|
Josh @ Dreamland
|
 |
Reply #1 Posted on: May 29, 2013, 11:29:08 pm |
|
|
Prince of all Goldfish
 Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2950
|
Holy moses. How big is your game? Or are you just genuinely short on memory? I don't think the JVM's allocation bounds affect ENIGMA's compiler; if they did, it would be possible that your game was just big enough to only cause a memory issue when compiling.
Could you get us the size of the game file, and the memory consumption of each of LateralGM (javaw.exe) and cc1plus? The task manager should list those.
|
|
|
Logged
|
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble "I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
|
|
|
SuperRiderTH
|
 |
Reply #2 Posted on: May 30, 2013, 01:18:06 pm |
|
|
 Joined: May 2013
Posts: 26
|
The .gm81 is 9.17 MB (9,623,627 bytes) according to windows, and it cant be a problem with memory, I have 12GB of ram.
I tried to run it again, got the same error, and I watched the Task Manager and I saw cc1plus's memory go up to around 2,000,000 K. java.exe is at 728,900 K while running.
In the run file I added -Xmx1000M -Xms1000M to the command for starting up enigma, the game fails to open otherwise.
Also, I dual boot Windows 7 (64-bit) and Ubuntu 13.04. While I am using Ubuntu and I try to run the game my whole computer becomes non responsive while compiling and never finishes.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Josh @ Dreamland
|
 |
Reply #6 Posted on: May 30, 2013, 02:37:58 pm |
|
|
Prince of all Goldfish
 Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2950
|
This smells like a bug in GCC. Nothing ENIGMA puts in that code should make it bloat to 2GiB. The only other file that might bloat up immensely is IDE_EDIT_objectaccess.h... Even then, though, 20,000 lines is hardly a reason to require 2GiB of RAM.
Would you be willing to share either of the game file or that folder (Preprocessor_Environment_Editable)? It contains a loose C++ translation of your game code, but it's not enough to reverse-engineer back to the original game.
|
|
« Last Edit: May 30, 2013, 02:39:43 pm by Josh @ Dreamland »
|
Logged
|
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble "I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
|
|
|
polygone
|
 |
Reply #7 Posted on: May 30, 2013, 02:43:27 pm |
|
|
 Location: England Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 794
|
Hang on didn't somebody else post that memory problem with cc1plus. I'm trying to remember what happened there.
|
|
|
Logged
|
I honestly don't know wtf I'm talking about but hopefully I can muddle my way through.
|
|
|
polygone
|
 |
Reply #8 Posted on: May 30, 2013, 03:04:04 pm |
|
|
 Location: England Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 794
|
Yes they did, somebody called Wishdream on the irc. I didn't know what it was causing it so I told him to wait for Josh but he never came back.
It was probably the same problem, he said cc1plus was spammed like 20 times in the task manager and I initially figured it was MinGW screwing it. But in the IRC he said he also tried it on 3 different systems and they all had the same issue, the only thing apparently common was that they were all Win 7. I'm not sure on the validity of his testing though, but the specs of the systems he gave me were:
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core 4800+ 2.50GHz CPU, 1GB RAM 64-bit Win 7 OS, AMD Radeon HD 6670 1GB GFX Card, Realtek HD Audio Win 7 32-bit 2GB RAM laptop Win 7 64-bit 2GB RAM Laptop
Although thinking about it now, I'm considering whether it was the game size doing it and if he was then just testing the same game. SuperRiderTH do other games or a blank room work correctly for you?
|
|
« Last Edit: May 30, 2013, 03:32:24 pm by polygone »
|
Logged
|
I honestly don't know wtf I'm talking about but hopefully I can muddle my way through.
|
|
|
SuperRiderTH
|
 |
Reply #9 Posted on: May 30, 2013, 03:19:49 pm |
|
|
 Joined: May 2013
Posts: 26
|
Other games do work. It is only this one causing a problem. This game right now is very WIP, and I just started to move things over to ENIGMA and start to fix missing functions, etc. It is a modification of the Sonic Revival Engine, with Super Ring Engine stuff ported into it. So here is the Preprocessor folder. http://www.mediafire.com/download/saidqfd451b16fg/Preprocessor_Environment_Editable.7z
|
|
« Last Edit: May 30, 2013, 03:38:58 pm by SuperRiderTH »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
polygone
|
 |
Reply #10 Posted on: May 30, 2013, 03:32:56 pm |
|
|
 Location: England Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 794
|
Ah so can you upload the game, then we can see if it happens for anybody else.
|
|
|
Logged
|
I honestly don't know wtf I'm talking about but hopefully I can muddle my way through.
|
|
|
polygone
|
 |
Reply #11 Posted on: May 30, 2013, 03:42:56 pm |
|
|
 Location: England Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 794
|
By the way with a game as large as the one you're trying it's highly unlikely that it will be compatible with ENIGMA right now anyway.
|
|
|
Logged
|
I honestly don't know wtf I'm talking about but hopefully I can muddle my way through.
|
|
|
|
polygone
|
 |
Reply #13 Posted on: May 30, 2013, 04:07:56 pm |
|
|
 Location: England Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 794
|
ok. can you upload the game then? google drive has fast upload if you want something quick.
|
|
|
Logged
|
I honestly don't know wtf I'm talking about but hopefully I can muddle my way through.
|
|
|
|
|