Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5
  Print  
Author Topic: Enigma R3 Released  (Read 21692 times)
Offline (Unknown gender) Zekian
Posted on: August 08, 2008, 08:08:08 PM

"Past Contributor"
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 9

View Profile Email
Enigma R3 has been released, Get it here:

Zips:
Enigma R3 With Core Zip
Enigma R3 Zip
Enigma Core Zip

7z:
Enigma R3 With Core 7z
Enigma R3 7z
Enigma Core 7z

a2hedit:
http://enigma-dev.org/dl.htm

Note:

If there's one thing I'd like you all to know, it's that this is still an alpha, even though it seems to be stable. It still has a lot missing, and still could use some debugging, but it will not catch or freeze to my knowledge.

Please work with us. Test what we have, and try to find and isolate any problems. R4 is the next huge release, but updates will be given on an as-needed basis.

Big Note:

If the compiler immediately returns -6, download the core and install it properly.
Biggs:
Linx are fixed.

Joshedit

Let me also encourage users to join the forums. They will be totally merged soon, and I would appreciate the traffic.

If you are having any problems, please thoroughly read this first.


If after reading this, you still have a problem, PLEASE submit a bug report. I am still and always paranoid about the first 3 days of a release.

Okay all, Josh here. Gonna give you all some probably well needed info on the release.
First note that the progress page on this site is, as usual, out of date. All functions can be found in fnames.txt.

I'll update this topic as I type, so keep refreshing till I say not to. (I'm going to forget to tell you to stop, just so you know)

For starters, welcome to the official alpha for ENIGMA. It was made public because I take everything public, because it's open source.

If you downloaded the thing as soon as the link appeared, you may need to know the CORE has been uploaded to.

The core is GCC, and only needs to be downloaded once. It will remain static throughout. The core does contain two files that not every GCC download will come equipped with, so you may need to download even if you already have GCC. (This has not changed since R2, so no need to redownload if you can just patch R2)

On the topic of patching R2, simply delete ENIGMAsystem\SHELL and the contents of the folder above ENIGMAsystem. (not including ENIGMAsystem itself, of course), then unpack the 7z or zip file in the top level.


If you are downloading the core fresh, extract it right to ENIGMAsystem.

==

Now, I never write release notes, but here are a couple:

1) Be advised, Build Mode's undo and redo appear to not work. This is because I totally neglected to do anything about them. However, everything else there should work. You resume by pressing "ENTER". I will get right to work on adding a resume button as well as adding the functionality behind undo. Fact is, no one's ever really needed them yet.

2) Sorry Linux users, I had to postpone the Linux and Mac distro. It should work sometime tomorrow or late tonight, but I can't promise the release date yet.

3) I know a lot of GM users tend to adore the function place_free(). As such, it is one of three operable collision functions for this release. (The other two are collision_point and collision_bbox_rect(). ) Also, no collision event has been added yet: please test out place_free for general purposes, then assuming that goes well, we will add in the collision event.

4) It has come to my attention that LGM's color coding for functions may be borked. That will also be fixed shortly

5) The release is still missing lots of resources. However; with(), scripts, and most other aspects of the scripting language have proven to work. Additions include cpp{}, asm{}, and typenames. global has a few bugs, which have totally dumbfounded me, but once more, that will be online shortly. Also, switch() is totally untested. Meaning it probably doesn't work, though it should at least compile.

6) show_message() is implemented. draw_text() is broke. external_define() will take more research than I could do for it so far, but should be in relatively soon.

7) It is not recommended that you try converting an existing game at this time.

Extended information:

R3 adds a collision system, and much needed stability to R2. It has not had much forward progress, aside from Build Mode, but has had a lot of reconstruction on the inside. A lot has been reorganized.

In fact, I doubt a single line of code is in the same place as it was in R2.

A lot of last minute renovations were made before the release.

R4 will contain many, many more functions than R3, and I intend to support at least seven of the nine GM resources. Along with DLLs, when I figure out that system.

If you have any problems, please do not hesitate to post a bug report.

« Last Edit: August 08, 2008, 10:42:44 PM by Zekian » Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) TGMG
Reply #1 Posted on: August 08, 2008, 08:17:09 PM

Developer
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 107

View Profile WWW Email
Links are broken but easy to fix.

thanks for uploading, did you give up with sourceforge upload?
Logged
me
GMbed 2.0 :: Embed you gm games in websites.
Offline (Unknown gender) Zekian
Reply #2 Posted on: August 08, 2008, 08:19:16 PM

"Past Contributor"
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 9

View Profile Email
Sorry my fault, they are fixed now.
Logged
Offline (Unknown gender) OniLink10
Reply #3 Posted on: August 08, 2008, 08:20:55 PM
Member
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 68

View Profile Email
Lol, I looked at the URL and saw they were pretty messed up. XD
Logged
Offline (Male) RetroX
Reply #4 Posted on: August 08, 2008, 08:24:49 PM

Master of all things Linux
Contributor
Location: US
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1055
MSN Messenger - classixretrox@gmail.com
View Profile Email
=DDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD
Logged
My Box: Phenom II 3.4GHz X4 | ASUS ATI RadeonHD 5770, 1GB GDDR5 RAM | 1x4GB DDR3 SRAM | Arch Linux, x86_64 (Cube) / Windows 7 x64 (Blob)
Quote from: Fede-lasse
Why do all the pro-Microsoft people have troll avatars? :(
Offline (Unknown gender) OniLink10
Reply #5 Posted on: August 08, 2008, 08:34:20 PM
Member
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 68

View Profile Email
=DDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD
Geez, you're even more excited than me. XD
Logged
Offline (Male) RetroX
Reply #6 Posted on: August 08, 2008, 08:40:45 PM

Master of all things Linux
Contributor
Location: US
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1055
MSN Messenger - classixretrox@gmail.com
View Profile Email
>_>
<_<
No.
Logged
My Box: Phenom II 3.4GHz X4 | ASUS ATI RadeonHD 5770, 1GB GDDR5 RAM | 1x4GB DDR3 SRAM | Arch Linux, x86_64 (Cube) / Windows 7 x64 (Blob)
Quote from: Fede-lasse
Why do all the pro-Microsoft people have troll avatars? :(
Offline (Male) Austin
Reply #7 Posted on: August 08, 2008, 08:44:22 PM

Member
Location: Florida
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 32
MSN Messenger - austin6641@hotmail.com
View Profile Email
All I get when making a blank room is a 640 by 480 window with a blue background...Even though I made the room 320 by 240 with an orange background.
Logged
Offline (Male) RetroX
Reply #8 Posted on: August 08, 2008, 08:46:02 PM

Master of all things Linux
Contributor
Location: US
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1055
MSN Messenger - classixretrox@gmail.com
View Profile Email
It won't even compile for me.  I get a -6 error.
Logged
My Box: Phenom II 3.4GHz X4 | ASUS ATI RadeonHD 5770, 1GB GDDR5 RAM | 1x4GB DDR3 SRAM | Arch Linux, x86_64 (Cube) / Windows 7 x64 (Blob)
Quote from: Fede-lasse
Why do all the pro-Microsoft people have troll avatars? :(
Offline (Unknown gender) TGMG
Reply #9 Posted on: August 08, 2008, 08:47:49 PM

Developer
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 107

View Profile WWW Email
Overwrite your old enigma folder with this one and it works perfectly!
Logged
me
GMbed 2.0 :: Embed you gm games in websites.
Offline (Male) RetroX
Reply #10 Posted on: August 08, 2008, 08:49:28 PM

Master of all things Linux
Contributor
Location: US
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1055
MSN Messenger - classixretrox@gmail.com
View Profile Email
I'll do that then.
Logged
My Box: Phenom II 3.4GHz X4 | ASUS ATI RadeonHD 5770, 1GB GDDR5 RAM | 1x4GB DDR3 SRAM | Arch Linux, x86_64 (Cube) / Windows 7 x64 (Blob)
Quote from: Fede-lasse
Why do all the pro-Microsoft people have troll avatars? :(
Offline (Unknown gender) OniLink10
Reply #11 Posted on: August 08, 2008, 08:56:38 PM
Member
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 68

View Profile Email
This Code Returns an Error. Lol.
cout<<fps<<"/"<<room_speed;
Logged
Offline (Male) Chris94
Reply #12 Posted on: August 08, 2008, 08:59:26 PM
Member
Location: Canada
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 8

View Profile
This Code Returns an Error. Lol.
cout<<fps<<"/"<<room_speed;
FPS is not a string. Maybe that's why it wont. (Nor is room_speed.)

Also, ENIGMA always returns a -6 compilation error, even when there is no code, just a room (with and without an object). Any help?

Chris94
« Last Edit: August 08, 2008, 09:01:32 PM by Chris94 » Logged
Offline (Male) Josh @ Dreamland
Reply #13 Posted on: August 08, 2008, 09:03:24 PM

Prince of all Goldfish
Developer
Location: Ohio, United States
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2953

View Profile Email
This Code Returns an Error. Lol.
cout<<fps<<"/"<<room_speed;

Well, COUT is mostly for console applications. Try show_message().
However, ENIGMA tries to isolate C++ from EDL, to preserve compatibility.

To use raw C++, use cpp {}.

Though, in this case, that won't work, as enigma does not make use of iostream.h.

Chris- Download the Core
« Last Edit: August 08, 2008, 09:06:10 PM by Josh @ Dreamland » Logged
"That is the single most cryptic piece of code I have ever seen." -Master PobbleWobble
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -Evelyn Beatrice Hall, Friends of Voltaire
Offline (Male) RetroX
Reply #14 Posted on: August 08, 2008, 09:04:30 PM

Master of all things Linux
Contributor
Location: US
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1055
MSN Messenger - classixretrox@gmail.com
View Profile Email
I submitted this bug report:
http://enigma-dev.org/bugtracker/bug/15/

Ohboi, Joshy is paranoid.

Well, anyways, hope it gets resolved soon, and a patch of the core is soon released.

EDIT: Also, while this may get you very pissed off, I will ask anyways - when will R4 be released?  A month?  Two Months?  Four Months?
« Last Edit: August 08, 2008, 09:06:26 PM by RetroX » Logged
My Box: Phenom II 3.4GHz X4 | ASUS ATI RadeonHD 5770, 1GB GDDR5 RAM | 1x4GB DDR3 SRAM | Arch Linux, x86_64 (Cube) / Windows 7 x64 (Blob)
Quote from: Fede-lasse
Why do all the pro-Microsoft people have troll avatars? :(
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5
  Print