Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
Author Topic: choose(), mean(), median()  (Read 5647 times)
Offline (Female) serprex
Reply #15 Posted on: December 04, 2008, 12:25:49 AM
Smooth ER
Developer
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 106

View Profile WWW
I don't get the whole median thing. From how I'm reading it, you're selecting the middle argument passed? You're suppose to sort before selecting the middle. And you didn't declare bounds on your array
Logged
Offline (Male) RetroX
Reply #16 Posted on: December 05, 2008, 04:00:56 PM

Master of all things Linux
Contributor
Location: US
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1055
MSN Messenger - classixretrox@gmail.com
View Profile Email
GM "compiles" things into a token tree. At load time. Instead of beforehand. Or it'd be just slightly more secure.
Which is why "place_free(x,y,)" works.
Logged
My Box: Phenom II 3.4GHz X4 | ASUS ATI RadeonHD 5770, 1GB GDDR5 RAM | 1x4GB DDR3 SRAM | Arch Linux, x86_64 (Cube) / Windows 7 x64 (Blob)
Quote from: Fede-lasse
Why do all the pro-Microsoft people have troll avatars? :(
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #17 Posted on: December 06, 2008, 05:48:09 AM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Ohio, United States
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2953

View Profile Email
O_o?
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Male) RetroX
Reply #18 Posted on: December 06, 2008, 11:34:13 AM

Master of all things Linux
Contributor
Location: US
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1055
MSN Messenger - classixretrox@gmail.com
View Profile Email
Yes, it does.  I never noticed the typo in one of my games because it worked.
Logged
My Box: Phenom II 3.4GHz X4 | ASUS ATI RadeonHD 5770, 1GB GDDR5 RAM | 1x4GB DDR3 SRAM | Arch Linux, x86_64 (Cube) / Windows 7 x64 (Blob)
Quote from: Fede-lasse
Why do all the pro-Microsoft people have troll avatars? :(
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #19 Posted on: December 06, 2008, 06:13:27 PM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Ohio, United States
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2953

View Profile Email
I know, I was wondering what that had to do with it being interpreted at load time.
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Male) RetroX
Reply #20 Posted on: December 07, 2008, 01:18:55 PM

Master of all things Linux
Contributor
Location: US
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1055
MSN Messenger - classixretrox@gmail.com
View Profile Email
It checks everything at load time, probably changing syntax like that into more readable syntax.  Hence why proper syntax is important; so GM doesn't have to change it for you.
Logged
My Box: Phenom II 3.4GHz X4 | ASUS ATI RadeonHD 5770, 1GB GDDR5 RAM | 1x4GB DDR3 SRAM | Arch Linux, x86_64 (Cube) / Windows 7 x64 (Blob)
Quote from: Fede-lasse
Why do all the pro-Microsoft people have troll avatars? :(
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #21 Posted on: December 08, 2008, 08:00:33 AM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Ohio, United States
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2953

View Profile Email
Actually, it turns it into... I spose I'll say a byte code, for lack of anything better to call it. It's pretty close to compiling, only it's compiling for itself to read later, not the system to read later.
Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print