ENIGMA Forums

Contributing to ENIGMA => Proposals => Topic started by: egofree on December 15, 2014, 02:33:40 PM

Title: Selection tool
Post by: egofree on December 15, 2014, 02:33:40 PM
I propose to add two new icons in the rooms editor : a selection toggle button and a paint bucket button. When the selection button is pressed, the user can draw a rectangle in the room and select a region. With the selected region, it is possible with the bucket button to fill it with an object or a tile. By pressing the delete key or by clicking on the delete button, the objects or the tiles in the selected region are deleted. It will be also possible to do a cut/copy, move the region and do paste. As far as i know, these functions are not available in GM studio. To give an idea, here is a screenshot, where a region has been filled with an object :

(http://nsa34.casimages.com/img/2014/12/15/141215082811961019.png)
Title: Re: Selection tool
Post by: Darkstar2 on December 15, 2014, 03:59:00 PM
Brilliant idea ! Any UNIQUE feature to ENIGMA is always a big plus.

I can think already of many good uses for this.

Title: Re: Selection tool
Post by: TheExDeus on December 16, 2014, 03:44:20 AM
I think that was basically the idea of the Batch tab for tiles which was never implemented and sat there like a stub. I would like something like that as well, where you can box-select, multi-select (while holding shift or similar) and drag, copy or delete them all at once.
Title: Re: Selection tool
Post by: Darkstar2 on December 16, 2014, 02:19:50 PM
I think that was basically the idea of the Batch tab for tiles which was never implemented and sat there like a stub. I would like something like that as well, where you can box-select, multi-select (while holding shift or similar) and drag, copy or delete them all at once.

It's funny because I thought this would actually be a feature of GMS......oh well, I guess won't be long before they implement it eventually....would be a good idea for GMS2, due for beta this year lol!

Title: Re: Selection tool
Post by: Goombert on December 17, 2014, 04:23:26 PM
Yes this is actually a very nice feature, nice work egofree. We should actually find out from IsmAvatar what the purpose of the Batch tab was, because if this fulfills the purpose it should be deleted. For rendering we automatically handle batching in the engine, there's not much the user can do from the IDE aside from assigning texture pages which is not done from the room editor. If this is the case, we should remove that useless tab. And we really should just combine the add and edit tabs like they are in GM and Studio because there's not that much difference between the tabs. I think we should also replace the shift icon with arrows pointing in all 4 or 8 directions instead of just to the right, I mean as a single icon for the button, not 4 or 8 different buttons, think of the drag and drop move icons.
Title: Re: Selection tool
Post by: egofree on December 18, 2014, 04:28:13 AM
Robert:
Thanks for the feedback.

I want also to add two new toggle buttons in the rooms toolbar : 'Snapping' and 'Add on top'. Right now, if you want to disable snapping, you have to press the alt key. But if a user has to press often this key, it can be come cumbersome. These keys would be still available, but it would be possible now to able or disable the 'snappings and 'add on top' mode with these buttons.
Title: Re: Selection tool
Post by: egofree on December 18, 2014, 07:17:23 AM
Robert:
I've removed already the batch tab. Of course, it would be useful to merge add and edit tabs for tiles, but there is not enough space. In the add tab, you have the background and in the edit the tiles list. The only solution i see would be to put the list in another window.
Title: Re: Selection tool
Post by: Goombert on December 18, 2014, 02:23:08 PM
I don't know egofree, we have about the same options as Studio's and it seems if they were combined like GM's has always been it wouldn't take up anymore room than the objects tab. Unless I am missing something?

(http://i.imgur.com/6VvZkY3.png)
Title: Re: Selection tool
Post by: egofree on December 18, 2014, 02:42:49 PM
Unless I am missing something?

But in GM Studio, you don't have the tiles list. What are we doing with this list ? Should we get rid of it ?

(http://nsa34.casimages.com/img/2014/12/18/141218091050234315.png)
Title: Re: Selection tool
Post by: edsquare on December 18, 2014, 03:30:50 PM
Unless I am missing something?

But in GM Studio, you don't have the tiles list. What are we doing with this list ? Should we get rid of it ?

(http://nsa34.casimages.com/img/2014/12/18/141218091050234315.png)

You could:

A.- Get rid of it  ???

B.- Put it in a button/pop up window   ???

C.- Make the whole Tiles tab Scrollable   ???

D.- Do nothing and leave everything as it is  :(

E.-Something else I didn't think about and that makes a lot more sense?  :D