Pages: « 1 2 3 »
  Print  
Author Topic: New Member Intro + Other  (Read 6334 times)
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #15 Posted on: January 30, 2014, 05:26:53 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1170

View Profile Email
It at least to me doesn't really matter what resolution is used as it automatically gets scaled to fill the screen (much like the full-scale option on windows) when running the apk. But the aspect ratio does matter if the width < height fixed portrait should be used otherwise landscape. But typically I recommend 4:3 like 320x420 or 640x480 for small games and 1024x768 or even as big as 1280x960., which is what I typically use. If your game isn't 4:3 an easy fix would be change the view ports in the first room's view settings to be 4:3 and the viewport can't be set at runtime so whatever you set the w/h view ports to in the first room then all the rooms and views of that index will have that w/h  view port.

virtual_key_add() can simulate keyboard press/released/down by making a tapp-able rectangular areas on the touch screen which will act like the keyboard buttons. The problem with this however, we as human beings have only two thumbs, so due to the way most people hold their device is kinda like a game controller. But technically only the thumbs can press the buttons in that posture due to moibile devices and tablets are rectangular and not shaped like a console controller. So each hand can only press one button at a time.  Meaning you can only press two buttons (one on each side of the screen) simultaneously which can be a major problem, a fairly easy way around it however is to make a virtual joystick.

I've never had issues with running my games on android and I've made games well over 100s of MB made mostly of large sprites and backgrounds. I really don't think we'll have much trouble getting your games to work how they should on mobile. All this hardware limitations and crap I'm very certain won't be an issue with you as it hasn't been for me and I use rediculously sized sprites especially when I make pre-rendered 3D Myst games we are talking multiframe sprites as big as 1024x760 and panoramic textures as big as 2048x2048 trust me dude it won't be a problem. =)
Logged
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #16 Posted on: January 30, 2014, 05:32:34 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1170

View Profile Email
Wow you make myst-style adventures?? Meee toooooo!! =D you are my new best friend.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) Darkstar2
Reply #17 Posted on: January 30, 2014, 06:34:06 PM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1238

View Profile Email
It at least to me doesn't really matter what resolution is used as it automatically gets scaled to fill the screen (much like the full-scale option on windows) when running the apk. But the aspect ratio does matter if the width < height fixed portrait should be used otherwise landscape. But typically I recommend 4:3 like 320x420 or 640x480 for small games and 1024x768 or even as big as 1280x960., which is what I typically use. If your game isn't 4:3 an easy fix would be change the view ports in the first room's view settings to be 4:3 and the viewport can't be set at runtime so whatever you set the w/h view ports to in the first room then all the rooms and views of that index will have that w/h  view port.

virtual_key_add() can simulate keyboard press/released/down by making a tapp-able rectangular areas on the touch screen which will act like the keyboard buttons. The problem with this however, we as human beings have only two thumbs, so due to the way most people hold their device is kinda like a game controller. But technically only the thumbs can press the buttons in that posture due to moibile devices and tablets are rectangular and not shaped like a console controller. So each hand can only press one button at a time.  Meaning you can only press two buttons (one on each side of the screen) simultaneously which can be a major problem, a fairly easy way around it however is to make a virtual joystick.

I've never had issues with running my games on android and I've made games well over 100s of MB made mostly of large sprites and backgrounds. I really don't think we'll have much trouble getting your games to work how they should on mobile. All this hardware limitations and crap I'm very certain won't be an issue with you as it hasn't been for me and I use rediculously sized sprites especially when I make pre-rendered 3D Myst games we are talking multiframe sprites as big as 1024x760 and panoramic textures as big as 2048x2048 trust me dude it won't be a problem. =)

Wow - you are really taking it to high standards, that's nice, that's exactly what I am aiming for.  Are you using GM Studio or ENIGMA from scratch ? I was not even aware one could use such big sprites in GM Studio.  I read on forums about some people complaining of not being able to use large resources particularly on the GMC forums, and I have noticed this too.   So you are using pre-rendered stuff, great, that's what I intend to do as well, using 3D elements in a 2D game, using pre-rendered sprites, blending everything together.
As far as 3D rendered scenes that's great for building adventure games.
Which program would be good to use if I want to render rooms with lights, tables, objects, halls, doors, etc, if I want to build an adventure game ?

Of course by using those big resources they take quit a lot of RAM in GM:S, I don't know how ENIGMA handles it, but from what I recall back in the GM days the bitmap was stored twice ?  Sound is stored uncompressed and so I must assume you have a lot of RAM.  Also to do the pre-rendered 3D sprite or large objects, those take a lot of RAM too, especially the large, multiframe sprites :D

In GM:S I remember projects of only 2-4MB when run would take 50-100MBs of RAM, imagine when using pre-rendered / multiframe sprites, large resources.


Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) Darkstar2
Reply #18 Posted on: January 30, 2014, 06:43:24 PM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1238

View Profile Email
Wow you make myst-style adventures?? Meee toooooo!! =D you are my new best friend.

I wish !  ;D ;D ;D ;D I dream about it sometimes, :P In my post I said "I would LIKE to....."  :)  I've played around with GM:S and experiment, but never officially released anything, not even pixel art stuff :P

BTW, line jumper, which is composed of lines (2 colors) made a killing success, so who knows, maybe I can come up with something simple to begin with.
I do have all the equipment to build full fledged myst like games in terms of computer power, GPU, etc, minus the millions of $ to pay actors  ;D but lack of time......  Or perhaps I could make an adventure game based entirely on pixel art ! lol.

Now here is another crazy idea, because I like thinking outside the box and trying stuff.

Now I know you probably will say I am out of my mind ! But I am also looking
at doing some TEXT adventures ......   I'd like to try every known type of game out there old and new generation, if you can invent for me a time machine and a machine that freezes time, I'd be really grateful :D

 :D

I like these type of games, have ever completed such games ? How long did it take you ?   
Logged
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #19 Posted on: January 30, 2014, 07:48:42 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1170

View Profile Email
Yeah the file size is the biggest issue. I've completed adventure games before but they were projects that really sucked and had no potential. They took me about roughly a month each. I'm working on a new adventure game project called "Dungeon Blabber" and so far so good. Since it's my first "serious" adventure game project it will probably take about a year if not a bit more than that.I love text adventures I almost like them as much as myst type games.

I originally found out about text adventures from this site:
http://www.homestarrunner.com/

They have a game there called "Thy Dungeonman" (1,2,& 3) and there's also "Peasent's Quest" which are really fun text adventures btw

I've never really completed a single working project in ENIGMA yet so I've been using GMS for just about everything. As for rendering engines - I use Bryce which costs money (about $20) and
If you want something free try Sweet Home 3D http://www.sweethome3d.com/ which is open source and very user-friendly. For a more powerful engine for rendering images and animation try blender http://www.blender.org/ though its free and open source it's very hard to work with and not at all targeted at beginners.
« Last Edit: January 30, 2014, 07:54:58 PM by time-killer-games » Logged
Offline (Male) DaSpirit
Reply #20 Posted on: January 30, 2014, 08:05:43 PM

Member
Location: New York City
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 124

View Profile
Quote
Wow - you are really taking it to high standards, that's nice, that's exactly what I am aiming for.  Are you using GM Studio or ENIGMA from scratch ? I was not even aware one could use such big sprites in GM Studio.  I read on forums about some people complaining of not being able to use large resources particularly on the GMC forums, and I have noticed this too.
GameMaker combines sprites together into texture sheets, so if your sprite is larger than the texture sheet, problems occur. The solution is to use GM Studio Professional, where you are able to configure the max texture sheet sizes.

Also, you shouldn't worry about RAM. 32 bit applications can have a max of 2 GB RAM.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) Darkstar2
Reply #21 Posted on: January 30, 2014, 10:11:27 PM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1238

View Profile Email
Quote
Wow - you are really taking it to high standards, that's nice, that's exactly what I am aiming for.  Are you using GM Studio or ENIGMA from scratch ? I was not even aware one could use such big sprites in GM Studio.  I read on forums about some people complaining of not being able to use large resources particularly on the GMC forums, and I have noticed this too.
GameMaker combines sprites together into texture sheets, so if your sprite is larger than the texture sheet, problems occur. The solution is to use GM Studio Professional, where you are able to configure the max texture sheet sizes.

Also, you shouldn't worry about RAM. 32 bit applications can have a max of 2 GB RAM.

Yes that I know, 32bit limitations, that's why I like to use external resources as much as possible as not to hog RAM.

And GM Studio Pro is what I use ....

BTW, I notice LGM does not have any conrfiguration for texture sizes, is this handled automatically ?
Logged
Offline (Male) Goombert
Reply #22 Posted on: January 30, 2014, 10:55:02 PM

Developer
Location: Cappuccino, CA
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 2993

View Profile
It's not added yet because I haven't had the time. It is not that important on desktops where video memory is not quite as expensive and bigger games such as Battlefield, SimCity, etc. require effective use of multi-texturing which ironically can have the same outcome in reducing memory usage. Texture paging is more of an issue for mobile games where AGP memory is limited.
Logged
I think it was Leonardo da Vinci who once said something along the lines of "If you build the robots, they will make games." or something to that effect.

Offline (Male) Jimmy_D
Reply #23 Posted on: February 14, 2014, 11:27:46 PM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 69

View Profile
Wow you make myst-style adventures?? Meee toooooo!! =D you are my new best friend.

awww shite !!! I thought I was your best friend.  :D

Well guess now you found a new cock to suck.  What is this newb central ?
the newb game makers stick together ???

what's that faggot on about, your game looks nothing like Myst, it's even a fucking insult to compare it to Myst !   Myst is a classic. Your game is just a jumbled mess of random garbage.  you can't even fucking render your scenes properly you dumbarse.



Logged
Offline (Male) Jimmy_D
Reply #24 Posted on: February 14, 2014, 11:30:07 PM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 69

View Profile
high standards !

ROTFLMAO !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Boy you are really that fucking daft ?  Hey Time Killer I think you found your perfect match.  Maybe you can help one another with your gay games.

high standards

AHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHA

this is too much this

AHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHA
AHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHA
AHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Bryce 7

yeah high standard, I'm so jealous you arse !

It at least to me doesn't really matter what resolution is used as it automatically gets scaled to fill the screen (much like the full-scale option on windows) when running the apk. But the aspect ratio does matter if the width < height fixed portrait should be used otherwise landscape. But typically I recommend 4:3 like 320x420 or 640x480 for small games and 1024x768 or even as big as 1280x960., which is what I typically use. If your game isn't 4:3 an easy fix would be change the view ports in the first room's view settings to be 4:3 and the viewport can't be set at runtime so whatever you set the w/h view ports to in the first room then all the rooms and views of that index will have that w/h  view port.

virtual_key_add() can simulate keyboard press/released/down by making a tapp-able rectangular areas on the touch screen which will act like the keyboard buttons. The problem with this however, we as human beings have only two thumbs, so due to the way most people hold their device is kinda like a game controller. But technically only the thumbs can press the buttons in that posture due to moibile devices and tablets are rectangular and not shaped like a console controller. So each hand can only press one button at a time.  Meaning you can only press two buttons (one on each side of the screen) simultaneously which can be a major problem, a fairly easy way around it however is to make a virtual joystick.

I've never had issues with running my games on android and I've made games well over 100s of MB made mostly of large sprites and backgrounds. I really don't think we'll have much trouble getting your games to work how they should on mobile. All this hardware limitations and crap I'm very certain won't be an issue with you as it hasn't been for me and I use rediculously sized sprites especially when I make pre-rendered 3D Myst games we are talking multiframe sprites as big as 1024x760 and panoramic textures as big as 2048x2048 trust me dude it won't be a problem. =)

Wow - you are really taking it to high standards, that's nice, that's exactly what I am aiming for.  Are you using GM Studio or ENIGMA from scratch ? I was not even aware one could use such big sprites in GM Studio.  I read on forums about some people complaining of not being able to use large resources particularly on the GMC forums, and I have noticed this too.   So you are using pre-rendered stuff, great, that's what I intend to do as well, using 3D elements in a 2D game, using pre-rendered sprites, blending everything together.
As far as 3D rendered scenes that's great for building adventure games.
Which program would be good to use if I want to render rooms with lights, tables, objects, halls, doors, etc, if I want to build an adventure game ?

Of course by using those big resources they take quit a lot of RAM in GM:S, I don't know how ENIGMA handles it, but from what I recall back in the GM days the bitmap was stored twice ?  Sound is stored uncompressed and so I must assume you have a lot of RAM.  Also to do the pre-rendered 3D sprite or large objects, those take a lot of RAM too, especially the large, multiframe sprites :D

In GM:S I remember projects of only 2-4MB when run would take 50-100MBs of RAM, imagine when using pre-rendered / multiframe sprites, large resources.
Logged
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #25 Posted on: February 14, 2014, 11:34:47 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1170

View Profile Email
high standards !

ROTFLMAO !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Boy you are really that fucking daft ?  Hey Time Killer I think you found your perfect match.  Maybe you can help one another with your gay games.

high standards

AHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHA

this is too much this

AHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHA
AHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHA
AHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Bryce 7

yeah high standard, I'm so jealous you arse !

It at least to me doesn't really matter what resolution is used as it automatically gets scaled to fill the screen (much like the full-scale option on windows) when running the apk. But the aspect ratio does matter if the width < height fixed portrait should be used otherwise landscape. But typically I recommend 4:3 like 320x420 or 640x480 for small games and 1024x768 or even as big as 1280x960., which is what I typically use. If your game isn't 4:3 an easy fix would be change the view ports in the first room's view settings to be 4:3 and the viewport can't be set at runtime so whatever you set the w/h view ports to in the first room then all the rooms and views of that index will have that w/h  view port.

virtual_key_add() can simulate keyboard press/released/down by making a tapp-able rectangular areas on the touch screen which will act like the keyboard buttons. The problem with this however, we as human beings have only two thumbs, so due to the way most people hold their device is kinda like a game controller. But technically only the thumbs can press the buttons in that posture due to moibile devices and tablets are rectangular and not shaped like a console controller. So each hand can only press one button at a time.  Meaning you can only press two buttons (one on each side of the screen) simultaneously which can be a major problem, a fairly easy way around it however is to make a virtual joystick.

I've never had issues with running my games on android and I've made games well over 100s of MB made mostly of large sprites and backgrounds. I really don't think we'll have much trouble getting your games to work how they should on mobile. All this hardware limitations and crap I'm very certain won't be an issue with you as it hasn't been for me and I use rediculously sized sprites especially when I make pre-rendered 3D Myst games we are talking multiframe sprites as big as 1024x760 and panoramic textures as big as 2048x2048 trust me dude it won't be a problem. =)

Wow - you are really taking it to high standards, that's nice, that's exactly what I am aiming for.  Are you using GM Studio or ENIGMA from scratch ? I was not even aware one could use such big sprites in GM Studio.  I read on forums about some people complaining of not being able to use large resources particularly on the GMC forums, and I have noticed this too.   So you are using pre-rendered stuff, great, that's what I intend to do as well, using 3D elements in a 2D game, using pre-rendered sprites, blending everything together.
As far as 3D rendered scenes that's great for building adventure games.
Which program would be good to use if I want to render rooms with lights, tables, objects, halls, doors, etc, if I want to build an adventure game ?

Of course by using those big resources they take quit a lot of RAM in GM:S, I don't know how ENIGMA handles it, but from what I recall back in the GM days the bitmap was stored twice ?  Sound is stored uncompressed and so I must assume you have a lot of RAM.  Also to do the pre-rendered 3D sprite or large objects, those take a lot of RAM too, especially the large, multiframe sprites :D

In GM:S I remember projects of only 2-4MB when run would take 50-100MBs of RAM, imagine when using pre-rendered / multiframe sprites, large resources.

You are a psycho. Someone should put you in a straitjacket. Don't you reallize how you're acting is the least bit crazy?
Logged
Offline (Male) Jimmy_D
Reply #26 Posted on: February 14, 2014, 11:43:17 PM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 69

View Profile
What did you say there n00b ? Don't try diverting the topic you know I'm right, just admit it!

I don't understand why people are making a big deal of your shitty game.

Seriously, to me it appears some people here have never played any other games in their lives but shitty game maker and enigma games ! So how could said n00bs compare, they have nothing to go by!

How sad.

If people consider such mediocrity as "high standard" then fuck me ! I feel sorry for the human species.

you lot ain't seen high standard if it hit you in the face.

and you call me crazy ? get out of mum's basement and look around !
you are too busy making shitty games with shitty software ! perhaps you should go take your fuck buddy there and go play really good games and go learn what a real good game is, then you can talk about high standards.

Logged
Offline (Male) time-killer-games
Reply #27 Posted on: February 14, 2014, 11:48:16 PM

Contributor
Location: Virginia Beach
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1170

View Profile Email
You are right, I'm not even joking. I'm going to bed.

~Good night!
Logged
Offline (Male) Jimmy_D
Reply #28 Posted on: February 15, 2014, 12:12:00 AM
Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 69

View Profile
You are right, I'm not even joking. I'm going to bed.

~Good night!


Good nite mate, have some sweet dreams !!!  ;D

(cry cry cry cry)  I hope I did not hurt your feelings lad!   :D

Maybe you can dream of actually making a decent game.

and don't make it about me young man I already have 3 potential best sellers of book in the process and soon to be published.

Your game is low polygon garbage.  the other fag who mentions Myst, lol, i wonder if he ever played Myst, because it's like day and night next to your game. 

Anyhow it's way past your bed time anyway. :D
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) TheExDeus
Reply #29 Posted on: February 15, 2014, 08:51:32 AM

Developer
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1860

View Profile
I believe we will just ban Jimmy. Having constructive criticisms is one thing, but he has never had it. He just spams garbage and is trying to be offensive for no reason. No need for a person like that in the community.
Logged
Pages: « 1 2 3 »
  Print