Pages: « 1 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Desktop  (Read 5892 times)
Offline (Male) RetroX
Reply #15 Posted on: December 31, 2008, 04:18:23 pm

Master of all things Linux
Contributor
Location: US
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1055
MSN Messenger - classixretrox@gmail.com
View Profile Email
How the hell do you have such bad hardware that doesn't support at least 1024x768 resolution?  Even Windows 98 supported that.

Also, better theme:
http://willhostforfood.com/users/Retro/Desktop.png
Logged
My Box: Phenom II 3.4GHz X4 | ASUS ATI RadeonHD 5770, 1GB GDDR5 RAM | 1x4GB DDR3 SRAM | Arch Linux, x86_64 (Cube) / Windows 7 x64 (Blob)
Quote from: Fede-lasse
Why do all the pro-Microsoft people have troll avatars? :(
Post made January 01, 2009, 06:16:38 am was deleted at the author's request.
Offline (Unknown gender) Game_boy
Reply #17 Posted on: January 01, 2009, 06:46:48 am
Member
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 228

View Profile
How the hell do you have such bad hardware that doesn't support at least 1024x768 resolution?  Even Windows 98 supported that.
I have it on purpose, so that everything runs as smoothly as possible. I don't really care about fancy stuff. In fact, I hate Windows Aero and its competitors; it looks ugly and slows everything down for the sake of a nicer interface.

90'S WIND0ZE PWNS KTHXBAI

Linux can be far, far lighter than Windows if you want. You don't even need graphics.

For example, Lynx Web Browser:



Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) score_under
Reply #18 Posted on: January 01, 2009, 10:39:47 am

Member
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 308

View Profile
http://pachome1.pacific.net.sg/~kennethkwok/lynx/
:P
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) Game_boy
Reply #19 Posted on: January 01, 2009, 10:47:41 am
Member
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 228

View Profile
http://pachome1.pacific.net.sg/~kennethkwok/lynx/
:P

Yes, I know, but you need to run a full, graphical Windows desktop to get the Windows command line up to run Lynx on 9x/NT. Linux and other Unix-like OSs don't need that.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) score_under
Reply #20 Posted on: January 01, 2009, 01:37:38 pm

Member
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 308

View Profile
FALSE! 9x and NT are both programs running in DOS. So is ME. (Proof: On a non-ACPI PC, shut down but don't power off. It will tell you it's safe to power off. type "cls" then press enter. Lo and behold, MS-DOS.)

It's only 2000 and above which are real operating systems.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) Game_boy
Reply #21 Posted on: January 02, 2009, 04:11:59 am
Member
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 228

View Profile
FALSE! 9x and NT are both programs running in DOS. So is ME. (Proof: On a non-ACPI PC, shut down but don't power off. It will tell you it's safe to power off. type "cls" then press enter. Lo and behold, MS-DOS.)

FINE. You win. However NT doesn't run on DOS; that's why it's NT.
Logged
Pages: « 1 2
  Print