Pages: 1 2 »
  Print  
Author Topic: ENIGMA isn't ready yet  (Read 1680 times)
Offline (Unknown gender) malkierian
Posted on: May 31, 2013, 06:14:20 PM
Member
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 18

View Profile
So, I got this while trying to compile the latest with a second-to-last installer.
http://pastebin.com/4ttiv0uH

I think this is what is continually bringing up the "ENIGMA isn't ready yet" error when I try to compile or run a project.

I was able to fix those errors by casting i, arg_list.size() and args.size() to integer (what is pt supposed to be, anyway?), but now I get this error which I cannot fix:
http://pastebin.com/W1vVw7iR

Now, I re-extracted the newest package and did the manual path thing for mingw32 and it starts just fine, but I still get the "ENIGMA isn't ready yet." error when trying to run or compile.  Here's the only thing I can see wrong in the log:
http://pastebin.com/50v9TsBS

All were run/built using the MinGW32 directory that came with ENIGMA.

Any ideas?
Logged
Offline (Male) polygone
Reply #1 Posted on: May 31, 2013, 08:21:53 PM

Contributor
Location: England
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 803

View Profile
You get 'ENIGMA isn't ready yet' when you try and compile too soon after loading a game and the plugin hasn't had time to initialize. Just wait a little while if you ever get that.

That other error is the thing I was talking about yesterday, Josh still needs to fix that.
Logged
I honestly don't know wtf I'm talking about but hopefully I can muddle my way through.
Offline (Unknown gender) malkierian
Reply #2 Posted on: May 31, 2013, 09:12:42 PM
Member
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 18

View Profile
The first time this came up, I'd had the program open for two hours.  And now, I can't even make it remember its window positioning (I exit fullscreen, it comes back windowed, every time).  As well, when I try to save a project, it tells me something can't be moved to a backup so I have to overwrite, and when I exit, it still asks me if I want to save my progress, even if I just saved.

WTF is going on?! ???
Logged
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #3 Posted on: June 01, 2013, 01:23:04 AM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2956

View Profile Email
Quote
The first time this came up, I'd had the program open for two hours.
Did that fix it? If not, some error may have occurred. It should be in your console, and is probably that one from before, in which case it should be solved in the next day or two; I need a box with the latest GCC to make sure that when the ISO is not explicitly set to C++11, it still defines the __cplusplus macro appropriately.

Quote
And now, I can't even make it remember its window positioning (I exit fullscreen, it comes back windowed, every time).
It's likely no one ever coded that. You might want to file a feature request with LateralGM.

Quote
As well, when I try to save a project, it tells me something can't be moved to a backup so I have to overwrite,
Okay, this shouldn't be happening. What file format are you saving as? And where are you trying to save the file? Is the backup file marked read-only? Otherwise, this is an LGM bug, and we'll need to file it on LateralGM's tracker, too.

Quote
and when I exit, it still asks me if I want to save my progress, even if I just saved.
That was Robert's doing. Something is wrong with the way LateralGM handles change tracking, so the program can't check for usaved chages when you try to close it. Before, it just closed without warning. Robert modified it to prompt every time instead. The bug is known, and in fact has been known for some time; we have no ETA on a fix. There's a big push for GMX support in LGM, though, which will mean a substantial amount of refactoring. It's possible these changes will include a fix for this issue, too.
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Male) polygone
Reply #4 Posted on: June 01, 2013, 05:24:31 AM

Contributor
Location: England
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 803

View Profile
And now, I can't even make it remember its window positioning (I exit fullscreen, it comes back windowed, every time).
That's some crap Robert recently introduced, it never used to happen. He presumably changed it to start windowed but I think most people prefer it to be started full screen.
Logged
I honestly don't know wtf I'm talking about but hopefully I can muddle my way through.
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #5 Posted on: June 01, 2013, 06:22:37 AM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3108

View Profile
Polygone, I did not do any such thing, why would I even care if it started either or? Shouldn't it open maximized by default anyway? If you would go and read the change log you would see the only frame size I changed was room editor because you always had to expand it as soon as you opened it. I may have inadvertantly changed but if so my apologies.

Anyway yes as Josh stated it always asking for you to save on exit was my doing. I felt it better to be safe than sorry until it is worked out that we can detect project changes. If you hit yes it does in fact save, it works like it should it just always pops up fo rhte time being, as members were getting irritated by accidentally closing and losing progress. As for the rest of the resource editors in the MDI area, those are fine they do detect changes to the resources.

As for having it memorize the frame position, ya I think Josh is right and nobody coded it, if you make a feature request I will get around to implementing it when I get back on LGM, because it has actually been annoying me as well.

But these tiny anomalies are in no way related to you keeping LGM open for two hours. Now as far as that backup error it would greatly help if you could file an issue onthe tracker Josh linked you to so that I can diagnos it when I get to it, you can also just file the bug report here on the websites tracker in the navigation bar, but I'd prefer it be on LGM's tracker through the link Josh gave.
« Last Edit: June 01, 2013, 09:36:54 AM by Robert B Colton » Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Male) polygone
Reply #6 Posted on: June 01, 2013, 06:38:58 AM

Contributor
Location: England
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 803

View Profile
Maybe the message shouldn't say "you have not saved your recent changes", it could just ask "do you want to save" for now.
Logged
I honestly don't know wtf I'm talking about but hopefully I can muddle my way through.
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #7 Posted on: June 01, 2013, 09:38:06 AM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3108

View Profile
No polygonz I'd rather just take the time to do the serializer than change the message. Now anyway I checked and it is memorizing the window position and maximized Window state for me on Linux already the stuff is there, the bug may be related to Windows, is that what operating system you are on? I should also mention the issue regarding object group icons being nothing, that is actually a feature to have the first object in a group give the group its sprite icon, I had accidentally turned it on internally in the settings, I have thus disabled it if you download the new LGM jar from this topic...

http://enigma-dev.org/forums/index.php?topic=1245.0

« Last Edit: June 01, 2013, 09:39:56 AM by Robert B Colton » Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) malkierian
Reply #8 Posted on: June 01, 2013, 01:17:55 PM
Member
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 18

View Profile
Did that fix it? If not, some error may have occurred. It should be in your console, and is probably that one from before, in which case it should be solved in the next day or two; I need a box with the latest GCC to make sure that when the ISO is not explicitly set to C++11, it still defines the __cplusplus macro appropriately.
No, like I said, the only error is about that libInit whatever that I posted in the last paste.

Quote
Okay, this shouldn't be happening. What file format are you saving as? And where are you trying to save the file? Is the backup file marked read-only? Otherwise, this is an LGM bug, and we'll need to file it on LateralGM's tracker, too.
I'm saving it as .egm, and I don't even know where the backup file is, so I wouldn't know where to find it to see if it is marked as read-only.  However, on a search for the file name, without the extension, aside from some other files and folders brought up because of other times I've tried to make this game, only the .egm actually shows up.  Is it possible the place it's trying to write it to is protected?

Quote
That was Robert's doing. Something is wrong with the way LateralGM handles change tracking, so the program can't check for usaved chages when you try to close it. Before, it just closed without warning. Robert modified it to prompt every time instead. The bug is known, and in fact has been known for some time; we have no ETA on a fix. There's a big push for GMX support in LGM, though, which will mean a substantial amount of refactoring. It's possible these changes will include a fix for this issue, too.
OK, that I can understand.  It's the not being able to back up and ENIGMA not being ready that are really annoying me.
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #9 Posted on: June 01, 2013, 01:20:57 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3108

View Profile
Quote
Is it possible the place it's trying to write it to is protected?
Sounds like its doing a .gb or .gb1 global backup that GM does :P It is probably putting them in your temp directory because that is where exectuables get outputted currently.
« Last Edit: June 01, 2013, 01:22:28 PM by Robert B Colton » Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) malkierian
Reply #10 Posted on: June 01, 2013, 01:44:52 PM
Member
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 18

View Profile
Why would the temp folder be protected?  It just doesn't make sense.  Maybe it should make them into a folder called "{projectName}-Backups" next to the project file itself instead of to temp?

However, although the latest LateralGM.jar and enigma.jar you posted in that thread didn't fix anything on here so far (I really didn't expect it to), it did allow me to add images to sprite subimage layers instead of replacing everything with the latest selected.  I appreciate that much.
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #11 Posted on: June 01, 2013, 02:43:06 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3108

View Profile
No once we work it out we will let you select your build directory on a per project basis I might even get to it myself in this release. And hey no problem that was cheeseboys request that I add that button, but also I need to take the time to investigate why the window position does not save on close for Windows, it is working fine for Linux.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) TheExDeus
Reply #12 Posted on: June 02, 2013, 03:36:38 AM

Developer
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1872

View Profile
malkierian: Have you tried deleting ENIGMA and reinstalling it? Like for me it takes about 3 tries for some bizarre reason for it to work. It either bitches about Java, mingw or both. After about 3 tries it's ok.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) malkierian
Reply #13 Posted on: June 02, 2013, 05:00:06 AM
Member
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 18

View Profile
Yeah, I've done that almost ten times by now. Are you using a specific version of mingw? I can't seem to find a compatible version.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) TheExDeus
Reply #14 Posted on: June 02, 2013, 05:57:30 AM

Developer
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1872

View Profile
The gcc -v I have is 4.7.2 (that is the one in the PATH, which is MinGW32). I don't think I use the one with ENIGMA.

edit: Have you tried deleting everything, extracting ENIGMA, then move winpatch.zip to a different folder and run ENIGMA.exe. This will mean that ENIGMA.exe won't extract the old .jar and and won't run it, it will just clone git and close. Then extract the .zip manually, but replace the lgm16b4.jar and plugin.jar with the new ones Robert gives: http://enigma-dev.org/forums/index.php?topic=1245.0 (remember to rename it to lgm16b4.jar) . And the finally run the ENIGMA.exe. Now it will compile the .dll and it should work. If it doesn't then try all that again, but this time specify your path to mingw again (like you said you did previously).
« Last Edit: June 02, 2013, 06:01:27 AM by TheExDeus » Logged
Pages: 1 2 »
  Print