time-killer-games
|
|
Posted on: August 07, 2014, 07:25:18 pm |
|
|
"Guest"
|
Videos• [OFFICIAL GAMEPLAY SPOILER]ScreenshotsDownloads• [DOWNLOAD FOR WINDOWS]• [DOWNLOAD FOR MACINTOSH]• [DOWNLOAD FOR LINUX]• [MORE FREE GAMES]Product Features•Official website - www.timekillergames.weebly.com •General parody of the typical low-budget escape game •Poorly modeled, poorly textured, poorly materialed visuals •Find all strangely hidden keys before the cabin rental expires •Original repetitive banjo soundtrack by Jared Johnson •Beautiful title screen animation text that is not legible •A really stinky surprise for the whole family to enjoy Product Description Oh no! You're locked in your vacation cabin! Escape the cabin fever in this point-and-click escape game based on a real vacation cabin in Louis Mountain, Virginia (US). This would have been an online game, so you wouldn't have to download anything, but, it runs way too slow online so much that it's not playable. Since you download the files locally on your computer, the game should run properly.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
edsquare
|
|
Reply #1 Posted on: August 07, 2014, 07:50:27 pm |
|
|
Location: The throne of ringworld Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 402
|
My two cents: Very nice website you've got! Regarding this game the screen is too big and can't be resized, some pointers as to how to turn, zoom in and out, open drawers, etc would be nice at the start of the game (I got cabin fever trying to get stuff done! ), this of course on linuxmint, don't know if it's the same on windows, my monitor is 1280x720 so....
|
|
|
Logged
|
A child of five would understand this. Send someone to fetch a child of five. Groucho Marx
|
|
|
time-killer-games
|
|
Reply #2 Posted on: August 07, 2014, 08:01:06 pm |
|
|
"Guest"
|
Thank you for the feedback and compliment! The clicking and navigation is more obvious on windows and mac, because their WebView control supports changing the cursor from javascript. The Linux version was made in Qt which doesn't support changing the cursor with javascript. It helps a lot having the cursor change to a hand when your cursor goes over a clickable hotspot. The size can't be changed I'm afraid. I wouldn't just need to resize the game window, I would need to scale the images and every clickable hotspot coordinate which would be a nightmare (math isn't my thing). Thanks for playing!
|
|
« Last Edit: August 07, 2014, 08:03:06 pm by time-killer-games »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
time-killer-games
|
|
Reply #4 Posted on: August 07, 2014, 08:55:31 pm |
|
|
"Guest"
|
I'm not going to resize it, that process is just way too involved and a lot of mesmerizing code to look through, that of which I didn't write, (98% of the HTML/JS/CSS code was auto-genterated by a very simple IDE that targets non-programmers). But what i will do is make the hotspots glow on linux if it's going to be as easy as I'm expecting. Hopefully that should fix everything up but I have a lot on my plate right now, I'm seeking to finish ALL projects showcased on my website before the end of the second quater of 2015. Wish me luck.
|
|
« Last Edit: August 07, 2014, 08:57:03 pm by time-killer-games »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
time-killer-games
|
|
Reply #5 Posted on: August 16, 2014, 06:18:48 pm |
|
|
"Guest"
|
edsquare, the resolution is still huge, however, I did manage a semi-decent method to change the cursor. It's looking like my only option with using QtWebKit. The cursor starts as the default. When you click on a loading screen, the cursor changes to a wait cursor. When you click on a clickable hotspot the cursor will change to indicate you clicked an area that actually did something.When you click on something that doesn't do anything, i.e. not on a hotspot the cursor changes to the default. Of course it would be much better if it would change when the mouse if hovering over something important, instead of only reponding after clicks, but Qt doesn't work like that. Boo hoo
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
edsquare
|
|
Reply #6 Posted on: August 16, 2014, 11:06:03 pm |
|
|
Location: The throne of ringworld Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 402
|
edsquare, the resolution is still huge, however, I did manage a semi-decent method to change the cursor. It's looking like my only option with using QtWebKit. The cursor starts as the default. When you click on a loading screen, the cursor changes to a wait cursor. When you click on a clickable hotspot the cursor will change to indicate you clicked an area that actually did something.When you click on something that doesn't do anything, i.e. not on a hotspot the cursor changes to the default. Of course it would be much better if it would change when the mouse if hovering over something important, instead of only reponding after clicks, but Qt doesn't work like that. Boo hoo
Are you sure? the hover event doesn't help you? Also the hasmouselistener could help or maybe this can give you a clue: // At the original click location we draw a 4 arrowed icon. Over this icon there won't be any scroll // So we don't want to change the cursor over this area bool east = m_panScrollStartPos.x() < (m_currentMousePosition.x() - ScrollView::noPanScrollRadius); bool west = m_panScrollStartPos.x() > (m_currentMousePosition.x() + ScrollView::noPanScrollRadius); bool north = m_panScrollStartPos.y() > (m_currentMousePosition.y() + ScrollView::noPanScrollRadius); bool south = m_panScrollStartPos.y() < (m_currentMousePosition.y() - ScrollView::noPanScrollRadius); if ((east || west || north || south) && m_panScrollButtonPressed) m_springLoadedPanScrollInProgress = true; if (north) { if (east) view->setCursor(northEastPanningCursor()); else if (west) view->setCursor(northWestPanningCursor()); else view->setCursor(northPanningCursor()); } else if (south) { if (east) view->setCursor(southEastPanningCursor()); else if (west) view->setCursor(southWestPanningCursor()); else view->setCursor(southPanningCursor()); } else if (east) view->setCursor(eastPanningCursor()); else if (west) view->setCursor(westPanningCursor()); else view->setCursor(middlePanningCursor()); }
|
|
« Last Edit: August 16, 2014, 11:12:39 pm by edsquare »
|
Logged
|
A child of five would understand this. Send someone to fetch a child of five. Groucho Marx
|
|
|
time-killer-games
|
|
Reply #7 Posted on: August 17, 2014, 01:21:20 pm |
|
|
"Guest"
|
Thank you so much edsquare! But while normally that would work, I'm not changing the cursor with Qt C++, it's a Qt HTML5 container application, so all cursor changing is being done in JavaScript based on the mouseover event on a clickable hotspot. I recreated the project as a duplicate to check what options I have for creating a new project, there was a check box labeled "Enable touch optimized navigation" which seemed to disable the right click menu, which gives a more native feel, good, and it enabled the JavaScript cursor changing to work partially how it should, great. But it's not changed by the mouseover event, it's only triggered after a click. To be honest I don't know what the purpose of that "Enable touch optimized navigation" check box is even used for if it can't set the cursor correctly. oh poo
|
|
« Last Edit: August 17, 2014, 01:35:36 pm by time-killer-games »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
edsquare
|
|
Reply #8 Posted on: August 17, 2014, 01:43:43 pm |
|
|
Location: The throne of ringworld Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 402
|
Thank you so much edsquare! But while normally that would work, I'm not changing the cursor with Qt C++, it's a Qt HTML5 container application, so all cursor changing is being done in JavaScript based on the mouseover event on a clickable hotspot. I recreated the project as a duplicate to check what options I have for creating a new project, there was a check box labeled "Enable touch optimized navigation" which seemed to disable the right click menu, which gives a more native feel, good, and it enabled the JavaScript cursor changing to work partially how it should, great. But it's not changed by the mouseover event, it's only triggered after a click. To be honest I don't know what the purpose of that "Enable touch optimized navigation" check box is even used for if it can't set the cursor correctly. oh poo
HTML5 + JavaScript? Are you using CSS? If so there are ways to achieve that in CSS, also why not check if HTML5 lets you do what you want?
|
|
|
Logged
|
A child of five would understand this. Send someone to fetch a child of five. Groucho Marx
|
|
|
time-killer-games
|
|
Reply #9 Posted on: August 17, 2014, 03:04:56 pm |
|
|
"Guest"
|
Well I just checked an HTML file and realized it's been quite a while since I initially added cursor changing, and turns it it was done in a CSS style and not in JavaScript. HTML5 does support this according to w3schools. It's something jacked up with the QtWebKit. Oh well. What I have is close enough, thank you edsquare for the help! Though this issue isn't fixed I don't want to eat up more of your time. Cheers.
|
|
« Last Edit: August 17, 2014, 03:08:22 pm by time-killer-games »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|