Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 11
  Print  
Author Topic: Window Styler, Web Browser, and Embed Program  (Read 22089 times)
Offline (Unknown gender) Darkstar2
Reply #15 Posted on: September 24, 2014, 05:22:59 PM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1258

View Profile Email
Very good point, lone is right on that one.

When you say a window is 640x480 it means the whole window size combined, including caption/style/border, since these pixels are part of the "window". :)

Logged
Offline (Male) Transitive Property
Reply #16 Posted on: September 24, 2014, 08:21:14 PM
Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1154

View Profile Email
Okay good to know, thank you!
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) Darkstar2
Reply #17 Posted on: September 24, 2014, 08:23:49 PM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1258

View Profile Email
Be careful, he'll be billing you for all that advice  :D :pseudo:
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #18 Posted on: September 24, 2014, 09:15:42 PM

Contributor
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3147

View Profile
TKG, you still never answered me, how are you hiding the taskbar icon? I need to know so that I can see if there is an issue with ENIGMA.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Male) Transitive Property
Reply #19 Posted on: September 24, 2014, 10:43:37 PM
Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1154

View Profile Email
@Robert I'm not. GameMaker:Studio is doing that somehow. I know this because in the GM 8.1 equivalent the icon is still down there.
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #20 Posted on: September 24, 2014, 10:46:07 PM

Contributor
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3147

View Profile
Huh weird, what is the intended behavior for you? I take it since it is unintentional that you want it shown, though I am not sure because I know that you block minimize. It seems to be some inconsistency with Studio for GM8.1 and ENIGMA. If you find anything else out I'd like to know, thanks!  (Y)
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Male) Transitive Property
Reply #21 Posted on: September 24, 2014, 10:53:53 PM
Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1154

View Profile Email
For it to remain on the taskbar.


Edit. Will do. :D
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) Darkstar2
Reply #22 Posted on: September 24, 2014, 10:55:02 PM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1258

View Profile Email
Are you referring to his escape lab 3d game?  It doesn't hide the taskbar for me. I play at 1920x1080 and the taskbar is there, not hidden. :)
Logged
Offline (Male) Transitive Property
Reply #23 Posted on: September 24, 2014, 10:56:26 PM
Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1154

View Profile Email
Not hiding the taskbar, hiding the game's taskbar icon.

Edit. And yes this does apply to that game. You could also run it at 1280x1024 just fine if your hardware supports it.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2014, 10:59:04 PM by time-killer-games » Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) Darkstar2
Reply #24 Posted on: September 24, 2014, 11:19:47 PM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1258

View Profile Email
Not hiding the taskbar, hiding the game's taskbar icon.

Edit. And yes this does apply to that game. You could also run it at 1280x1024 just fine if your hardware supports it.

Ahhh ok gotcha now, true.  I noticed that too.  :)
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) lonewolff
Reply #25 Posted on: September 24, 2014, 11:42:40 PM
"Guest"


Email
Be careful, he'll be billing you for all that advice  :D :pseudo:

Still writing up the invoice ;)
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) Darkstar2
Reply #26 Posted on: September 25, 2014, 12:33:33 AM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1258

View Profile Email
Be careful, he'll be billing you for all that advice  :D :pseudo:

Still writing up the invoice ;)

It will probably have lots of 9's too :D

Anyhow, yeah I have not tried his extension, because I don't use GM now, but is it really 1 star? Isn't that harsh ? :D
Many software have bugs and issues and get rated 2 or 3 stars :D I guess we all learn from mistakes, I have done far worse mistakes in programming.....:D but luckily I would discover them early.


Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) lonewolff
Reply #27 Posted on: September 25, 2014, 02:05:12 AM
"Guest"


Email
It will probably have lots of 9's too :D

Anyhow, yeah I have not tried his extension, because I don't use GM now, but is it really 1 star? Isn't that harsh ? :D
Many software have bugs and issues and get rated 2 or 3 stars :D I guess we all learn from mistakes, I have done far worse mistakes in programming.....:D but luckily I would discover them early.

Possibly on the harsh side. But as it stood, it simply didn't work.

It is a 'Marketplace'. Nothing should be released before it has even been tested.

I personally would never release anything unless I know it is 100% bug free (as certain as you can be of that anyway). People will find bugs and they will annihilate you if they find them. Especially ones that will cause image distortions.

This is one of the major problems with the Enigma project. I don't know how it is now, but it was always freatures over stability. No one wants features over stability.

I always go by the rule, start with a small feature list and make those features rock solid. Set the benchmark on how it should be done. Build a frame out of titanium, instead of trying to build a mansion with cards. ;)

[Hopping off the soapbox now :)]

Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) lonewolff
Reply #28 Posted on: September 25, 2014, 02:56:19 AM
"Guest"


Email
About to try the new version now.

This is signs of an unfit mind though. First thing that pop's up in the extension now. LMAO!  :smileycat:



I am even part of Sam's extension now. That is scary!  :o (and as much as the message box would like you to believe, window sizes are only 'sometimes' correct - but who are we to argue with a message box - LOL  :pseudo:)

Just tested this. It is a lot better but not still without bugs. Don't want to spoil the fun though, so I'll let you find them ;)

Probably closer to a 3 or 4 star rating now on the 'J-Spec' chart. Getting there!  (Y)

Also, I don't get the purpose of 'Fake Fullscreen'. Feel free to enlighten me on that one :)
« Last Edit: September 25, 2014, 03:16:06 AM by lonewolff » Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #29 Posted on: September 25, 2014, 10:47:09 AM

Contributor
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3147

View Profile
Quote from: lonewolff
Also, I don't get the purpose of 'Fake Fullscreen'. Feel free to enlighten me on that one
I can offer you an advantage, MessageBox and other dialogs can not render on top of true fullscreen applications, they may possibly be able to render on top of fake FS applications however. Studio has to minimize out of fullscreen whenever you show_message, and currently ENIGMA will show the message anyway but you can't see it but you can still get out of it by pressing enter.

@TKG, by the way this is honestly quite funny, embedding YYG's website into an ENIGMA game lololololol, never thought I'd see the day.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2014, 10:48:45 AM by Robert B Colton » Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 11
  Print