Pages: « 1 2 3 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Are old versions of Java even SAFE?  (Read 16205 times)
Offline (Unknown gender) Hoohee
Reply #15 Posted on: August 21, 2017, 04:02:31 pm
Member
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 40

View Profile
Thank you for all these details, but in fact, I don't remember ever typing Level1 = 2.  Perhaps that is something that set on its own, but I'm not sure where to look for and fix that error, or why that would be in Preprocessor Environment as opposed to my game.

I, too, have been trying to transfer over a Game Maker file, albeit from 8 Pro.  I don't expect it to go seamlessly, but I'm hoping I can at least change the file enough that it can then be run and continued on Enigma; I'm just not sure what from GM needs to be cut out or corrected so it does, yet.

Also, upon inspection, Jave 8 is actually located in a folder of files from an older computer.  Does the bit about uninstalling it and installing the new one still apply?
Logged
Offline (Male) hpg678
Reply #16 Posted on: August 21, 2017, 06:59:01 pm

Member
Location: Barbados
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 283

View Profile Email
I suggest you do, to be on the safe side. I'll explain why.


After I had installed JRE7, I created 2 small projects, a Breakout game and video player to test the functions. I found out that my video project worked with Jre7 installed but didn't with Jre8 installed. With both installations, I had activated the 'DirectShow' extension in the configuration icon as it is need for video playback.


Another thing I also noticed is for the first time using ENIGMA for Windows, I was able to have dialog boxes. commands like show_info(); displaying message boxes and such actually worked. In the Linux version I have to circumvent and be a little creative to produce the same kind of effect.


But let's not stray away from the issue.


Uninstall all Java versions and start fresh. Download from the site I suggested, install Java 7 and edit the 'idecommand=......' line. then start up ENIGMA and move on from there.


As always if you have any more problems, I'll help you out as best as I can.

Logged
[compromised account]
Offline (Unknown gender) Hoohee
Reply #17 Posted on: August 21, 2017, 09:37:11 pm
Member
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 40

View Profile
I don't see an uninstall option anywhere on Java's controls.  Would simple deletion of files and folders be enough to uninstall it?
Logged
Offline (Male) hpg678
Reply #18 Posted on: August 22, 2017, 05:01:21 am

Member
Location: Barbados
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 283

View Profile Email
Go to 'Programs and Features' and uninstall from there. Uninstall all traces whether there be 7 or 8, then re-install JRE7.
Logged
[compromised account]
Offline (Unknown gender) Hoohee
Reply #19 Posted on: August 23, 2017, 01:03:45 am
Member
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 40

View Profile
That seems to have worked; thank you.  While we're here, though, how would you recommend solving that "Level 1" issue?
Logged
Offline (Male) hpg678
Reply #20 Posted on: August 23, 2017, 04:24:45 am

Member
Location: Barbados
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 283

View Profile Email

The error I get when debugging a file:
Quote
In file included from SHELLmain.cpp:96:0:
C:/ProgramData/ENIGMA/Preprocessor_Environment_Editable/IDE_EDIT_resourcenames.h:461:9: error: expected '}' before numeric constant
   Level 1 = 2,
         ^
C:/ProgramData/ENIGMA/Preprocessor_Environment_Editable/IDE_EDIT_resourcenames.h:461:9: error: expected unqualified-id before numeric constant
C:/ProgramData/ENIGMA/Preprocessor_Environment_Editable/IDE_EDIT_resourcenames.h:469:3: error: expected declaration before '}' token
 };}
   ^





i'm just speculating here, but that error seems centered around your named resources. These could be your Sprites names, Objects names or in  your Script code. You could try typing 'Level' or 'Level 1' in the 'SEARCH FOR RESOURCES' box in the top right corner and see what comes up. Then inspect all the places.mentioned.

Make sure to check all your variables are intact and the beginning and ending of your sub-routines ( the { and } all match up. Also look out for the '(' and ')'. Sometimes not closing them properly end up in errors too.

there's not much more I can suggest. if after doing all these you still get errors, send me a copy of your code and I'll try and figure it out for you.
« Last Edit: August 23, 2017, 04:29:18 am by hpg678 » Logged
[compromised account]
Offline (Unknown gender) Hoohee
Reply #21 Posted on: August 23, 2017, 03:42:51 pm
Member
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 40

View Profile
I ended up fixing it by replacing spaces with underscores.

Thanks for all the help; from here I will use new threads.
Logged
Offline (Male) hpg678
Reply #22 Posted on: August 23, 2017, 03:43:44 pm

Member
Location: Barbados
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 283

View Profile Email
Glad to of service!
Logged
[compromised account]
Offline (Unknown gender) Hoohee
Reply #23 Posted on: August 23, 2017, 04:11:29 pm
Member
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 40

View Profile
Actually, the Java still stops working on occasion.  I downloaded jre-7u51-windows-i586, if that helps.  There were a lot of 7 versions on FileHippo.
Logged
Offline (Male) hpg678
Reply #24 Posted on: August 23, 2017, 06:41:07 pm

Member
Location: Barbados
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 283

View Profile Email
sorry about that. I should've mention which one I used.

Download it from here


« Last Edit: August 23, 2017, 07:08:32 pm by hpg678 » Logged
[compromised account]
Offline (Unknown gender) Hoohee
Reply #25 Posted on: August 23, 2017, 09:25:00 pm
Member
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 40

View Profile
That is the version I dowloaded initially, and was unable to run.  It is still in my recycle bin, so I could give it another go, but please give me the exact text I should put in my settings file to call it to use.

Also remember, Java for this program sometimes works, sometimes stops working.  It's weird.
Logged
Offline (Male) hpg678
Reply #26 Posted on: August 24, 2017, 05:20:44 am

Member
Location: Barbados
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 283

View Profile Email
Don't use the one in the recycle bin. Apparently it is corrupted. Download the one from the new link.


I also did a little video on modifying the settings file. Download it from here
Logged
[compromised account]
Offline (Unknown gender) Hoohee
Reply #27 Posted on: August 24, 2017, 10:31:52 pm
Member
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 40

View Profile
Not working, sadly.  Here are some questions:
1) Is the path in your video
Quote
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre7\bin\java.exe - jar -xm256m -xmxx1000m"
?  I'm checking because the text is kind of small, so I could have typed it wrong.
2) Are simple Java and Java Runtime Environment different things, and can they both be in one folder?  I seemed to still have some sort of Java program in that folder when I moved the new one in.
3) Are Admin locks on Java possibly the problem here?
Logged
Offline (Male) hpg678
Reply #28 Posted on: August 24, 2017, 11:28:57 pm

Member
Location: Barbados
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 283

View Profile Email
Java and JRE (Java Runtime Environment) are separate entities in that JDK is a complete suite of compilers, debuggers etc which include the JRE.


The Wiki says that one does not need to install the JDK but as you keep having problems with  the JRE, try installing the JDK and see if it  works.


 Download JDK from here


You can also install as an Administrator by right clicking on your mouse button and select 'Run as ADMINISTRATOR' when the dialog box appears. Take special note where the files will be installed. That will be you need to type when editing the 'idecommand'

Logged
[compromised account]
Offline (Unknown gender) Hoohee
Reply #29 Posted on: August 25, 2017, 12:40:38 am
Member
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 40

View Profile
OK, but is a Java 8 SDK compatible with a Java 7 runtime environment?
Logged
Pages: « 1 2 3 »
  Print