Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Svnkit error/enigma isn't ready yet  (Read 887 times)
Offline (Unknown gender) miguel71
Posted on: May 12, 2012, 08:11:02 PM
Member
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 3

View Profile
Can anyone help me with this problem? When i try to compile/run a game it says "enigma isn't ready yet". Also at the console it says an error about svnkit probably related with when i try to update the librarys it just says starting! :(  Please help, i'm new to enigma. :ohdear:
Logged
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #1 Posted on: May 12, 2012, 10:11:26 PM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Ohio, United States
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2921

View Profile Email
If ENIGMA isn't ready yet, it's likely still being compiled. LGM takes care of that on first run. Give it a bit to finish; check the terminal/console window for output to see if it's doing anything.

As for the SVNkit error, if you used the prepackaged zip, don't worry about it. If that's the case, and you have SVNKit in your plugins folder, just remove it.
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Unknown gender) fzztr
Reply #2 Posted on: May 12, 2012, 11:06:11 PM
Member
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1

View Profile Email
I'm a new user too, and I followed the installation instructions on the download page. The same svnkit error shows up, and the console just stops doing anything. Removing doesn't seem to help; it just brings up the error earlier.

Could you please look into this? Maybe this is an issue related to a recent update, seeing as both of us are having the same problem at nearly the same time. I'm not very familiar with this project, so sorry about my ignorance.
Logged
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #3 Posted on: May 13, 2012, 12:38:49 AM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Ohio, United States
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2921

View Profile Email
I have updated the link. It should have been http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1052740/ENIGMA-Releases/ENIGMA-R984-SVN.zip.

We are working on a more sophisticated release system for Windows. It is difficult to devise one, since we can not rely on the version control system to store libraries and binaries anymore.

I've all but begged ENIGMA's Windows maintainers to upload their Additional/ folder as a zip archive somewhere, but the request keeps going unnoticed.
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Male) polygone
Reply #4 Posted on: May 13, 2012, 04:11:11 AM

Contributor
Location: England
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 803

View Profile
I've all but begged ENIGMA's Windows maintainers to upload their Additional/ folder as a zip archive somewhere, but the request keeps going unnoticed.
Does TGMG have it? I haven't seen you ask him for the Additional/ folder yet. And Harri is never on irc so I doubt you've asked him. In fact I think you've only asked me when you're referring to 'Windows maintainers' here.
Logged
I honestly don't know wtf I'm talking about but hopefully I can muddle my way through.
Offline (Unknown gender) miguel71
Reply #5 Posted on: May 13, 2012, 05:30:57 AM
Member
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 3

View Profile
Thanks Josh that really helped  :D!

By the way can you tell me if that release that you sent will work on Ubuntu(linux) if i open with the lgm jar? On linux i was getting the same errors
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) TheExDeus
Reply #6 Posted on: May 13, 2012, 06:12:48 AM

Contributor
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1564

View Profile
I don't really have the /additionals folder (except the old one from svn). So you guys might as well fix the stuff and just make it the way it was before. No reason for windows to be broken for almost half year now.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) miguel71
Reply #7 Posted on: May 13, 2012, 06:39:05 AM
Member
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 3

View Profile
Well i didn't know if i should made a new post so i will ask this here.

Wean i try to compile it to an exe it says "failed to add resources" but it runs fine on if i try to run(exept i had to put 2 dlls in the temp folder next to the exe)

It can be about wean i run enigma it says:
Calling `C:\MinGW\msys\1.0\bin\make.exe eTCpath="/MinGW/bin:/bin:"`
/usr/bin/make -j -C CompilerSource
bash.exe: warning: could not find /tmp, please create!
Logged
Offline (Male) polygone
Reply #8 Posted on: May 13, 2012, 07:59:20 AM

Contributor
Location: England
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 803

View Profile
So you guys might as well fix the stuff and just make it the way it was before. No reason for windows to be broken for almost half year now.
When you say 'you guys' who are you talking to? Josh is never going to do anything and I don't entirely know what I'm doing / I'm too lazy. So if you could perhaps just commit things to git the way you have it and upload a zip of your additional folder for people to use then that would be highly useful and I think you doing yourself is the only way I see anything getting resolved in the near future.

I don't really have the /additionals folder (except the old one from svn).
That's what I told Josh when he asked me, just to use the folder from the SVN.
« Last Edit: May 13, 2012, 08:02:52 AM by polygone » Logged
I honestly don't know wtf I'm talking about but hopefully I can muddle my way through.
Offline (Unknown gender) TheExDeus
Reply #9 Posted on: May 13, 2012, 08:09:10 AM

Contributor
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1564

View Profile
I can't commit anything to GIT because I have the SVN version. I could just commit everything like it was before, but then Josh will have shitfit as well as rusky (who apparently vanished after fucking everything up?). So Josh, don't be an ass and just commit everything needed so windows works out of the box. If you don't, then I will, and that will break everything.

Also, I don't really know what to commit, as makefiles also have changed. So if you don't want me to overwrite make files as well, then I urge you to do it yourself.
« Last Edit: May 13, 2012, 08:12:19 AM by HaRRiKiRi » Logged
Offline (Male) polygone
Reply #10 Posted on: May 13, 2012, 08:25:03 AM

Contributor
Location: England
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 803

View Profile
I can't commit anything to GIT because I have the SVN version. I could just commit everything like it was before, but then Josh will have shitfit as well as rusky (who apparently vanished after fucking everything up?). So Josh, don't be an ass and just commit everything needed so windows works out of the box. If you don't, then I will, and that will break everything.

Also, I don't really know what to commit, as makefiles also have changed. So if you don't want me to overwrite make files as well, then I urge you to do it yourself.
Oh I didn't realise you had the SVN version, I thought otherwise. The makefiles are what's preventing me from attempting to look at fixing it myself, I don't really want to be messing with them when I have no experience at all.
Logged
I honestly don't know wtf I'm talking about but hopefully I can muddle my way through.
Offline (Unknown gender) TheExDeus
Reply #11 Posted on: May 13, 2012, 09:16:47 AM

Contributor
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1564

View Profile
So I say - Go ahead and overwrite them. No one else seem to care.
Logged
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #12 Posted on: May 13, 2012, 11:59:56 AM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Ohio, United States
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2921

View Profile Email
TGMG has it set up and working with Additional/ on Windows, as far as I know.

As for Linux. Ubuntu 10.04 has problems with sound because its Alure libraries are woefully out of date. 12.04 and other up-to-date distros have problems with the parser because I haven't the time to fix it at the moment due to college coursework. If you happen to still have 11.10 or 11.04 installed, just clone the git repository and run TGMG's install.py; it will download LGM and the plugins. Then you'll be good to go.

If his install.py doesn't work, I'll write a bash script to wget the stuff. We've had nothing but installation issues since we switched to Git, since we don't have the ability to upload binaries to it anymore.
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Pages: [1]
  Print