Darkstar2
|
|
Reply #15 Posted on: June 27, 2014, 10:22:00 pm |
|
|
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1238
|
Can't wait to try this one,
could you document what it does and what it does not YET compile, would be really nice.
So once this is finished you will plug this into LGM ?
How will it work will we still have the option of using the regular method passing the memory content to the compiler OR saving project then accessing the CLI ? It would probably be best to make the CLI inside LGM optional until it is 100% fully compatible.
Faster compile and more stable that would be a major step up as LGM is crashing like crazy, and no not just JoshEdit but there is shite coming from different orifices each time, EGMLib, JVM, Out of Memory, Swing, and some weird shite I never heard of it's a pain in the arsehole !
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Goombert
|
|
Reply #16 Posted on: June 28, 2014, 01:13:00 am |
|
|
Location: Cappuccino, CA Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 2993
|
Yes I have got the huge bulk of the work done now, over 1000 lines of C++. I have further documented my project on the Wiki adding a section for my project side by side with the Java CLI that none of you even knew existed. http://enigma-dev.org/docs/Wiki/Command_line_interface#Native_Command_LineAs you can see in the following image, Project Chaos now builds perfectly, we just need to work out the kinks on the Wiki above. I am not going to bother describing how to compile this thing yet, I will when it's fully completed. This will not be replacing LGM's plugin or anything anytime soon either, this is just there for your use, if you don't want to use it, don't use it. It's better to have one than not have one. We'll look at further integration down the road.
|
|
|
Logged
|
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.
|
|
|
TheExDeus
|
|
Reply #17 Posted on: June 28, 2014, 06:56:37 am |
|
|
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1860
|
I don't like the idea of discontinuing the IDE and building everything from a command-line. #1) I did read your post, what caught my attention is you mentioning that one could create an entire project without an IDE, which is was hard for me to digest. So TKG making an entire game entirely from non IDE, I would be shocked. I'd love to know how he will do this, given his games are big is he going to place all those resources by mentally calculating their X Y coordinates ? How can you build a game entirely from CLI, you are not very convincing in selling this, since you are asking people's opinion....... I love how Darkstar missed the point entirely - when he was notified of this, he was still missing the point for several posts more. I have noticed that the level of misunderstanding on this forum is unbelievable massive. It's like if we didn't know english and used google translate to talk to each other, even when many here have english as the first language. 1) LGM does not have a guaranteed format, it lets you save and load from all formats. But should we support all formats in CLI? I think we should only support compiling from egm. If a person wants to use the CLI, he should convert to egm. 2) This would require that you create the project directory when you want to make a new game, like in Studio, you couldn't get away with adding resources and saving later because the IDE has to have it on disk. Couldn't the IDE just save to temp folder whenever you press "Compile"? And save to the project file when pressing Save. 3) GMK is damn near impossible to optimize as a result of it being one giant ass file, you can't easily skip through parts of it and write a single resource. I think we shouldn't be supporting it. 4) You probably would not be able to build without saving your changes. I believe Studio has this same restriction. But what if you checked if the project is modified from what is loaded or not, and then save to temp folder with the changes if it is modified, or don't save it and just compile the project file if there are no changes? Easier way is to write out to temp folder whenever you press "Compile", but then it might be slightly slower (depending on how fast egm can be written). 1) Treat formats like GMK as an import/export where you can import a GMK but it will automatically be converted to GMX or EGM whichever format you choose. Exactly, use EGM internally.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Darkstar2
|
|
Reply #18 Posted on: June 28, 2014, 10:36:59 am |
|
|
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1238
|
Harri is on a roll I love how Darkstar missed the point entirely - when he was notified of this, he was still missing the point for several posts more.
What am I still missing ? LGM passes its memory to the compiler, where CLI would process the file directly no ? Not everyone has a clear understanding of the inner workings of ENIGMA or how IDE and compilers connect to one another..... It's mostly his comment building an entire game without the IDE, On that note, I agree we should use EGM. Also there is a flaw in LGM anyway, despite saving project before closing LGM it always keeps reminding me that I have not saved my changes and if I really want to quit. So that would need to be fixed first.
|
|
« Last Edit: June 28, 2014, 10:39:14 am by Darkstar2 »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
time-killer-games
|
|
Reply #19 Posted on: June 28, 2014, 02:02:25 pm |
|
|
"Guest"
|
@Darkstar2 I'm using LGM as my IDE. I never said I would not use an IDE. If I were to not use LGM, which I am, I'd at least use GMS's IDE which is pretty damn close as I know what parts of LGM aren't supported in GM and vise-versa. Anyway, yes I'm using LGM, but since LGM is so buggy and slow with calling the compiler through the plugin (*cough* blame Java), the only thing I'll be using CLI for is testing and compiling projects exported from LGM.
|
|
« Last Edit: June 28, 2014, 02:04:10 pm by time-killer-games »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Goombert
|
|
Reply #20 Posted on: June 28, 2014, 02:07:27 pm |
|
|
Location: Cappuccino, CA Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 2993
|
Darkstar2, they mean how you take some trivial thing that I say and blow it into a giant elephant in the room, that somehow me making a CLI means the death of the IDE. Helen Keller didn't have enough tourettes to make such an illogical connection.
Anyway, Harri, LGM is not my project, it is IsmAvatar's and it is a GM IDE. Many people on the GMC are actually still using it to downgrade GMX into GMK and vice versa.
We could however fork LGM and make our own IDE out of it.
|
|
|
Logged
|
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.
|
|
|
time-killer-games
|
|
Reply #21 Posted on: June 28, 2014, 02:16:38 pm |
|
|
"Guest"
|
When I'm bored for an extended time period, I will try to port an existing GMS game of mine to work in GM 8.1 . I did it successfully with my blockhead game. It was cool to see it happen, but it was a complete waste of time I don't know why I did that or why anyone else should, especially with GMS standard now free. Doing this for removing the splash screen makes sense, I guess, but using GMK to port to Mac easy and cheap with GM4Mac is a more worth while use if you can't drop $100 to create for Mac. When I get a Mac desktop I'm buying GM4Mac just so I can do all my serious development on Mac as I'd strongly prefer.
|
|
« Last Edit: June 28, 2014, 02:20:56 pm by time-killer-games »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
Goombert
|
|
Reply #23 Posted on: June 28, 2014, 05:10:20 pm |
|
|
Location: Cappuccino, CA Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 2993
|
Probably two weeks, but I have 2 new classes added onto my schedule, 1 just ended, and the other ends in 2 weeks, so let's shoot for 4 weeks for it to be able to build one of your games.
|
|
|
Logged
|
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.
|
|
|
Darkstar2
|
|
Reply #24 Posted on: June 28, 2014, 06:14:52 pm |
|
|
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1238
|
Darkstar2, they mean how you take some trivial thing that I say and blow it into a giant elephant in the room, that somehow me making a CLI means the death of the IDE. Helen Keller didn't have enough tourettes to make such an illogical connection.
LOL! Whatever, I am used to breaking world records anyway. I knew what you meant shortly after what threw me at first is you saying one could build from scratch without the IDE. What I am still confused about is how did people use ENIGMA before LGM ? How do you build a game without the IDE....
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
time-killer-games
|
|
Reply #25 Posted on: June 28, 2014, 08:10:17 pm |
|
|
"Guest"
|
@Robert high five broha
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Goombert
|
|
Reply #26 Posted on: June 28, 2014, 09:07:48 pm |
|
|
Location: Cappuccino, CA Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 2993
|
Darkstar2, that's actually an interesting question, I wasn't here when they started the project but LGM and ENIGMA were developed concurrently and then merged. But ENIGMA did have a short time without an IDE, I wonder what it was like back then?
TKG, I hear yah niggah.
|
|
|
Logged
|
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.
|
|
|
|
Goombert
|
|
Reply #28 Posted on: June 29, 2014, 12:52:04 am |
|
|
Location: Cappuccino, CA Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 2993
|
Actually I would prefer a game engine that doesn't require an IDE. I like to do scripting in Notepad++ or other. Having map/room editors is good as well. This is why I believe in game engines fit for a particular purpose. The very reason I would never use Unity3D for a serious game is that it's just too much bloat.
If I were to write a cross-platform game, I would probably just use Irrlicht and some model editors, make my own map editor. GM's framework despite the negative opinions, has always been very lightweight, some of my various complaints are them bloating it with API's that not everyone needs. If I ever used Studio or ENIGMA, I would probably use one of the physics extensions and not the one built into the program, mainly because it's shit.
But that's for another topic, so please, get back on topic, or start a new one to discuss those matters.
|
|
|
Logged
|
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.
|
|
|
|
|