ENIGMA Forums

General fluff => General ENIGMA => Topic started by: time-killer-games on April 25, 2013, 10:56:50 am

Title: Changing Screen Resolution
Post by: time-killer-games on April 25, 2013, 10:56:50 am
 :smileycat: gotta love that cat...

Anyway, enigma should really have a built in means to change the screen resolution.

But for now, you guys can use this dll: http://sandbox.yoyogames.com/games/215052-set-display-resolution-dll

To make it easier to implement in enigma itself, I included the CodeBlocks/C++ source.

Enjoy.
Time Killer Games Productions
Title: Re: Changing Screen Resolution
Post by: Goombert on April 25, 2013, 11:06:13 am
Very nice, but you know what would be better?

If you integrated it directly to the engine, your welcome to contribute so long as your willing to go GPL and youll need to learn GitHub.  :cool:

Nobody has implemented the screen resolution function yes, thats why it has not been added  ;D

Edit: If you like smiley cat, you should vote in the poll below this one, some members want him removed.
Title: Re: Changing Screen Resolution
Post by: TheExDeus on April 25, 2013, 01:10:53 pm
I just checked and they are implemented (and working) on windows.
Title: Re: Changing Screen Resolution
Post by: time-killer-games on April 25, 2013, 02:44:56 pm
Just voted in favor for the freaking featured feline :)

Also, I know absolutely nothing about git, but I'll definitely look into this whenever I have some extra spare time. :)

Edit: that's odd, I tried both the global game settings and the display_set_size() function and it didn't work when I test run. Does this mean I have to compile it in order to see this in action? I can't because for whatever reason it always gives me an error when I try to do that. So I just take the temp file during a test run and change the extension to exe.
Title: Re: Changing Screen Resolution
Post by: Goombert on April 25, 2013, 02:49:17 pm
Basically what github does is just track our source code. We host it in one place called a repository, that repository can then be branched by developers, called a fork. I work off of my own fork and make changes to it, then when I want to include those changes in the engine everybody uses I merge them with the main repository. It also offers the ability to track bugs, suggestions, feature reuqests, and todo lists. It is a basic necessity for groups of people working on the same code, because it can detect conflicts between developers and allow you to fix them properly.
Title: Re: Changing Screen Resolution
Post by: time-killer-games on April 25, 2013, 02:56:33 pm
Thanks! If anyone is willing to work with me on this I'd love to make a java, flash, and a html5 target. I'll post a topic about this to give more details.
Title: Re: Changing Screen Resolution
Post by: TheExDeus on April 25, 2013, 03:35:59 pm
I used the newest version from git (installed with polyone windows installer) and used display_set_size() in create event. It worked and changed the resolution.