Pages: 1 2 3 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Some problems I have found.  (Read 9809 times)
Offline (Male) SuperRiderTH
Posted on: June 01, 2013, 04:30:16 PM

Member
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 26

View Profile
So after making the changes in the compiler, the game will now compile and start up (After making the same changes in Ubuntu it works as well). However, I did find a few things that are not working the way they should (as in Game Maker).

There is some random crashing of the game (and LateralGM) because of rooms.
Certain rooms will crash the game by entering them, but will work fine in Game Maker.





(Also, the hub world crashes the game, but I recreated it with objects in the same locations, and it works fine :V)

And when I move one certain room in LateralGM, it becomes non responsive for a short time, or crashes it.



There is also a problem with draw_sprite_tiled

In Game Maker when you move the x and y locations of an object it will move the sprite. It does this in Enigma, but not the same way GM does it.

I am using:

x+=2
y+=1

and in GM the sprite draws and moves down and to the right.



In Enigma however, the sprite goes up and to the left and goes right off the screen :V



Video of it happening: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m8jzlM8nVxI
« Last Edit: June 01, 2013, 05:02:06 PM by SuperRiderTH » Logged
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #1 Posted on: June 01, 2013, 08:38:33 PM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2957

View Profile Email
Hiya;

See if the behavior changes in debug mode. Debug mode is designed to catch problems that ENIGMA does not waste checks on during regular engine runs.

The problem you are having is very generic. If debug mode does not catch it, that's terrible. I'll need you to file a bug report on the matter, complete with the game file or steps to reproduce.

If debug mode does catch it, you will receive an error message either in your console or in a popup window.
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Male) SuperRiderTH
Reply #2 Posted on: June 01, 2013, 09:07:27 PM

Member
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 26

View Profile
So I ran the game in debug mode. I could go in the room and everything works. However, in the terminal I got:

ERROR in some action of some event for object -5, instance id -5: Attempting to draw non-existing background -1
ERROR in some action of some event for object -5, instance id -5: Attempting to draw non-existing background -1
ERROR in some action of some event for object -5, instance id -5: Attempting to draw non-existing background -1
ERROR in some action of some event for object -5, instance id -5: Attempting to draw non-existing background -1
ERROR in some action of some event for object -5, instance id -5: Attempting to draw non-existing background -1
ERROR in some action of some event for object -5, instance id -5: Attempting to draw non-existing background -1
ERROR in some action of some event for object -5, instance id -5: Attempting to draw non-existing background -1


Call me crazy, but I don't think that there are supposed to be negative objects. Or instances. Or backgrounds.

Edit: Actually, some of the rooms still crash when going into it, and does not say anything in the terminal.
« Last Edit: June 01, 2013, 09:41:36 PM by SuperRiderTH » Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #3 Posted on: June 01, 2013, 11:20:18 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
Oh my goodness I think you just stumbled across the LGM bug me and cheeseboy had encountered, this might be a GMK bug or just a bug in LGM's room editor :P

And yes those should not be negative.
« Last Edit: June 01, 2013, 11:21:53 PM by Robert B Colton » Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Male) polygone
Reply #4 Posted on: June 02, 2013, 07:22:54 AM

Contributor
Location: England
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 803

View Profile
Wow that's great debug code Josh
Logged
I honestly don't know wtf I'm talking about but hopefully I can muddle my way through.
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #5 Posted on: June 02, 2013, 01:06:31 PM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2957

View Profile Email
It's your fault, polyfuck. You're drawing a background in screen_redraw without making sure it exists--ie, is not -1.

That debug code tells me all I fucking need to know to figure that out. -5 is global.
« Last Edit: June 02, 2013, 01:08:24 PM by Josh @ Dreamland » Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #6 Posted on: June 02, 2013, 02:02:00 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3110

View Profile
;_; polygonzzzzzzzz
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Male) polygone
Reply #7 Posted on: June 02, 2013, 02:38:01 PM

Contributor
Location: England
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 803

View Profile
It's your fault, polyfuck. You're drawing a background in screen_redraw without making sure it exists--ie, is not -1.

That debug code tells me all I fucking need to know to figure that out. -5 is global.
The background draw code has been there forever.. I presume before I even came to ENIGMA. This is your worst 'blame me' wrongness yet.
Logged
I honestly don't know wtf I'm talking about but hopefully I can muddle my way through.
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #8 Posted on: June 02, 2013, 10:16:54 PM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2957

View Profile Email
SuperRiderTH:

Make sure that in the room in question, all backgrounds are either not marked visible, or are assigned a valid background ID (one that exists). Then make sure that all tiles have valid IDs (switch to the tile list, and remove any whose backgrounds are missing).
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Unknown gender) TheExDeus
Reply #9 Posted on: June 03, 2013, 02:49:51 AM

Developer
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1872

View Profile
That is clearly an issue with either the LGM loader or plugin resource writer, as you normally can't have a tile without a background id. Though I can't remember what happened when you deleted the background. I think all the affected tiles deleted too (in GM). Though can't remember.

edit: And the background float bug is because we use room_width and room_height to set the biggest tile size. So when you move the tile -room_width it will be out the room. It should use some modulo magic to fix that.
« Last Edit: June 03, 2013, 02:53:44 AM by TheExDeus » Logged
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #10 Posted on: June 03, 2013, 10:10:37 AM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2957

View Profile Email
The point of debug mode is to provide useful error messages for diagnosing and fixing an issue. As polydip pointed out, leaving a tile problem for the background subsystem to sort produces non-useful error messages that only I know how to read. What if someone deletes a background without deleting tiles/layers that use it? There should be better error handling in the engine during debug mode.

The macro is DEBUG_MODE. When that's set, check *everything* and report errors. If needed, open a discussion here about debug mode levels, so highly expensive, ultra-frequent checks can be enabled apart from usual debug checking.
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Male) polygone
Reply #11 Posted on: June 03, 2013, 11:19:39 AM

Contributor
Location: England
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 803

View Profile
That's because nobody bothers with debug code, that's a job anybody could do at any time.
Logged
I honestly don't know wtf I'm talking about but hopefully I can muddle my way through.
Offline (Male) SuperRiderTH
Reply #12 Posted on: June 03, 2013, 12:54:06 PM

Member
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 26

View Profile
I got this in the room after I got rid of every tile, and setting every background to not visible.



Game still crashes.

If I mash ignore, it appears to go to the next room, and back every time I click it.
Logged
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #13 Posted on: June 03, 2013, 01:55:06 PM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2957

View Profile Email
Do some of your objects have sprites set which do not exist? Or maybe they're drawing a sprite that doesn't exist? I'll have to fix that error message to give the appropriate IDs so we'll know for sure.
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Unknown gender) TheExDeus
Reply #14 Posted on: June 03, 2013, 05:04:34 PM

Developer
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1872

View Profile
You can also post the .gmk (or the bare bones one) and we could check more closely.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 »
  Print