IsmAvatar
|
|
Reply #45 Posted on: July 30, 2014, 10:25:02 am |
|
|
LateralGM Developer
Location: Pennsylvania/USA Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 877
|
The message should read something more like: "Are you sure you want to delete all instances in this room? This operation cannot be undone." Instance is the official term and a well-defined concept in LateralGM; it even has its own wiki page: http://enigma-dev.org/docs/Wiki/Instance"in this room" is an important qualifier, to not confuse the user as to what scope of instances will be deleted - will it delete all instances in the entire project or just the instances in this room - we must clarify. "All data will be lost" is a horrible sentence to use here. It conveys nothing more than the first sentence, and does not imply that the operation can't be undone. It is also scary - ALL data?! Throughout the entire project?! Say what you mean, and be clear about it. "This operation cannot be undone." Punctuation is a little important as well. We should avoid contractions like "can't" (prefer "cannot" or "can not"), and remember to terminate sentences with a period. Also, remember to send the string through Messages.getString so that it gets translated. As pointed out, we should also be translating "<no objects>", although that may be a challenge to translate since "objects" should be independently translated. Edit: I have committed this change. Also, it appears that "<no objects>" already has a translation key; not sure why French didn't translate it.
|
|
« Last Edit: July 30, 2014, 10:38:56 am by IsmAvatar »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
egofree
|
|
Reply #46 Posted on: July 31, 2014, 04:17:20 am |
|
|
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 601
|
I want to add a help button for the room controls. I don't want to spend hours to figure out if my sentences are correct or not, and i will take the sentences of GM Studio : Left mouse button : Move/Add Left mouse button + Alt : No snap Left mouse button + Shift : Add multiple Left mouse + Ctrl : Add on top Right mouse button : Delete It's ok, but i think it's succinct. If you have any advises, they are welcome.
|
|
« Last Edit: July 31, 2014, 04:25:22 pm by egofree »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
Darkstar2
|
|
Reply #48 Posted on: August 01, 2014, 12:16:38 am |
|
|
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1238
|
Very nice work there. One minor thing, I see some new features being added, I think those should be updated in the wiki documentation to reflect changes, removal, fixing or adding new functions, features, etc. Also, why is LGM version frozen ? With all the changes added to LGM lately shouldn't the version increment ? Like 1.8.7 ? You should also add your name in the about section in LGM.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Goombert
|
|
Reply #49 Posted on: August 01, 2014, 01:08:48 am |
|
|
Location: Cappuccino, CA Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 2993
|
Editor documentation belongs at the following pages. http://enigma-dev.org/docs/Wiki/Working_with_LateralGMNever had much time to work on the pages, do with them what you people want to do and I'll come back later and clean it up.
|
|
|
Logged
|
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.
|
|
|
|
|
Goombert
|
|
Reply #52 Posted on: August 01, 2014, 03:49:27 am |
|
|
Location: Cappuccino, CA Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 2993
|
As i am not a native English speaker, i don't feel competent to do it, and anyway i was told i write 'horrible sentences' ! Alright, don't worry about it then, I will correct any mistakes I see in the English translation, but also, still feel free to consult us on your translations. I propose this : let me finish the scaling and flipping functions, and then we will increment the version and make a announcement so people will know that new features have been added in LateralGm. Try to keep a change log of everything like I usually do, and do not worry about the version number I can find time to increment that and package a new Portable ZIP. But first I would like to get all the scalling, flipping, rotation and instance locals added to the room editor since they require the back end to be updated. In fact I am going to be working on some other things like implementing the audio quality settings, which I've yet to do, with some help from Josh. This is nice to do it all at once so that users don't constantly have the plugin becoming inconsistent with the compiler.
|
|
|
Logged
|
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.
|
|
|
egofree
|
|
Reply #53 Posted on: August 02, 2014, 03:30:09 pm |
|
|
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 601
|
I've fixed two errors concerning views : - It was not working correctly if the OS is non-English (Testing the selected tab with the title was not very optimal ) - If the room starts with the views tab, the views are displayed now. Before it was displayed only if you switched to the views tab manually. I've finished to implement the selected instance/tile. If you click on an object in the rooms editor, it will be displayed with a white and black border. This will be useful when more fields will be added to instances (scale,rotation, flip), as the user will know exactly what instance is modified. Also if you click an instance in the list, it is displayed centered in the rooms editor and with a border (similar to views) : I will do more testing and make pull request tomorrow.
|
|
« Last Edit: August 02, 2014, 03:32:23 pm by egofree »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Goombert
|
|
Reply #54 Posted on: August 02, 2014, 03:33:58 pm |
|
|
Location: Cappuccino, CA Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 2993
|
Egofree, another thing I think would be cool that Studio does partially is add the handles to the corner of the selection box, but expand upon that by allowing you to draw those handles for scaling and rotation.
|
|
|
Logged
|
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
egofree
|
|
Reply #59 Posted on: August 08, 2014, 02:57:18 pm |
|
|
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 601
|
I am still developing the functions for rotating, scaling, and modifying the alpha property of instances. The methods in Java for displaying images with these properties are trivial : Graphics2D g2 = (Graphics2D) g;
g2.scale(scale.getX(),scale.getY()); g2.rotate(Math.toRadians(-rotation)); AlphaComposite ac = AlphaComposite.getInstance(AlphaComposite.SRC_OVER, (float) (alpha / 255.0)); g2.setComposite(ac); // Alpha But the code for calculating the bounds of the instance when it is rotated is far from being simple ! (We are not rotating the object around its center, but around its left upper corner. This is how it's done in GM Studio). At least from me : i am far from being a genius in trigonometry. Still, i am confident i will finish soon this problem. I don't intend to implement flipping in this version. Anyway flipping is just a rotation and translation. Here is some new screenshots: Scaling:Rotation :Opacity:
|
|
« Last Edit: August 08, 2014, 03:12:37 pm by egofree »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|