Pages: 1
  Print  
Author Topic: CodeBlocks: No sush file or directory  (Read 1677 times)
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Posted on: August 23, 2013, 09:25:13 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1166

View Profile Email
Without editing anything in the "Game" code blocks project (The enigma game "runner" source) it get tons of errors all saying this: No such file or directory ...

...along with a lot of missing headers. I want to contribute to enigma but I can't without being able to build the project. Is there something I'm doing wrong? I have the GCC compiler linked correctly and everything not sure what to do now.

Thanks
TKG
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #1 Posted on: August 23, 2013, 09:32:05 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
TKG, most of us don't even use that CodeBlocks project, Josh does, so we don't guarantee it works, usually we just modify the source files in the engine which is /SHELL then you just rerun your game, you don't actually have to run make or anything, just reruning your game will rebuild the necessary files, that is why compile takes so long the first time you install ENIGMA. And also why I started recommending people build empty games when they first set up ENIGMA.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #2 Posted on: August 23, 2013, 09:35:59 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1166

View Profile Email
Gotcha. So I can just edit the cpp's and h's in notepad ++ and build it with lateralgm's enigma menu?

edit: congrats Robert, that is your 666th post above me.
« Last Edit: August 23, 2013, 09:40:50 PM by time-killer-games » Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #3 Posted on: August 23, 2013, 10:08:23 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
hahahaha, im satanic ^_^ anyway, yes that is what I do but skip the ENIGMA menu thing, just hit run on a game, compilers, in this case mingw, automatically know which files to rebuild, screw that damn CodeBlocks project, its useless

Edit; By the way I have your game I am saving it to complete the GMX reader, I wrote most of it, I'm just bein lazy and fixing the ENIGMA.exe bugs and the ZIP and the icon, etc. I'll finish it in like a day or two and make sure your game fully loads
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #4 Posted on: August 23, 2013, 10:10:35 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1166

View Profile Email
Thanks. This should be much easier. Lol

Edit because of your edit: double thank you! :-)
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #5 Posted on: August 23, 2013, 10:28:53 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
Also, I'd try to start with something small, and don't be afraid to ask questions, if you get confused on maybe how something should be done don't be afraid to ask us. Avoid the use of proprietary code as well, you can't copy other people's code unless a) its licensing is compatible and b) you make sure to include the copyright. We can also help you assist you in learning to commit to github.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) TheExDeus
Reply #6 Posted on: August 24, 2013, 06:00:12 AM

Developer
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1872

View Profile
Code::Blocks projects are only for the .dll and the ENIGMA.exe. That is the compiler and the runner which launches LGM (which should actually be optional, but for now I think it is not). If you want to develop ENIGMA's game engine (all the functions you use while coding like drawing, math, etc.) then that is in /ENIGMAsystem and there is no C::B project for that. You just change a file, Run the game and it is compiled. So if you open ENIGMAsystem\SHELL\Graphics_Systems\OpenGL3\GL3sprite.cpp and write a new draw_sprite function it will be instantly available to you (after adding definition to \ENIGMAsystem\SHELL\Graphics_Systems\General\GSsprite.h of course) and you won't have to even restart LGM. That is why actually developing for ENIGMA itself is so easy. You change a line, and run your game, if it doesn't work, you just change a line again and run again. It usually takes few seconds to compile and so it is very rapid.
Logged
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #7 Posted on: August 24, 2013, 10:52:49 AM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1166

View Profile Email
Thanks guys. I'd preffer to talk about this on the IRC but what is the "Channels" textfield I don't remember that being there - what do I put in it? Also, the captcha letters aren't showing up for some reason. and the audio captcha I tried but heard nothing with my speakers on at full.
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #8 Posted on: August 24, 2013, 03:02:36 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
@Harri, yes, but no there is a CodeBlocks project for the engine. look in SHELL/ you should see ENIGMAengine.cbp

anyway...

@TKG, just download and install hexchat or xchat (I forget which is the Windows version) and just log into freenode, the web client sucks anyway.

Edit: Tkg, btw some of your EDC games have lost the images, Josh is moving those games to cloud storage, we are going to start offering file sharing like the YYG sandbox does.
« Last Edit: August 24, 2013, 03:49:59 PM by Robert B Colton » Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Pages: 1
  Print