Pages: « 1 2 3
  Print  
Author Topic: Compiling from source  (Read 10603 times)
Offline (Male) polygone
Reply #30 Posted on: August 27, 2013, 05:01:20 PM

Contributor
Location: England
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 794

View Profile
Did you read my post?  https://app.box.com/s/bm118pruzkcshoimr8w1
Logged
I honestly don't know wtf I'm talking about but hopefully I can muddle my way through.
Offline (Unknown gender) TheExDeus
Reply #31 Posted on: August 28, 2013, 01:13:07 AM

Developer
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1860

View Profile
If you will push for this auto-update/compile bull* that will break installing from source again then we might as well make two ENIGMA.exe's, because the changes I made basically just disabled all of it. It is great if it just a setting in the .ini, but when you run the first time the ini isn't even there yet. So what I basically did is ask in a promp if run anyway if the init script is not found (that is only the case when installing from source. If it is installed from the installer, then the file will be present) and if so, then write a setting in the .ini that will skip all of the git and compile thing at every start. The only other change was to make sure ENIGMA.exe can be in the same folder as the ENIGMA itself, as there is no logical reason to create 1 subdir just for the .exe (as when installing from source you have mingw and git installed elsewhere).

So Robert, if you can make the changes without breaking this then it would be great. The best way would be to still check if "skippedinit" is false and then do the upgrade check/upgrade itself. Otherwise skip it.
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #32 Posted on: August 28, 2013, 01:32:46 AM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 2993

View Profile
Yes, of course I can? Look at the source code is halfway done I just need to fix up the bash script to download binaries, init script will just download the latest update. I am still tryna think about where to put the damn binaries at, I might just have josh throw it all in a git repository so it can just be a bash script and the commit log will be the update feed.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) TheExDeus
Reply #33 Posted on: August 28, 2013, 02:04:11 AM

Developer
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1860

View Profile
I doubt Josh of any people will trow binaries in git. It's more likely there will be space on ENIGMA server.
Logged
Offline (Male) polygone
Reply #34 Posted on: August 29, 2013, 03:16:53 PM

Contributor
Location: England
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 794

View Profile
Oh funnily enough I'm still getting that original error:

Code: [Select]
    Java Version: 10700 (1.7.0_17)
    Loading lib files in C:\Program Files\ENIGMA\enigma-dev\lateralgm.jar
    01_move.lgl 02_main1.lgl 03_main2.lgl 04_control.lgl
     05_score.lgl 06_extra.lgl 07_draw.lgl
    Calling `mingw32-make.exe eTCpath="null"`
    > mingw32-make.exe -j 3 -C CompilerSource
    > Access denied - .
    > File not found - -NAME
    > File not found - -AND
    > File not found - !
    > File not found - -NAME
    > mingw32-make.exe[1]: Entering directory `C:/Program Files/ENIGMA/enigma-dev/CompilerSource'
    > process_begin: CreateProcess(NULL, uname -s, ...) failed.
    > mingw32-make.exe[1]: *** No rule to make target `.eobjs/----------', needed by `../compileEGMf.dll'.  Stop.
    > mingw32-make.exe[1]: Leaving directory `C:/Program Files/ENIGMA/enigma-dev/CompilerSource'
    > mingw32-make.exe: *** [ENIGMA] Error 2
    2
    Process terminated
    Initializing Enigma:
    Linking up to IDE
    Implementing JDI basics
    UnimplementedUnimplemented
     
    Choosing language: C++
    Reading GCC builtins
    Read key `defines` as `cpp -dM -x c++ -E $blank`
    Parsed `cpp` `-dM -x c++ -E blank.txt`: redirect=yes
But it's just ignoring it and continuing as normal. I think this is what's stopping the compiler from automatically rebuilding.
Logged
I honestly don't know wtf I'm talking about but hopefully I can muddle my way through.
Offline (Unknown gender) TheExDeus
Reply #35 Posted on: August 29, 2013, 04:05:49 PM

Developer
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1860

View Profile
It is. The reason it seems it that it can compile only from bash. At least this is the error I get when compiling from cmd (which ENIGMA.exe/LGM tries to do). It does seem to work when doing it the first time though. Only subsequent runs trows this error.

edit: From LGM side of things I get crashes once in a while. Dump shows something like this http://pastebin.com/c1FknHS2.
« Last Edit: August 29, 2013, 04:25:48 PM by TheExDeus » Logged
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #36 Posted on: August 29, 2013, 04:25:11 PM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2949

View Profile Email
What? The default OS is supposed to be Windows, as it is the only operating system too incompetent to identify itself from the CLI. I don't know where it's getting that ---------- shit.
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Male) polygone
Reply #37 Posted on: August 29, 2013, 04:30:59 PM

Contributor
Location: England
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 794

View Profile
edit: From LGM side of things I get crashes once in a while. Dump shows something like this http://pastebin.com/c1FknHS2.
That's the compiler segfaulting again. It used to happen to me all the time but it's stopped more or less for me now.

Josh do we really need to check every load of LGM for a change to the compiler? I still think it's better if it's done at update instead.

On another point what can we do to stop the output_log growing into a stupidly massive size. I just managed to get it up to 71MB compiling this game 4 times.
« Last Edit: August 29, 2013, 04:33:34 PM by polygone » Logged
I honestly don't know wtf I'm talking about but hopefully I can muddle my way through.
Offline (Male) polygone
Reply #38 Posted on: August 30, 2013, 10:19:57 AM

Contributor
Location: England
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 794

View Profile
somebody fix that fucking compiler as Harri just fucking pointed out its causing random segfaults now, I am getting them too.
You've made all the changes to the compiler recently.
https://github.com/enigma-dev/enigma-dev/commits/master/CompilerSource
Logged
I honestly don't know wtf I'm talking about but hopefully I can muddle my way through.
Pages: « 1 2 3
  Print