Pages: 1 2 3 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Are old versions of Java even SAFE?  (Read 16269 times)
Offline (Unknown gender) Hoohee
Posted on: August 11, 2017, 01:27:19 am
Member
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 40

View Profile
I know I sound pretty chicken, here, so let's just get this over with.

I am having compile errors when starting up Enigma; the Help page on this site says that could be because it will only work with Java 7.  Thus I followed the links to the the page that hosts the Java 7 download.  It warns:
Quote
WARNING: These older versions of the JRE and JDK are provided to help developers debug issues in older systems. They are not updated with the latest security patches and are not recommended for use in production.

For production use Oracle recommends downloading the latest JDK and JRE versions and allowing auto-update.

Only developers and Enterprise administrators should download these releases.

Which...kind of scares me.  I'm new to this, so to people who actually are up to speed on that, what's the risk from using older Java versions (mine is normally 8)?  What constitutes "use in production", and what bad things can happen from lack of the latest security patches?
Logged
Offline (Male) hpg678
Reply #1 Posted on: August 11, 2017, 04:53:43 am

Member
Location: Barbados
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 283

View Profile Email
Hi and welcome! Could you please give more details on your issue? What OS are you running,  is it 32bit or 64bit? Do you have all the dependecies installed? Are you in a virtual environment?

Your issue may not be a Java related matter but other elements resulting in a Java/Jre error, so the more information you provide, the better one can answer.

It is best to install Java/JRE  from the terminal/console on Linux platforms. Depending on the type Linux you have, you can type

sudo apt-get install default-jre

if it is UBUNTU, GNU/LINUX or one of its derivatives.

You can even follow this link  for a more detailed method.




Logged
[compromised account]
Offline (Unknown gender) Hoohee
Reply #2 Posted on: August 12, 2017, 12:22:24 am
Member
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 40

View Profile
I'm using a PC with Windows 7 64-bit.  As to dependencies, I'm not sure.  My Java is 8.
Logged
Offline (Male) hpg678
Reply #3 Posted on: August 13, 2017, 02:36:05 pm

Member
Location: Barbados
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 283

View Profile Email
not sure if this is the type error you've been getting, but I got this:

http://imgur.com/ILSQL1O


After intensive research it would appear you need to install a 32bit version of Java. you can refer to here

for a detailed explanation.

Also check these two links

Link one

Link two

If you're successful, holler back.
« Last Edit: August 13, 2017, 02:46:24 pm by hpg678 » Logged
[compromised account]
Offline (Unknown gender) Hoohee
Reply #4 Posted on: August 14, 2017, 07:16:06 pm
Member
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 40

View Profile
Holler!

Well; it's looking like I'm successful, since I haven't gotten the error this time, but I still need to make something to see if it runs.  Looking into that now.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) Hoohee
Reply #5 Posted on: August 16, 2017, 12:48:41 am
Member
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 40

View Profile
Update: Sometimes it freezes when trying to run or debug its Java component, so I might need to update that after all.
Logged
Offline (Male) hpg678
Reply #6 Posted on: August 16, 2017, 01:20:09 pm

Member
Location: Barbados
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 283

View Profile Email
I've also ran into some problems on the Windows 7 platform. Mine involved first installation setup and first run. Strangely enough every Distro I tried to install on ended in errors. I'm wondering if this is some fault of late with the files or my machine. I'm not sure! it's something I'm still investigating.


Logged
[compromised account]
Offline (Unknown gender) Hoohee
Reply #7 Posted on: August 17, 2017, 01:05:51 am
Member
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 40

View Profile
Can someone here tell me which of these many, many Java 7 downloads I should download to run with Enigma?
Logged
Offline (Male) hpg678
Reply #8 Posted on: August 17, 2017, 06:35:25 pm

Member
Location: Barbados
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 283

View Profile Email

Although you are using Windows 7 64bit, you should use the 32bit version of Java so you must download this one:

Java SE Runtime Environment 7u80
Windows x86 Offline
28.14 MB 
Logged
[compromised account]
Offline (Unknown gender) Hoohee
Reply #9 Posted on: August 17, 2017, 11:08:19 pm
Member
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 40

View Profile
Thanks, but must I really go through that excessive process of providing personal information to sign up and download this thing?  Or is there another way?
Logged
Offline (Male) hpg678
Reply #10 Posted on: August 18, 2017, 07:30:23 am

Member
Location: Barbados
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 283

View Profile Email
Here is a link for you

https://www.dropbox.com/s/obe0syw6w6cgil0/Java%20Runtime%20Environment%201.7.0.1%20%2832-bit%29%20.exe?dl=0

Download and install.

Hope it works for you.
Logged
[compromised account]
Offline (Unknown gender) Hoohee
Reply #11 Posted on: August 18, 2017, 06:46:47 pm
Member
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 40

View Profile
So far it doesn't, but let's keep at it.  I get a "Stopped Working" error when I try to run the Java itself.  Maybe it's only supposed to run with Enigma, however, the instructions given are rather cryptic to me.  It says,
Quote
If you decided to keep an alternative Java installation that is 64bit then you may need to explicitly state the 32bit version when launching ENIGMA. This can be easily done on Windows by changing the settings.ini value for the key IDECOMMAND to something like the following:
Code: [Select]
idecommand="C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre1.8.0_25\bin\java.exe -jar"

Well, I tried turning that into "Libraries\Documents\Enigma\ENIGMA\Java Runtime Environment 1.7.0.1 (32-bit)", because I didn't know what else to call it, and now Enigma won't even open.  What could be wrong here, in both cases?
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) Hoohee
Reply #12 Posted on: August 20, 2017, 01:45:27 pm
Member
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 40

View Profile
I reinstalled the settings file, so Enigma loads again.  I want to give you some insight into the problems I'm having, so maybe that will help you deduce what may be wrong.

The error I get when debugging a file:
Quote
In file included from SHELLmain.cpp:96:0:
C:/ProgramData/ENIGMA/Preprocessor_Environment_Editable/IDE_EDIT_resourcenames.h:461:9: error: expected '}' before numeric constant
   Level 1 = 2,
         ^
C:/ProgramData/ENIGMA/Preprocessor_Environment_Editable/IDE_EDIT_resourcenames.h:461:9: error: expected unqualified-id before numeric constant
C:/ProgramData/ENIGMA/Preprocessor_Environment_Editable/IDE_EDIT_resourcenames.h:469:3: error: expected declaration before '}' token
 };}
   ^
mingw32-make.exe[1]: Leaving directory `C:/Users/Tom/Documents/Enigma/ENIGMA/enigma-dev/ENIGMAsystem/SHELL'
mingw32-make.exe: *** [Game] Error 2

I'm going to assume it's still using my normal Java version, which might not work with LateralGM, although I was able to run a more simple game.  Either way, here's the details of the error I get when trying to run the Java file you told me to download (even in Administrator mode):
Quote
Problem signature:
  Problem Event Name:   APPCRASH
  Application Name:   Java Runtime Environment 1.7.0.1 (32-bit) .exe
  Application Version:   7.0.10.8
  Application Timestamp:   4e8990f6
  Fault Module Name:   ntdll.dll
  Fault Module Version:   6.1.7601.23864
  Fault Module Timestamp:   595fa490
  Exception Code:   c0000005
  Exception Offset:   0005205d
  OS Version:   6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
  Locale ID:   1033
  Additional Information 1:   0a9e
  Additional Information 2:   0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
  Additional Information 3:   0a9e
  Additional Information 4:   0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

Read our privacy statement online:
  http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=104288&clcid=0x0409

If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
  C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt

I hope that helps.
Logged
Offline (Male) hpg678
Reply #13 Posted on: August 21, 2017, 09:09:56 am

Member
Location: Barbados
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 283

View Profile Email
Having read your concerns, I built a machine from scratch to try and re-create the same problems you've been having. The machine I am working with is a Lenovo Thinkcentre M98 desktop system as it is the only computer I have with a 64bit CPU.

These are the procedures I took.
  • Installed Windows 64bit OS
  • Downloaded and installed all updates except the different Language files
  • Installed Cmake64 bit
  • installed Vcredist_IA64 bit
  • Installed git 64bit
  • Installed Java8 64bit
  • Mingw
  • Downloaded ENIGMA_Portable and installed it to the DESKTOP
When I ran it and it went through its first installation process,then I got the error about the missing .dll file you mentioned about. Suffice to say after much trials and errors, what I did to get it finally working was this
  • Uninstall Java8.
  • Reboot machine
  • Download JRE 7 from FileHippo.com at installed that version
  • edited the 'settings' file, where the 'idecommand' section is, to 'idecommand="c:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre\bin\java.exe -jar -xms256m -xmx1000m"
  • Clicked and ran ENIGMA without any errors.
  • Created an empty project, compiled and displayed an empty room.
  • Success  ::) :) :)
When I tried to import a GM6 or one of my ENIGMA projects, I got that same APPCRASH error. However when I created a new project from scratch, it ran perfectly.  I should probably mention that I disabled and enabled some extensions.
  • GameMaker 5 compatibility      ON
  • GUI Basic UI                               **OFF**
  • DirectShow                                   ON
  • INI Filesystem                            **OFF**
Usually in LINUX these are off by default. In Windows version, all except 'Directshow' is OFF. In other words, you may now have to play around with the configuration tool a bit.
Well that's all for now. I'm going to play around with it for a couple of weeks, so if any more problems, just let me know.
Logged
[compromised account]
Offline (Male) hpg678
Reply #14 Posted on: August 21, 2017, 11:14:03 am

Member
Location: Barbados
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 283

View Profile Email

your problem seems to be a typo mistake ............[Level 1 = 2]

you probably meant to type

Level1 = 2 to signify the variable Level1, a variable has some constant value of 2
Logged
[compromised account]
Pages: 1 2 3 »
  Print