egofree
|
|
Reply #75 Posted on: August 28, 2014, 01:42:25 pm |
|
|
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 601
|
First, TheExdeus, thanks for having made quickly the needed modifications in Enigma. Test this: https://github.com/enigma-dev/enigma-dev/pull/809 You will have to recompile the .dll. I do it by opening Git Shell and typing "mingw32-make". After that the plugin error shouldn't show and the transformation options should work fine.
I am a beginner with git and i don't know how to get your modifications. If i use the command 'git pull', it will give me the modifications from the main repository, but as your pull request is not yet accepted, what we are supposed to do ? So far i didn't succeed to use the latest version of Enigma with LateralGm. Also, I noticed that there is some weirdness when using "inverted colors" option together with instance sprite transformations.
I guess you are speaking of the 'selection' option. I didn't see any special. Can you show us an example ? And "color" should be used instead of the english spelling. Just to be more consistent.
Ok, i've changed this and it's already in the repository. And you could maybe have a "preCreation code" modifiable just like creation code is, for both the instance and rooms. So the transformations are prefixed to the user made precreation code.
I don't see the use of this. Users have already the creation code. Also preCreationCode is just a temporary property recreated each time the compilation is started. It is not saved in project files. Also you should allow negative scale (right now it doesn't allow you to set -1 in scale for example). If you had that I wouldn't need the "flip" option, which is also missing now.
That's ok for me, but it will be for another release. I will put it on my 'todo list'. Also Robert was talking about changing the scale with mouse, it would be cool also. Rotation could be done also with the mouse.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
TheExDeus
|
|
Reply #76 Posted on: August 28, 2014, 03:19:44 pm |
|
|
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1860
|
I am a beginner with git and i don't know how to get your modifications. If i use the command 'git pull', it will give me the modifications from the main repository, but as your pull request is not yet accepted, what we are supposed to do ? So far i didn't succeed to use the latest version of Enigma with LateralGm. All pull requests are just branches. So from web you can go here: https://github.com/enigma-dev/enigma-dev/tree/PreCreationCode . And so the .zip is here: https://github.com/enigma-dev/enigma-dev/archive/PreCreationCode.zipYou can also do "git checkout PreCreationCode". I guess you are speaking of the 'selection' option. I didn't see any special. Can you show us an example ? Try setting the sprite transparent and colored in room editor, then enable the inverted colors option and drag the sprite. It won't have inverted colors and the will even look more weird when over other sprites. I will maybe later post a picture. That's ok for me, but it will be for another release. I will put it on my 'todo list'. Also Robert was talking about changing the scale with mouse, it would be cool also. Rotation could be done also with the mouse. Yeah, that would be awesome.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
egofree
|
|
Reply #77 Posted on: August 29, 2014, 02:26:46 am |
|
|
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 601
|
I've downloaded your source and i executed the 'mingw32-make' command, but when i try to run an empty project, i've the following error message : g++ -I../Additional/i686-w64-mingw32/include -Wall -s -O3 -fno-rtti -fno-exceptions -DPATH_EXT_SET -IPlatforms/Win32/Info -IGraphics_Systems/OpenGL1/Info -IAudio_Systems/OpenAL/Info -ICollision_Systems/Precise/Info -IWidget_Systems/Win32/Info -INetworking_Systems/None/Info -IUniversal_System/Info -I. -IC:/ProgramData/ENIGMA/ -Wall -s -O3 -fno-exceptions -MMD -MP -c -o C:/ProgramData/ENIGMA/.eobjs/Windows/Windows/Run/Audio_Systems/OpenAL/ALsystem.o Audio_Systems/OpenAL/ALsystem.cpp In file included from Audio_Systems/OpenAL/ALsystem.cpp:23:0: Audio_Systems/OpenAL/ALsystem.h:28:22: fatal error: AL/alure.h: No such file or directory #include <AL/alure.h> ^ compilation terminated. g++ -I../Additional/i686-w64-mingw32/include -Wall -s -O3 -fno-rtti -fno-exceptions -DPATH_EXT_SET -IPlatforms/Win32/Info -IGraphics_Systems/OpenGL1/Info -IAudio_Systems/OpenAL/Info -ICollision_Systems/Precise/Info -IWidget_Systems/Win32/Info -INetworking_Systems/None/Info -IUniversal_System/Info -I. -IC:/ProgramData/ENIGMA/ -Wall -s -O3 -fno-exceptions -MMD -MP -c -o C:/ProgramData/ENIGMA/.eobjs/Windows/Windows/Run/Platforms/Win32/WINDOWSexternals.o Platforms/Win32/WINDOWSexternals.cpp Platforms/Win32/WINDOWSexternals.cpp:36:17: fatal error: ffi.h: No such file or directory #include <ffi.h> Anyway that's not a big problem for me. On the client side, i did already a lot of tests, and if it works for you with the Enigma engine, it's ok for me if we merge.
|
|
« Last Edit: August 29, 2014, 04:02:53 am by egofree »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
egofree
|
|
Reply #78 Posted on: August 29, 2014, 04:11:36 am |
|
|
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 601
|
Try setting the sprite transparent and colored in room editor, then enable the inverted colors option and drag the sprite. It won't have inverted colors and the will even look more weird when over other sprites. I will maybe later post a picture.
Well, it's not exactly 'inverted colors'. At first, i've the found the method setXORMode ( http://docs.oracle.com/javase/7/docs/api/java/awt/Graphics.html#setXORMode(java.awt.Color)), which was interesting, but it's not really inverted colors. This is the method currently used to display 'inverted colors'. Now when i was looking how to make 'color blending' in java, i've found others methods, like RGB filters (c.f http://docs.oracle.com/javase/7/docs/api/java/awt/image/RGBImageFilter.html), which could be used to implement real 'inverted colors', but it doesn't seem to me a high priority right now. So my question is : the problem is that's not exactly 'inverted colors', or it's because there is others graphical 'glitches' ?
|
|
« Last Edit: August 29, 2014, 04:20:39 am by egofree »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
TheExDeus
|
|
Reply #79 Posted on: August 29, 2014, 08:02:08 am |
|
|
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1860
|
I've downloaded your source and i executed the 'mingw32-make' command, but when i try to run an empty project, i've the following error message : Did you just pull the branch in a new directory? Those errors are because you didn't install the "Additional" packages which are no in git. They are added in the portable zip and downloadable from the wiki separately as well. What I actually suggest you to use on windows is GitHub For Windows. It is a clean interface where you can just drag the folder with .git inside the window and it will show all the commits and branches. Then on the top you will be able to change the branch and it will do it automatically. Anyway, I just merged into master so you can test from there. If it's broken, then I will try to fix it or revert. And I guess the problems I was seeing were just no proper inversion. Like it didn't override the blend function (so it was still transparent and red just as I put it), and only the outline was blending. Not a big problem for me, as I don't actually use the inverted colors option. Just played with it.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
egofree
|
|
Reply #81 Posted on: August 29, 2014, 01:51:44 pm |
|
|
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 601
|
For inverted colors, i think i know what could be the problem. With certain colors and with certain objects (specially faded colors), it looks sometimes horrible. For example, with a wall object which has solid colors, it looks more or less ok : But with the clown, it's really not good looking : I was already aware of this problem. It should be improved, but i think for the moment we can survive with the current situation.
|
|
« Last Edit: August 29, 2014, 02:18:38 pm by egofree »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
|
TheExDeus
|
|
Reply #84 Posted on: August 29, 2014, 04:10:36 pm |
|
|
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1860
|
What kind of error you have? Those alure.h and ffi.h errors are when you don't have the additional packages installed. I am not sure what you have to do on linux, but on windows it means you don't have ENIGMAsystem\Additional folder. You can get that by downloading the installer zip and copy out from there.
I manage to compile fine, but there are massive stability issues with ENIGMA right now. Like the minecraft example crashes on GL1 (something to do with texture_set_stage changes) and GL3 works fine, but transparency is a little broken. Other GL3 examples don't render correctly either, so we will have to fix it. It's just that there are very few active developers now, so it got a little messy.
edit: The GL1 minecraft segfault is actually something I already fixed, but had to revert because of other bugs. Should probably complete that branch and try to implement again.
|
|
« Last Edit: August 29, 2014, 04:21:18 pm by TheExDeus »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
|
Goombert
|
|
Reply #87 Posted on: August 31, 2014, 06:02:04 pm |
|
|
Location: Cappuccino, CA Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 2993
|
I would just like to offer some feedback here with the latest Portable ZIP. After testing the various features and preferences for selection and moving instances I must say you've done an excellent job here egofree with implementing everything, I am very proud of you and happy to have you as a contributor.
I so far have only thought of one suggestion, I believe we should add a check box for tiles and instances on the "Delete All" button so that you can delete just tiles or just instances. Does that make sense?
Also I set the default grid size to 18x18 since that is what size Josh's Calico icon set was exported in but we really should keep the default 16x16 of GM in my opinion. Perhaps we could check if the default object icon is being used and then scale it?
|
|
|
Logged
|
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.
|
|
|
|
Goombert
|
|
Reply #89 Posted on: September 01, 2014, 07:36:11 am |
|
|
Location: Cappuccino, CA Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 2993
|
Well, it works this way : if you are on the objects tab it will delete only instances, and if you are on the tiles tab it will delete tiles only. This is identical to GM Studio. Eh, I really don't like that. I would like someone other than me and you to offer their preference. I don't understand : Calico icons are used in LateralGm as icons, but are they really used in games ? Anyway i am not against changing the default grid size to 16x16. Create an object without a sprite, then create a room and add the object, the icon used to represent it will be the object ball. In GM it was always a question mark if the object had no sprite, in LGM we just use the object icon. But anyway that icon is 18x18 but I'd like a 16x16 default grid where that icon fits properly into it since power of two is better. So in other words I'd like 16x16 default grid size and when an instance uses the default icon to display itself in the room editor it should scale itself down to 16x16.
|
|
|
Logged
|
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.
|
|
|
|