma resource names
Sending Enigma resource data
Executing Enigma...
Loaded fnames successfully.
Read 122 constants
Read 33 globals
Reading 1066 bytes of locals...
Read 1066 bytes of locals
Read locals successfully.
Opened file.
File is valid.
Read icon data.
Exported icon.
Read script names.
Read object names.
Read room names.
Read sprite names.
Wrote resource names.
Exported object switch.

LOTSA CODE

Loaded and parsed all events.
Read room data.
Wrote event declarations.
Wrote event code.
Wrote inherited locals.
Wrote with and script code.
Wrote mode data.
Wrote room data.
Starting compile. This may take a minute.
The system cannot find the path specified.
Compile failed. [1]
G++ error. Compile failed (-6)

Did you use alarms?
Logged
www.Teslaur.com - Coming soon.
Offline (Male) RetroX
Reply #42 Posted on: August 09, 2008, 04:24:14 PM

Master of all things Linux
Contributor
Location: US
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1055
MSN Messenger - classixretrox@gmail.com
View Profile Email
No alarms whatsoever.  Although I am using parent objects, it that's a problem.  Source GM6:
http://willhostforfood.com/access.php?fileid=30037

If someone would be willing to compile it, please tell me if it works.  I know the slopes don't work because I haven't implemented them, but...
« Last Edit: August 09, 2008, 04:31:31 PM by RetroX » Logged
My Box: Phenom II 3.4GHz X4 | ASUS ATI RadeonHD 5770, 1GB GDDR5 RAM | 1x4GB DDR3 SRAM | Arch Linux, x86_64 (Cube) / Windows 7 x64 (Blob)
Quote from: Fede-lasse
Why do all the pro-Microsoft people have troll avatars? :(
Offline (Unknown gender) basil
Reply #43 Posted on: August 09, 2008, 04:39:53 PM

Member
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 30
MSN Messenger - irbasil@hotmail.com AOL Instant Messenger - irbasil
View Profile Email
I have no idea what your problem is but I changed the jumping to make it smoother.

Don't worry, it still has variable jumping.
I took out your grav variable too.

http://willhostforfood.com/?Action=download&fileid=30040
Logged
www.Teslaur.com - Coming soon.
Offline (Male) RetroX
Reply #44 Posted on: August 09, 2008, 04:48:15 PM

Master of all things Linux
Contributor
Location: US
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1055
MSN Messenger - classixretrox@gmail.com
View Profile Email
LOL, thanks. XD  I actually like that jumping better.

But anyways, could someone who can compile games upload the entire thing with the CORE included, just to make sure it's not me putting it in the wrong place?
Logged
My Box: Phenom II 3.4GHz X4 | ASUS ATI RadeonHD 5770, 1GB GDDR5 RAM | 1x4GB DDR3 SRAM | Arch Linux, x86_64 (Cube) / Windows 7 x64 (Blob)
Quote from: Fede-lasse
Why do all the pro-Microsoft people have troll avatars? :(
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 »
  Print