Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Window Styler, Web Browser, and Embed Program  (Read 22809 times)
Offline (Unknown gender) sorlok_reaves
Reply #30 Posted on: September 25, 2014, 12:08:36 PM
Contributor
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 261

View Profile
Fake fullscreen is also super-useful if you don't want your display to switch resolutions every time you Alt-Tab. Depending on the type of game (e.g., RTS, RPG), it can be very useful to tab to the wiki really quick and check some enemy stat.
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #31 Posted on: September 25, 2014, 12:20:18 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3151

View Profile
The only real downside is slightly lower framerate's because the window manager can't cut out any of the intermediate.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #32 Posted on: September 25, 2014, 12:53:46 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1168

View Profile Email


I am even part of Sam's extension now. That is scary!  :o (and as much as the message box would like you to believe, window sizes are only 'sometimes' correct - but who are we to argue with a message box - LOL  :pseudo:)

Also, I don't get the purpose of 'Fake Fullscreen'. Feel free to enlighten me on that one :)

What is really scary is you don't know what a change log or notification is, and that's what you're looking at. If you delete that alarm like it blatantly says, it's gone. A monkey could do it. If you are crippled enough to not do that in under 10 seconds, you can simply delete that one line of code.

100/100 people would agree there's nothing wrong with that. It is informative, it's no skin off anyone's back and it can be done in under 10 sec unless you are seriously mentally retarded.

I used window_get_width()/height() to show what's on that message. I even went through the trouble of taking a screenshot of every window type, then I cropped out everything but the client area, doing so pixel-exact, and sure enough every window was the correct size. If there are still bugs with literally anything besides fakefullscreen I doubt it seriously. I even tested everything on an existing game. Everything was perfect.

Fake fullscreen is the only one I haven't tested like the others, but it overlaps the taskbar now and it uses code nearly identical to borderless so I'm very certain you are just trying to yank my chain.

There's only one bug period it has to do with a sizeable window as I've already pointed out. Won't explain again. If people really want a sizeable window (the minority) they don't need my extension they can use global game settings which is built-in and cross-platform for desktops.
Lonewolff aren't you getting a little too excited for what's really going on?
« Last Edit: September 25, 2014, 01:42:15 PM by time-killer-games » Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) Darkstar2
Reply #33 Posted on: September 25, 2014, 12:56:09 PM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1258

View Profile Email
The only real downside is slightly lower framerate's because the window manager can't cut out any of the intermediate.

Is this mandatory or is there a way to switch to a real full screen mode - I believe GM used this in earlier versions, it can have some impact on frame rate - they referred to it as fake FS mode back then, but changed something and used real full screen at some point.

I don't like the idea of anything fake. Commercial games run either in windows or real full screen.  What's the big deal for switching resolution when you alt-tab ?
most people use LCD monitors now anyway so it's not a long process :D
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #34 Posted on: September 25, 2014, 01:04:23 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3151

View Profile
Well for one Darkstar2, real FS proves to be a lot more glitchy with Alt+Tab especially with games that lock the mouse, I always hated this with GM games too but it's not just GM games that have this problem. San Andreas for one was/is notorious for screwing up once you Alt+Tab and so are Battlefield games. I believe Studio is when GM started using real FS, it really isn't necessary for 2D games, given an efficient engine they are usually low performance hogs.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #35 Posted on: September 25, 2014, 01:18:02 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1168

View Profile Email
Every game I've played commercial or not uses fake (Skyrim, Sims 3, ASA - A Space Adventure, The Filmmaker, Rollercoaster Tycoon 2, etc etc). True full screen is a requirement of Microsoft that no one really follows but YYG. I use a variety of game engines I've purchased, including not just GMS. GM 8.1, Monkey-X, BlitzMax, Stencyl, Adventure Maker, Construct 2, Adventure Game Studio and last but not least ENIGMA used to and I believe it still does - they all use "fake" full screen but really it's just regular fullscreen that allows child windows.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2014, 03:56:58 PM by time-killer-games » Logged
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #36 Posted on: September 25, 2014, 01:24:30 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1168

View Profile Email
Also lonewolff I was already going to remove that message box given you'd actually remove your review first which your review is now technically lying to everyone at this point. :P

YYG featured my extension on the marketplace homepage under "extending windows", so no matter how much you don't like my now perfectly stable extension YYG don't agree with you nor does anyone else so good luck making your invalid points.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2014, 01:40:18 PM by time-killer-games » Logged
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #37 Posted on: September 25, 2014, 01:38:19 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1168

View Profile Email
@Darkstar2 yes when you are done using child windows you can stop calling FakeFullscreen() every step and while that's not being called you can switch to true full screen with window_set_full screen(1) GML.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) Darkstar2
Reply #38 Posted on: September 25, 2014, 01:54:29 PM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1258

View Profile Email

It is a 'Marketplace'. Nothing should be released before it has even been tested.

I personally would never release anything unless I know it is 100% bug free

Amazing !  You just described what 99.9% software on the market are NOT. :P  Testing for obvious bugs and functionality I agree 100%, but 100% bug free that's over the top, if you have a gift then you are sitting on a gold mine and a fortune, and you should go work for Microsoft and company :D and teach them how it's done lol!  100% bug free, that'll be the day.......Sometimes you can test over and over and discover bugs later on, what you want to sort out are the obvious bugs most people can spot and find.....It is not uncommon for software not to be tested properly........I see bugs all the time in software and go "how the bloody hell didn't those people find this obvious bug a 10 year old could figure out", sounds familiar?  I see that in software and games... How about the very operating system !

Quote
(as certain as you can be of that anyway). People will find bugs and they will annihilate you if they find them.

True. So true.......Which is why it's best to find them early on - But on the good side it's FREE.....vs. an $800 software full of bugs and glitches :D

Quote
This is one of the major problems with the Enigma project. I don't know how it is now, but it was always freatures over stability. No one wants features over stability.

It's not as much as a problem as a software costing $800 which now has a large team...... ENIGMA is FREE, open source and relies on multiple contributors, which are scarce, and as you know some parts of ENIGMA are an utter MESS, left over by some previous contributors who left for whatever reason so leaving 2 developers who barely have time to piss picking up the pieces and MESS left overs, and few contributors here and there patching things and adding stuff, so yeah CONSIDERING this situation it's not bad.  What ENIGMA needs is more contributors, and to contribute to ENIGMA, a C++ background :D and Java for LGM. :D and knowledge on graphics progamming and sound progamming for working with gfx and snd libs.  So yeah that's what sets apart commercial products from open source.

Stability over features, true, but people want both, as people praise your product for its features......if it is stable but lacks feature you will still be "annihilated" (your term :D) So anyhow many fixes and bugs resolved since you left, and many new features added, particularly to the IDE.
They probably added and fixed more stuff in that time period than YYG did at the crawling snail's pace they work on, but hey they are too busy now on developing GMS 2, so soon enough your beloved GMS 1.3/1.4 will be abandoned just like they abandoned GM8.1 where people reported many bugs left overs they ignored and didn't want to bloody fix....... So yeah....:D

Quote
I always go by the rule, start with a small feature list and make those features rock solid.

You are wise indeed, I agree.  But the key word here is START.  So one should say ENIGMA should have STARTED, but again with an open source project with multiple contributions, on a FREE project sometimes it can be hard to get people on the same wave length, you witnessed that ay ? lol :D

Yes you START at the base and build and make sure your foundation is solid.  But what happens when you started wrong and have built an empire full of cracked walls and duct tape everywhere, it's overwhelming you just want to kick your nuts ???  Sometimes demolishing and rebuilding is not a real option, building ENIGMA took 100 years, so asking people to wait another 100 is ludicrous :D
So yeah you raise a good point, so at this stage they work with what they have and the time they have, better than nothing, I have seen lots since joining here, lots have been fixed and addressed, one could build a full functioning game in ENIGMA...there will always be bugs here and there and they are being addressed to the best of their ability and time ..... it's not as if they are adding new features every second day, most of what's done are bug fixes, but the problem is so much mess left behind, some stuff to be fixed would require lots of hard work.....but ultimately this whole attachment via GM's umbilical cord comes with a price......do people want a stable solid FAST ENIGMA or be attached to GM's knob, that's the question.  Personally I'd love to see ENIGMA be its own product, with the same ease of use, feature set + + +, and break from the whole GM compatibility - do stuff their own way, efficient, fast, stable.....I think part of what's holding back is the compatibility, maybe someone can correct me if i'm wrong.

Quote
Set the benchmark on how it should be done. Build a frame out of titanium, instead of trying to build a mansion with cards. ;)

Right.......Now go back in time using Art Bell's time machine contraption and go tell that to YYG..... Oh wait....then I guess if GM fit that description maybe there would be no ENIGMA.........Yeah we should be thankful for GM, as ENIGMA would not exist without ....... :D :D :D
Logged
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #39 Posted on: September 25, 2014, 03:45:16 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1168

View Profile Email
Dark I love your wall of text. You mind if I gently stroke your lovely wall of text?
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) lonewolff
Reply #40 Posted on: September 25, 2014, 05:09:14 PM
"Guest"


Email
@time-killer-games - I think you've forgotten to take your med's again. I am not having an attack on you at all. Why would I by lying about your extension. It does still have a couple of bugs in it. You just don't know how to test for them obviously. ;)

As soon as I tell you what the bugs are you'll end up sending me half a dozen apology emails again, like you do every other week...  :-[

@Everyone else - Good points about the 'fake fullscreen'. I hadn't thought about message boxes over the top. Nice idea :)

@Darkstar2 - Yes, no software is ever 100% bug free. But, It should go out the door with no known bugs. So, I guess the wording should have been 'percieved 100% bug free' :)
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) Darkstar2
Reply #41 Posted on: September 25, 2014, 05:29:28 PM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1258

View Profile Email
@time-killer-games - I think you've forgotten to take your med's again. I am not having an attack on you at all. Why would I by lying about your extension. It does still have a couple of bugs in it. You just don't know how to test for them obviously. ;)

BTW, can someone re-edit / remove their reviews in market place, I wasn't aware this was allowed in any site where you review something.  I guess the fair thing to do would be to modify the review reflecting the fixed / bugs / changed stuff.

Quote
@Darkstar2 - Yes, no software is ever 100% bug free. But, It should go out the door with no known bugs. So, I guess the wording should have been 'percieved 100% bug free' :)

Exactly, that's the point I was making, weeding out the obvious bugs which a 10 year old can spot, blind folded :D

There are so many software with easy bugs, I have tested and reported many, I've been in internal testing teams for graphic cards company and it is RIDICULOUS the stuff I would discover, and the stuff the team would discover.

SADLY despite all the attempts to weed this out, when releasing some software or hardware things get eventually found, even the "how could I have missed that" type of bugs, what you want to avoid as much as possible :D  For those FREE extensions it would be wiser to have them properly tested offline, either alone or with the help of others BEFORE releasing them on the market, as anything released to public is subject to scrutiny and critics, so long as the criticism is warranted and factual, and helpful to the developer of the extension.

and all is needed now is extensions to re-enable all the deprecated crap YYG removed, remove sand box limitation and other r*****ed poo they imposed people, to make it an attractive engine for windows developers wanting to raise the bar in game making, mind you YYG did something great with the IDE where you don't have to pre-load all assets when run.......this is probably one of the best decisions they made lol, but anyhow, better late than never.
Logged
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #42 Posted on: September 25, 2014, 07:15:08 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1168

View Profile Email
This is what I look like when I don't take my meds.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) lonewolff
Reply #43 Posted on: September 25, 2014, 07:22:23 PM
"Guest"


Email
This is what I look like when I don't take my meds.


Haha! True :)

Just remember, we are not against you. OK? :)

Just think of us all as the hill-billy inbred miss-fit family. We all spaz out from time to time. LOL  (Y)
Logged
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #44 Posted on: September 25, 2014, 07:26:13 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1168

View Profile Email
Haha XD especially applying to this communty, myself included.
Logged
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 »
  Print