Pages: 1
  Print  
Author Topic: ANGLE Project  (Read 5511 times)
Offline (Male) Goombert
Posted on: January 25, 2014, 06:29:14 pm

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 2993

View Profile
So I recently discovered that Studio is using ANGLE for shaders. More information can be found on Google code.
http://code.google.com/p/angleproject/

ANGLE basically lets you use GLSL/GLES shaders in Direct3D. It is used in Google Chrome and Firefox.

As you can see Studio is using it.

Now I was originally spouting nonsense about CG which is even more proprietary than HLSL and just as bad. This may actually be one of the few things YoYoGames did correctly. However it is important to note that this project is BSD licensed and I am not sure if we could make it optional if implemented.

I also discovered that Studio does not mention them in the licenses tab of the launch section like they do Box2D and other things. This either means they made a mistake and are inadvertently or purposefully infringing the copyright, or they have some sort of deal with Google.

However I am still missing something fundamental here I think, because the following page suggests that ANGLE also abstracts vertex/index buffers.
http://code.google.com/p/angleproject/wiki/BufferImplementation
This could explain why Studio does not allow you to choose the graphics system because it only has 1 graphics system, in theory, but I have no evidence.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2014, 06:39:32 pm by Robert B Colton » Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Unknown gender) time-killer-games
Reply #1 Posted on: January 25, 2014, 07:21:51 pm
"Guest"


Email
I'm certain they did it without having permission to not credit. Doesn't surprise me.
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #2 Posted on: January 25, 2014, 07:26:35 pm

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 2993

View Profile
Actually, it is much more, this is a full graphics abstraction layer, which means we could remove all of our graphics systems and have all of it just GLES, but it can run in D3D9 and D3D11 mode. So this is exactly why Studio does not allow you to choose your graphics system. I have permission from Josh to implement it, but I am having a bit of trouble building it. This would also mean OpenGL framebuffers would work for people with shitty PC's like polygonz by use of the EGL_ANGLE_direct3d_surface extension.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Male) DaSpirit
Reply #3 Posted on: January 25, 2014, 07:49:41 pm

Member
Location: New York City
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 124

View Profile
I'm all up for this. You guys always complained about having too many graphics systems.

Don't forget to mention that Qt uses this too, which Skype, VLC and my own NGM is built upon. With high profile applications using this, it must have fantastic support.
Logged
Offline (Male) Jimmy_D
Reply #4 Posted on: February 14, 2014, 11:39:06 pm
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 69

View Profile
Actually, it is much more, this is a full graphics abstraction layer, which means we could remove all of our graphics systems and have all of it just GLES, but it can run in D3D9 and D3D11 mode. So this is exactly why Studio does not allow you to choose your graphics system. I have permission from Josh to implement it, but I am having a bit of trouble building it. This would also mean OpenGL framebuffers would work for people with shitty PC's like polygonz by use of the EGL_ANGLE_direct3d_surface extension.

What the bloody fuck do you care about people's shitty PCs ???

Do the new next generation games worry ? NO.  you don't have a PC up to par you can't run the fucking game, simple as that.
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #5 Posted on: February 15, 2014, 10:54:43 am

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 2993

View Profile
It should be a concern that people on Windows Vista can't run shit.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Male) Sslaxx
Reply #6 Posted on: February 15, 2014, 12:01:59 pm

Member
Location: UK
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 72
AOL Instant Messenger - MrSslaxx Yahoo Instant Messenger - mrsslaxx
View Profile Email
It should be a concern that people on Windows Vista can't run shit.
Tell me about it. My mother's PC runs Vista, and fuck is it terrible.
Logged
Stuart "Sslaxx" Moore.
Offline (Unknown gender) Darkstar2
Reply #7 Posted on: February 15, 2014, 05:05:59 pm
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1238

View Profile Email
Actually, it is much more, this is a full graphics abstraction layer, which means we could remove all of our graphics systems and have all of it just GLES, but it can run in D3D9 and D3D11 mode. So this is exactly why Studio does not allow you to choose your graphics system. I have permission from Josh to implement it, but I am having a bit of trouble building it. This would also mean OpenGL framebuffers would work for people with shitty PC's like polygonz by use of the EGL_ANGLE_direct3d_surface extension.

What the bloody fuck do you care about people's shitty PCs ???

Do the new next generation games worry ? NO.  you don't have a PC up to par you can't run the fucking game, simple as that.

Actually you are clueless and wrong ! Not everyone has the luxury to have the latest hardware, and game companies HAVE to care, otherwise they are losing money.  That's why you have the flexibility of adjusting game settings in most games, texture quality / visuals etc from low end to ultra settings. There are 2 requirements, minimum requirements and recommended ones, some games are ahead and even with latest hardware you might barely get decent performance but playable, many games push the ilmits but allow you tweak your settings based on your system.

So software companies have to care !

lol - how many people do you think still use DirectX9 cards.

Not everyone updates their GPU every year or twice a year. :D

Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) Darkstar2
Reply #8 Posted on: February 15, 2014, 05:08:23 pm
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1238

View Profile Email
It should be a concern that people on Windows Vista can't run shit.
Tell me about it. My mother's PC runs Vista, and fuck is it terrible.

I remember back then when I was running Windows Me (before XP) people thought I was crazy and said that Me sucked.....Never had any issues with Me mind you, but VISTA, that is another story, and terrible is just an understatement, I can think of many other words for that OS....... :D

Why in God's name is she still using Vista ?  I would never subject even my worst enemies to such pain....(oh ok maybe !) lol.

I kinda forgot all about VISTA until it was mentioned!

« Last Edit: February 15, 2014, 05:10:03 pm by Darkstar2 » Logged
Pages: 1
  Print