ENIGMA Forums

General fluff => General ENIGMA => Topic started by: ShadowMan on August 10, 2015, 11:12:41 PM

Title: Does ENIGMA work with Game Maker .exe files and my 2 ENIGMA other questions
Post by: ShadowMan on August 10, 2015, 11:12:41 PM
My name is Jason.


http://enigma-dev.org/download.htm < if ENIGMA does work with Game Maker .exe files what can Enigma do with them?


Do I need to register (ENIGMA) or anything (ENIGMA)?
Title: Re: Does ENIGMA work with Game Maker .exe files and my 2 ENIGMA other questions
Post by: time-killer-games on August 11, 2015, 01:56:50 AM
Hello again Jason.

Now this i can be more a help with. Enigma is free and open source, therefore requires no lisensing. GameMaker and gameMaker:Studio from yoyogames.com however is commerial to unlock all their features. While you can decompile legacy non-studio branded gamemaker exes thru decompilation, and there are rumors of a stidio decompiler in the works i see at random places, which that one may be just urban legend - decompilation breaks the YYG EULA and could kill your game maker softare keys, it would also allow you to steal other ppls work that could then modify to your liking, all of which very bad idead that could get you in a heap of legal issues, not worth risking, aside from the morality aspect of things.

Though what enigma does isnt decompile exes, what enigma does is load game maker and game maker studio project files, and can compile them into native platforms using our own technology (well the enigma devs technoligy as im not a contributor of the engine just yet). The formats it loads a gm binary blobs spit out by game maker for project and game settings assets and data (gmd, gmk, gm81, etc) and gm studio project folders known as gmx, written in xml directories and all the assets of the project unencrypted. enigma also has its own independant format should you not care for total GM or GMS accessability, the egm format exclusive to enigma.

Hope any of this makes sense. My head is jumbled right now and should turn in for the night, its 2:55 AM in virginia beach.

Samuel
Title: Re: Does ENIGMA work with Game Maker .exe files and my 2 ENIGMA other questions
Post by: TheExDeus on August 11, 2015, 04:55:07 AM
I think TKG answered, but just to be clear:
If you mean  GameMaker.exe as in the exe for GM program itself, then ENIGMA doesn't do anything at all with it and is in no way connected. If you mean a game .exe made by GM then TKG answered that (in short, we don't and can't do anything with that either).
Title: Re: Does ENIGMA work with Game Maker .exe files and my 2 ENIGMA other questions
Post by: time-killer-games on August 11, 2015, 07:37:55 AM
exdeus filled in any gap that may have remained. But if you have more questions do feel free to ask. :)
Title: Re: Does ENIGMA work with Game Maker .exe files and my 2 ENIGMA other questions
Post by: Darkstar2 on August 12, 2015, 07:22:09 PM
Speaking of decompilers, didn't YYG patch this already ? What about YYC produced EXE, can those be decompiled as well ?  As far as ENIGMA compiled EXE those cannot be decompiled either I guess, right ?

It's amazing how much people will go to length to steal from someone else.
That says a lot about the GMC community.  Nothing is secure 100% but at least make it challenge lol.

I seem to recall mention that YYC compiled EXE would be difficult to decompile, they would not get code
or variables, or something like that right.  As far as extracting resources that can be done no matter YYC or runner or ENIGMA or whatever, but getting code back would not be possible, integral code, scripts, variables, etc. Right Harri ?
Title: Re: Does ENIGMA work with Game Maker .exe files and my 2 ENIGMA other questions
Post by: TheExDeus on August 13, 2015, 04:33:04 AM
In compiled code it is usually not possible to get the original source back. You can just get assembler which is usually not that useful. It is possible to add debugging symbols to the exe (like when you press Debug in ENIGMA) which is actually your sourcecode. I think GM did it even for release mode some time ago, I reckon for better error messages. You cannot really show a detailed error if you don't include at least part of the source in game.

Resources of course can be extracted always. Both from GM and ENIGMA.
Title: Re: Does ENIGMA work with Game Maker .exe files and my 2 ENIGMA other questions
Post by: time-killer-games on August 13, 2015, 05:27:20 AM
hold up. Congrats on the member category promotion there Harri!! :D
Title: Re: Does ENIGMA work with Game Maker .exe files and my 2 ENIGMA other questions
Post by: TheExDeus on August 13, 2015, 05:38:12 AM
I think I have been "Developer" for years now. I don't think it happened just now.
edit: Or maybe I was "Contributor".
Title: Re: Does ENIGMA work with Game Maker .exe files and my 2 ENIGMA other questions
Post by: time-killer-games on August 13, 2015, 12:01:25 PM
as for yur edit, lol no kidding :P
Title: Re: Does ENIGMA work with Game Maker .exe files and my 2 ENIGMA other questions
Post by: Josh @ Dreamland on September 03, 2015, 11:06:31 PM
For a long time, the "Developer" tag was just a repaint of "Administrator," but I eventually fixed that (they're regular SMF membergroups, now, and I hard-coded tags for them). I wasn't very diligent with updating assignments, though. Of course, Harri is a privileged member—just not an administrator. This is mostly because the admin panel is duct-taped together, and it's very easy to break something in it, so I tend to stay out of it myself and don't see a reason to give anyone else access. But yes, I only fixed his "Developer" badge a few months ago. In my defense, there were political reasons that had nothing to do with my own feelings which prevented this change in the earlier stages of the board.