Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mini Progress Feed  (Read 4052 times)
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Posted on: August 28, 2010, 06:26:16 AM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Ohio, United States
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2946

View Profile Email
They say coordinating programmers is like herding cats.

Well, if herding cats is this disinteresting, I believe them.

Anyway, I have truly no idea where everybody is. I swear LGM still isn't rebuilding ENIGMA for me on Linux. I think Retro's done with his packages, and I think they only contain the essentials now, but I'm not certain. Last I heard he was uploading them at 80kbps, with an ETA of 18 hours or something? It wasn't exactly encouraging.

Anyway, I wanted Ism to get our new C++ resource working (as in, saving) before the release, as it is the method by which users can create and share C++ functions. With it, you can take part in ENIGMA's development, whether by implementing your own C++ functions or by including other users' to test or for personal use. The resource has many applications outside of the beta program; I know it'll become a crowd pleaser over time. Especially when I finish what I'm working on right now.

Basically, I have three things in my scope at the moment:
1) var[x,y]
2) room order: base off resource tree, not ID
3) OBJ.varname

Presently, I am working on the third. It worked in R3, but was so inefficient I decided to replace it early on, but didn't finish it.
When that is done, with() should start working also.

I added backgrounds to the executable, but I don't do much with them at the moment. I didn't want to add tiles until I worked out a depth system that agreed with the way I read events from a YAML configuration file. As it stands, the compiler doesn't ship knowing the name of a single event: How am I supposed to give draw event order special behavior?

Actually, the answer just came to me (Which is odd considering the hour; I think I had the idea before). In essence, the special variable I'll need to instantiate for depth will insert its call into the correct depth layer on construct. On assign, it unlinks and re-inserts. On destruct, it unlinks finally.

Okay, that solved, I'm going to sleep, then finish OBJ.varname so with and such works. To-do to finish that:
1) Keep list of `member` instances parsed as "access_%1"
2) Add that function to the usable function list so as to avoid a.b.c mis-parse.
3) Check variable data from all objects for type conflicts
4) Generate the access functions based off data from all objects

Next I'll do var[x,y] (needs replaced with var(x,y)), then rooms (needs double-buffered: one array by room ID, one non-sparse array for quick traversal.

Mac progress... Good on my end, waiting for update from TGMG. Must have fixed ten problems. Looking promising.

For now, good night.
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Unknown gender) The 11th plague of Egypt
Reply #1 Posted on: August 28, 2010, 07:24:58 AM
Member
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 285

View Profile
I'm really going to need OBJ.varname, but wth is var[x,y]? Some kind of temporary array?
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) MrJackSparrow2
Reply #2 Posted on: August 28, 2010, 01:21:04 PM
Member
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 35

View Profile Email
Not var as in a local scope, var as in a variable. It's a GM-style 2d array. The parser doesn't knw wtf to do when it comes across the comma between brackets.
Logged
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #3 Posted on: August 28, 2010, 02:33:38 PM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Ohio, United States
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2946

View Profile Email
Well, when it sees the comma at present, it does what C++ would do: use the latter term.
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Male) RetroX
Reply #4 Posted on: August 28, 2010, 10:25:44 PM

Master of all things Linux
Contributor
Location: US
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1055
MSN Messenger - classixretrox@gmail.com
View Profile Email
It was, for whatever reason, my internet flopping.  It's back to 512 k/s upload, now.

For the packages, it's just me running a script that will pull the latest SVN revision, build packages, start dropbox (if it's not already started), create a package list file, and upload the files to my dropbox account.

If anyone's even attempted to install my packages up to this point, I'd suggest that right now, you uninstall it, delete the ENIGMA icon from the applications menu, and download the latest version of it (a list of the current packages can be found here).


Also, for the record, I am still getting the undefined object_locals error that I've been getting from the beginning. :V

That being:
Preprocessor_Environment_Editable/IDE_EDIT_objectfunctionality.h: In function ‘void enigma::constructor(enigma::object_basic*)’:
Preprocessor_Environment_Editable/IDE_EDIT_objectfunctionality.h:50:17: error: ‘struct enigma::object_locals’ has no member named ‘alarm’
In file included from SHELLmain.cpp:121:0:
Preprocessor_Environment_Editable/IDE_EDIT_objectfunctionality.h:69:15: error: ‘struct enigma::object_locals’ has no member named ‘image_single’
Preprocessor_Environment_Editable/IDE_EDIT_objectfunctionality.h:70:15: error: ‘struct enigma::object_locals’ has no member named ‘image_speed’
« Last Edit: August 28, 2010, 10:34:58 PM by RetroX » Logged
My Box: Phenom II 3.4GHz X4 | ASUS ATI RadeonHD 5770, 1GB GDDR5 RAM | 1x4GB DDR3 SRAM | Arch Linux, x86_64 (Cube) / Windows 7 x64 (Blob)
Quote from: Fede-lasse
Why do all the pro-Microsoft people have troll avatars? :(
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #5 Posted on: August 29, 2010, 01:12:57 AM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Ohio, United States
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2946

View Profile Email
Retro: I asked you ages ago to test file_find_first on your system. The only explanation I have is that ENIGMA cannot read the YAML files defining those locals on your platform. I have a hunch it has to do with access() rather than opendir().

Progress:
Haven't seen Ism all bloody day. Worked with TGMG and resolved a few more Mac issues, but there seems to be a problem with one of the compatibility macros on that platform. We'll look into it tomorrow.

Fixed the parsing of `OBJECT.variable`. Its functionality, however, is not yet finished. I may finish it before I fall asleep, but I can't promise that. It will be finished sometime today, though.

Annoyed at a problem retep and Rusky are experiencing. For some reason, their MinGW configurations are trying to access something from the Program Files, but only manage to call C:Program. Talk about annoying.

Further update:

Code: (C) [Select]
int cfp;
cfp.x = 0;
cfp.y = 0;
cfp.randomness = 0;
cfp.bliss = 0;
cfp.speed = 0;
cfp.health = 0;
string xfp;
xfp.length = 0;

instance_nearest(x,y,0).r = 0

er.ar.bar = car;

string *xstr;
xstr.length = 0;


//=======================================\\
// P a r s e s   t o
//=======================================//

int cfp;
int cfp;
enigma::glaccess(cfp)-> x = 0;
enigma::glaccess(cfp)-> y = 0;
enigma::varaccess_randomness(int(cfp))= 0;
enigma::varaccess_bliss(int(cfp))= 0;
enigma::glaccess(cfp)-> speed = 0;
enigma::glaccess(cfp)-> health = 0;
string<> xfp;
xfp.length = 0;
with(enigma::varaccess_nigr(int(anus)))
  enigma::varaccess_arse(int(self))= enigma::varaccess_tits(int(self));
enigma::varaccess_r(int(instance_nearest(x, y, 0)))= 0;
enigma::varaccess_bar(int(enigma::varaccess_ar(int(er))))= car;
string<> * xstr;
xstr -> length = 0;

What that means is as follows:
1) string is incorrect until I remove the template flag when typedef'd with zero unfilled parameters
2) OBJ.x will operate more efficiently than OBJ.randomness, because x is guaranteed to exist.
3) Operator <dot> is now universal. Pointer.Member === Pointer->Member.  StructInst.Member is left alone. Instance.Member is parsed correctly to allow lookup.

With() has one remaining bug, being that this code:
Code: (GML) [Select]
with (a) b.c = d;Intermediately parses to
Code: (GML) [Select]
with (a) self.b.self.c = d;Instead of just self.b.c, as it should.

The reason self is added at all is because the system recognizes self (-3 or whatever it is) as [the currently active object], which with() modifies.
« Last Edit: August 29, 2010, 12:46:16 PM by Josh @ Dreamland » Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Male) Brett
Reply #6 Posted on: August 29, 2010, 02:05:02 PM

Member
Location: Canada!
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 25

View Profile Email
Shouldn't it parse to?

with (a) self.b.c = self.d;

because d should be a variable of the <A> object? I could be wrong though, I don't know how enigma works internally. Just want to save you a possible headache.
« Last Edit: August 29, 2010, 02:08:08 PM by Brett » Logged
GML Programmer Since 2005, C++ Programmer Since 2009
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #7 Posted on: August 29, 2010, 02:18:41 PM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Ohio, United States
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2946

View Profile Email
Ah, yes. That was just me being tired at two in the morning. I didn't feel like intercepting parse output between the part where self. is added and OBJ.varname is replaced. :P
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Male) retep998
Reply #8 Posted on: August 29, 2010, 09:41:52 PM

Member
Location: Where else?
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 248
MSN Messenger - retep998@charter.net AOL Instant Messenger - retep998 Yahoo Instant Messenger - retep998
View Profile Email
on windows a command-line argument that has spaces in it, must be enclosed in double quotes, otherwise it will be treated as multiple arguments.
i don't care what you think of windows, or how make SHOULD work, the problem is it DOESN'T work, so you better go adding those double quotes or you're gonna lose a large customer base.
Logged
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #9 Posted on: August 30, 2010, 12:21:03 AM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Ohio, United States
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2946

View Profile Email
Listen. To. Me.
I. Do. NOT. Call. ANYTHING. In. The. Program. Files.

Again,
I. Do. NOT. Call. ANYTHING. In. The. Program. Files.

I don't care if you know what happens when you type text into the black box Microsoft calls a terminal. I do not make calls to system(), because system() incorrectly parses quotes on Windows, ignoring them. Instead, I call CreateProcess, of which parameter0 is an unquoted path to the module to be loaded.

If you listened in the damn IRC, you would have heard that the error still persists when Make is called manually by the user. Meaning one of two things
1) The unescaped string is in the makefiles (unlikely)
2) The MinGW configuration being called is invalid (very likely in your case: using Code::Blocks' custom MinGW shipment)

I have no idea why Rusky is experiencing that problem, since his MinGW has no affiliation with the Program Files, either, but you two are the only Windows users experiencing this issue.
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #10 Posted on: August 31, 2010, 03:29:19 AM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Ohio, United States
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2946

View Profile Email
Okay, as of now, OBJECT.variablename works for everything but global, which some part of me is still deciding what to do with. As I mentioned earlier that such would effect, with() now works again as well.  The list of things from R3 not yet implemented is quickly shrinking.

var[,] and build mode are the two remaining big ones.
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Unknown gender) The 11th plague of Egypt
Reply #11 Posted on: September 04, 2010, 02:56:06 PM
Member
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 285

View Profile
Need...more...NEWS! :v:
Logged
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #12 Posted on: September 05, 2010, 07:00:25 AM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Ohio, United States
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2946

View Profile Email
Well, I did fix var[,] as well as hexadecimal (which no one even missed yet). I also fixed a problem with abs(), string(), and possibly the Bessel functions. I've not tested the Bessel functions for some reason; they either work or error at compile time. Fixed some bugs with the new accessor system and the new type resolution system, but I know of a bug that has not yet been reported regarding a.b.c access potentially failing where b is not an integer (in cases such as object0.name.length()). I have a generic idea of how to solve that, but I need to get :: working in the syntax check and parser first.

I've also been working a lot with TGMG to try to work out the rest of the parse errors on Apple. It's astounding. I got macro unrolled-versions of all the headers from TGMG to debug here on Linux where my tools all work, and ran the parser on it... No error. This means one of two things:
1) The macros somehow interfere with the parsing
2) The parser is misbehaving in some other way on Apple
The former is unlikely due to the fact that there are no macros even near the code in question. The latter would be a horrific realization.

Looking at implementing build mode, it seems I'll be going with my original plan to incorporate cross-platforming: A window system similar to GM systems. Basically, the API will look like this:

Code: [Select]
int win = gui_window_create(0,0,640,480);
int pan = gui_panel_create(win,0,0,640,480);
int but = gui_button_create(pan,8,8,120,24,"Press Me");

gui_window_step(win);
if (gui_button_pressed(but))
  game_end();
« Last Edit: September 05, 2010, 07:07:01 AM by Josh @ Dreamland » Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Unknown gender) The 11th plague of Egypt
Reply #13 Posted on: September 05, 2010, 08:51:05 AM
Member
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 285

View Profile
The new API looks easy to understand. Nice.

Good luck with the Mac
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print