Pages: « 1 2 3 4
  Print  
Author Topic: Command Line Interface  (Read 18644 times)
Offline (Unknown gender) time-killer-games
Reply #45 Posted on: July 05, 2014, 01:41:03 pm
"Guest"


Email
Runtime probably isn't the correct word for what I meant. It's only transparent after the exe is compiled and run. If you try to save that BMP as a BMP file and not a BMP used in a exe, yeah there won't be transparency.  Applications can hack the appearances of a BMP like replacing a color with transparency but good luck trying to make BMP do that in windows photo viewer. I don't know if we are misunderstanding each other or I've missed something important in my years as a computer geek I have no idea.
« Last Edit: July 05, 2014, 01:42:41 pm by time-killer-games » Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #46 Posted on: July 05, 2014, 06:38:19 pm

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 2993

View Profile
Yes, then maybe I am not understanding.

* You can make a BMP, PNG, or JPEG have a transparency pixel, that works for all formats.
* You can remove the transparency pixel when you load, or using a shader and do it every frame. If the former and you go to save a background or sprite, the image will be saved with the transparency removed.
* Bitmaps can be 8 (monochrome), 16, 24, and 32 bits
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) time-killer-games
Reply #47 Posted on: July 06, 2014, 08:49:40 am
"Guest"


Email
Robert, I already explained this, I know JPG can have a transparency pixel. But JPG is a lossy format. Meaning I could make a sprite with a blank white background for where I'd like it to be transparent, but when I save the JPG from MSPaint or whatever image editor there will be a slight value/color variation in that white area so when I tick the "transparency pixel" box it will only make transparent a rough portion of the initial area one would want to be transparent.

I think we are still not on the same page so I guess from here on out I'll be more on-topic in this thread.
« Last Edit: July 06, 2014, 08:54:42 am by time-killer-games » Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) Darkstar2
Reply #48 Posted on: July 06, 2014, 01:23:57 pm
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1238

View Profile Email
I know what TKG means, unless you NEED more than 256 colours for your sprites in such case you would use GIF instead, which is more suited for sprites than JPG anyway.  But anyhow with PNG I guess all that is moot, I use PNG all the time now.  Only thing missing in LGM is automatic support for APNG, directly
loading APNGs.

Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) bgordebak
Reply #49 Posted on: July 14, 2014, 02:36:43 pm
"Guest"


Email
Will there be a Linux port of emake? Please... Or is there one?
Logged
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #50 Posted on: July 15, 2014, 05:23:11 pm

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2950

View Profile Email
He is developing it on Windows, bgordebak.
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #51 Posted on: July 25, 2014, 11:50:26 pm

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 2993

View Profile
It should honestly take very little effort to compile the thing on Linux. Some of the code I started with was taken from wxENIGMA which Josh helped me write.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4
  Print