Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Applications  (Read 1550 times)
Offline (Unknown gender) MrGriggs
Posted on: January 24, 2011, 04:51:15 AM

Member
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 128

View Profile Email
I know this is kind of out there, and probably not even that useful...

but...

Do you think it would be worth considering allowing the user when creating their executable to make particular instances or code excluded from the game_time variable (Or whatever equivelant you used), I suppose this would be useful for when the user wants to create an application with ENIGMA such as a calculator (lols) or something of the sorts...

Not particulary useful, but whatever, I would much prefer switches than this malarky.    Just a thought.

Also, maybe the ability to interact with the Windows GUI API would be nice, but whatever, I suppose you can leave that to DLLS or just tell them to GTFO and learn C++ && WINAPI
« Last Edit: January 24, 2011, 04:52:58 AM by MrGriggs » Logged
Offline (Female) IsmAvatar
Reply #1 Posted on: January 24, 2011, 10:54:22 AM

LateralGM Developer
LGM Developer
Location: Pennsylvania/USA
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 891

View Profile Email
I don't understand what you're asking. If you don't want to use a variable, don't use the variable...
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) MrGriggs
Reply #2 Posted on: January 24, 2011, 11:45:25 AM

Member
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 128

View Profile Email
No, generally in looping with games (I assume Josh used this) you use a high resoloution timer to ensure that the speed of the game runs the same on all differeant performance systems, stopping systems that are much more powerful than the one the game was developed on running at 200* the speed it should do.


No this is not delta timing.
Logged
Offline (Male) RetroX
Reply #3 Posted on: January 24, 2011, 05:13:17 PM

Master of all things Linux
Contributor
Location: US
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1055
MSN Messenger - classixretrox@gmail.com
View Profile Email
If I'm not mistaken, what he means is having an option to not limit the framerate.  But I don't see why it's needed.
Logged
My Box: Phenom II 3.4GHz X4 | ASUS ATI RadeonHD 5770, 1GB GDDR5 RAM | 1x4GB DDR3 SRAM | Arch Linux, x86_64 (Cube) / Windows 7 x64 (Blob)
Quote from: Fede-lasse
Why do all the pro-Microsoft people have troll avatars? :(
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #4 Posted on: January 24, 2011, 09:30:28 PM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Ohio, United States
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2946

View Profile Email
ENIGMA will offer a widget library. I've already developed it in GTK, But it's not done in WinAPI yet. It'll make the simplest of current widget libraries look like nuclear engineering.
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Unknown gender) MrGriggs
Reply #5 Posted on: January 25, 2011, 05:21:16 AM

Member
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 128

View Profile Email
If I'm not mistaken, what he means is having an option to not limit the framerate.  But I don't see why it's needed.

No, sorry, not this :\.

Surely Josh knows what I mean, as he would've developed and defined this variable to keep all computers within time.

Quote
ENIGMA will offer a widget library. I've already developed it in GTK, But it's not done in WinAPI yet. It'll make the simplest of current widget libraries look like nuclear engineering.

Awesome, this wll be useful for all sorts of things, one in particular is map editors, without having to make my own entity listing menus with arrays and for loops, instead just using the widgies. (Yes that's right, widgies)
« Last Edit: January 25, 2011, 05:25:14 AM by MrGriggs » Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print