Goombert
|
|
Reply #15 Posted on: July 07, 2014, 04:01:00 am |
|
|
Location: Cappuccino, CA Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 2993
|
Hey ego, Direct3D9 can't run it because my shaders are GLSL. I never even added HLSL support for Direct3D9 yet. OpenGL3 can't run it because the shaders are incompatible. And Harri used a better random generation than I did, so yes mine appears blocky. On an important side note, I am getting massive framerate increases, from 100 to 500, with mipmapping enabled. We need the sampler objects worked out for OGL3 however before it can be utilized in all graphics systems. http://enigma-dev.org/forums/index.php?topic=2091
|
|
|
Logged
|
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.
|
|
|
egofree
|
|
Reply #16 Posted on: July 07, 2014, 04:27:49 am |
|
|
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 601
|
By the way, it's a little bit off topic, but this type of graphics reminds me of the game 'Magic carpet' : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Magic_Carpet_(video_game)It's was an excellent game. If you don't know try to find it and test it ! But as it it's really old (1994), i guess it needs some dos emulator now. I don't think the default dos support on the current Windows is enough. Edit: It can be found on gog : http://www.gog.com/game/magic_carpet
|
|
« Last Edit: July 07, 2014, 04:39:20 am by egofree »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
TheExDeus
|
|
Reply #17 Posted on: July 07, 2014, 06:31:28 am |
|
|
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1860
|
Looks nice Robert. I tested your example, and here is the result : All of that is as expected. We should maybe show it via pop-up or something that GL1 shaders don't work on GL3, GL3 shaders don't work on GL1 and GL shaders in general don't work on DX. Otherwise people will start posting "bug reports" like ego here. On an important side note, I am getting massive framerate increases, from 100 to 500, with mipmapping enabled. We need the sampler objects worked out for OGL3 however before it can be utilized in all graphics systems. Can't wait to test it. It will probably increase FPS on my PC a lot too, because the terrain really benefits from mipmapping.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
|
Goombert
|
|
Reply #20 Posted on: July 08, 2014, 10:01:11 pm |
|
|
Location: Cappuccino, CA Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 2993
|
Harri this is why LGM has the precompile option, you'll notice that option does not exist in Studio. So it is entirely up to us how we define its behavior, etc. in general one would assume that the precompile option builds and links your shader only when in the compliant graphics system.
|
|
|
Logged
|
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.
|
|
|
TheExDeus
|
|
Reply #21 Posted on: July 09, 2014, 02:55:16 pm |
|
|
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1860
|
I enabled mipmapping and that really did boost the whole thing almost 200FPS. Then I also optimized the shader and halved the resolution of the reflection. It actually helps a bit too, because it blurs it a little and so the reflection is not so rough. I left refraction and absorbtion resolutions the same or else there are graphical glitches (that are fixable, but I don't want to do it now). Mipmapping makes the texture repeat a lot though. Without mipmapping it adds this noise which removes this noticeable repetition. I will try to add trees next. I have problems with rotation calculations and UV coords for them.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Goombert
|
|
Reply #22 Posted on: July 09, 2014, 08:00:39 pm |
|
|
Location: Cappuccino, CA Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 2993
|
Now that's looking fantastic, did you pull the mipmapping code from my commit? If so, did you enable anisotropic filtering as well?
|
|
|
Logged
|
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.
|
|
|
|
Josh @ Dreamland
|
|
Reply #24 Posted on: July 10, 2014, 09:24:00 pm |
|
|
Prince of all Goldfish
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2950
|
Good lord. The sand is now beautiful, but that texture repetition is horrible. Can you write a custom sample function that computes perlin values per-point? Your grass looks like MS-paint spray art, and there's no reason not to just have it be procedural. Forgive the harshish criticism; this could just be improved massively with one simple tweak.
|
|
|
Logged
|
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble "I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
|
|
|
time-killer-games
|
|
Reply #25 Posted on: July 10, 2014, 09:46:36 pm |
|
|
"Guest"
|
@Josh it doesn't have to be photo-realistic to look good you know. I personally like the repeated texture it reminds me of Roller Coastrer Tycoon 2 (which was a 2d isometric game but with a similar atmosphere).
|
|
« Last Edit: July 10, 2014, 09:55:53 pm by time-killer-games »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
slojanko
|
|
Reply #26 Posted on: August 01, 2014, 03:21:36 am |
|
|
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 7
|
That looks amazing, reminds me of "From dust" You could use larger textures to make it less visible that it repeats around an area. Also, try making an SSAO shader:
|
|
« Last Edit: August 01, 2014, 03:25:11 am by slojanko »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
|
time-killer-games
|
|
Reply #29 Posted on: October 01, 2017, 03:03:55 pm |
|
|
"Guest"
|
I don't think when Goombert implemented shaders that it was ever finished, iirc.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|