Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Enigma on all platforms  (Read 4303 times)
Offline (Female) IsmAvatar
Posted on: August 16, 2010, 02:09:20 PM

LateralGM Developer
LGM Developer
Location: Pennsylvania/USA
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 891

View Profile Email
After testing on Linux, Windows, the IPhone, and Mac, we've just tested and confirmed that Enigma works on the Toaster too.



Enjoy.
« Last Edit: August 16, 2010, 07:03:21 PM by Josh @ Dreamland » Logged
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #1 Posted on: August 16, 2010, 02:27:23 PM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Ohio, United States
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2949

View Profile Email
Disclaimer: Getting ENIGMA to work on the toaster required minor hardware modification to appease OpenAL.
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Male) RetroX
Reply #2 Posted on: August 16, 2010, 03:00:56 PM

Master of all things Linux
Contributor
Location: US
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1055
MSN Messenger - classixretrox@gmail.com
View Profile Email
toaster ovens and toasters aren't the same

also intel toasters aren't compatible
Logged
My Box: Phenom II 3.4GHz X4 | ASUS ATI RadeonHD 5770, 1GB GDDR5 RAM | 1x4GB DDR3 SRAM | Arch Linux, x86_64 (Cube) / Windows 7 x64 (Blob)
Quote from: Fede-lasse
Why do all the pro-Microsoft people have troll avatars? :(
Offline (Unknown gender) luiscubal
Reply #3 Posted on: August 16, 2010, 04:03:25 PM
Member
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 452

View Profile Email
@RetroX What if you add an ATI GPU to the intel toaster?
Logged
Offline (Male) RetroX
Reply #4 Posted on: August 16, 2010, 05:11:33 PM

Master of all things Linux
Contributor
Location: US
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1055
MSN Messenger - classixretrox@gmail.com
View Profile Email
then it's an AMD toaster
Logged
My Box: Phenom II 3.4GHz X4 | ASUS ATI RadeonHD 5770, 1GB GDDR5 RAM | 1x4GB DDR3 SRAM | Arch Linux, x86_64 (Cube) / Windows 7 x64 (Blob)
Quote from: Fede-lasse
Why do all the pro-Microsoft people have troll avatars? :(
Offline (Male) retep998
Reply #5 Posted on: August 16, 2010, 07:02:37 PM

Member
Location: Where else?
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 248
MSN Messenger - retep998@charter.net AOL Instant Messenger - retep998 Yahoo Instant Messenger - retep998
View Profile Email
Whenever I try playing a game using my toaster oven, the character acts as if he's been burned, and all the colors are darkened.
Is there a way to fix this or is this just the way toaster ovens work?

By the way, fix your screenie, that's a toaster, not a toaster oven.
I have an actual toaster oven but as I've said earlier, it has a few issues.
It has a clear flatscreen display which swings down when i insert a game.
Logged
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #6 Posted on: August 16, 2010, 07:03:38 PM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Ohio, United States
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2949

View Profile Email
fix'd
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Unknown gender) justyellowboy
Reply #7 Posted on: August 16, 2010, 08:15:02 PM

Member
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 14

View Profile
I've heard of the toaster platform and its success.

Now I have the full knowledge that we can shove the blights of humanity that are Game Maker games into it.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) freezway
Reply #8 Posted on: August 16, 2010, 09:05:05 PM

Member
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 220

View Profile
Um, I thought it didn't run on the iPhone?
Logged
if you drop a cat with buttered toast strapped to its back, which side lands down?
joshdreamland: our languages are based on the idea that it's going to end up FUBAR
/kick retep998
Offline (Male) Brett
Reply #9 Posted on: August 17, 2010, 12:14:16 AM

Member
Location: Canada!
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 25

View Profile Email
It works fine (If I'm not mistaken from what I read before) except for apples T&C disallows alot of things that Enigma does.

Q - Is it possible to develop an Iphone game on windows (for jailbroken?) with enigma?


« Last Edit: August 17, 2010, 12:32:50 AM by Brett » Logged
GML Programmer Since 2005, C++ Programmer Since 2009
Offline (Unknown gender) freezway
Reply #10 Posted on: August 17, 2010, 12:47:38 AM

Member
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 220

View Profile
Wait, is there an android app?
Logged
if you drop a cat with buttered toast strapped to its back, which side lands down?
joshdreamland: our languages are based on the idea that it's going to end up FUBAR
/kick retep998
Offline (Unknown gender) TGMG
Reply #11 Posted on: August 17, 2010, 02:34:39 AM

Developer
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 107

View Profile WWW Email
@Brett - well yes and no, no (atm) if your expecting enigma to compile and run iphone games in widnows games automatically, but theoretically it is possible as it produces all the code you need, so if you can compile that with an iphone toolchain it *should* work. Problem is winchain doesn't work for iphoneOS 2+, there is also compiling it on the iphone itself but this also comes with alot of problems and is slow.
I would recommend testing enigma iphone projects using the android support then either borrowing someones mac or using VMware to finally compile for iphone.
Unless someone can fine a better way ofc :)
Logged
me
GMbed 2.0 :: Embed you gm games in websites.
Offline (Male) Brett
Reply #12 Posted on: August 17, 2010, 03:22:39 AM

Member
Location: Canada!
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 25

View Profile Email
I'll just use VMWare to compile, it's the easiest method I can think of too. (Easier if Enigma could directly cross compile though). I know GML and C++ (along with how to use some nice 3D engines with it...), enough for me to use Enigma plenty good when I get R4. As for compiling on the iphone method, I tried that before and it didn't work out. Just installing the compiler and required libraries slowed my device by like 200%. It was horrid. Also, it started giving me errors and I couldn't remove them. I just ended up restoring.


PS: I officially hate apple after buying my iphone, I regret it. They try to take *ALL* control away from you. I bought it with my money, I should be able to do whatever I want with it, including making software on an OS that's NOT running OS X. Thank god for jailbreaking. And I'm not buying another product made by them.

Thanks for the info.



Quote
theoretically it is possible as it produces all the code you need
So can you set Enigma to produce a bunch of c++ code INSTEAD of a compiled exe? That'd be a nice feature, so I could edit the source code before compiling.

« Last Edit: August 17, 2010, 03:27:52 AM by Brett » Logged
GML Programmer Since 2005, C++ Programmer Since 2009
Offline (Female) IsmAvatar
Reply #13 Posted on: August 17, 2010, 09:20:22 AM

LateralGM Developer
LGM Developer
Location: Pennsylvania/USA
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 891

View Profile Email
Quote
So can you set Enigma to produce a bunch of c++ code INSTEAD of a compiled exe? That'd be a nice feature, so I could edit the source code before compiling.
It already does. Go to the enigma folder, and into ENIGMAsystem/SHELL, and your game's code is in there.
« Last Edit: August 17, 2010, 12:30:40 PM by Josh @ Dreamland » Logged
Post made August 17, 2010, 12:06:47 PM was deleted at the author's request.
Pages: [1] 2
  Print